Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Screen Ego Aegis

by LegacyCrono - Compo Entry

"Screen Ego Aegis" is an arcade action game, combining survival shooter with tower defense.
Protect the game screen from the incoming attack of bugs.

WASD to move
Mouse to aim, click to shoot
Q to install Bouncers (cost: 15 gems)
E to install Spreaders (cost: 30 gems)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#27Graphics4.30
#56Theme4.28
#227Overall3.55
#253Fun3.44
#304Humor2.90
#439Audio2.90
#503Mood2.98
#569Innovation3.11

Comments

Jpm Mantovani says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:30am

Nice game bro!

gquibao says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:04am

Awesome idea! Really great game. I hope I can play it soon!!!

wademcgillis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

Your graphics are great! The RGB channel separation was a cool effect.

I lost quickly though :(

ratking says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:57am

Extremely slick graphics and polished gameplay - well done!

Wevel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I would love to play this game but the .exe doesn't work.

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Beutiful! Please check my game too: Presidents bodyguard simulator.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I thought this game looked interesting, and so i downloaded it to play, and i have to say man, i was not disappointed.

This game looks beautiful, plays like a dream and is addictive. I mean wow!

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Very good time-killer. 11 waves I passed.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:30pm

it looks so nice, and I want to play but i'm on a mac :/

Donutttt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Really cool idea. I loved the graphics, especially the ending screen effect. Great fun!

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Nice graphics and animation. I think the pushback on hit is a good mechanic.

The hitbox detection on the player character is kind annoying, though. It counts as getting hit even when the sprites are clearly not overlapping, when just some transparent part is overlapping. Overall the game could use a wider variety of enemies and abilities.

lionroot says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Cool Idea - A screen within a screen all on one screen. That's deep.

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17am

Loved the graphics and the effects.

xaedes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Good hit on the theme! I especially like that you see the screen you see in the screen you control. Screen-ception.

Gameover looks awesome!

The gameplay itself wasn't very special though.

I loved the graphics and animations. The cute little legs of the screen - lovely!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:16am

This was quite nice, good job!

mahu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:19am

cool, but it's frustating when i can't reach the crystals at the edge of the screen, by the way, whats the purpose of them? Nice graphics =)

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:02am

Interesting, but didn't get the Tower Defense idea.

Frump says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:10am

Pretty cool! It would be nice if the gems didn't bounce off screen, I feel like I lost a bunch to that. It was also weird to see the windows mouse cursor in the game. You should hide it and replace it with a custom aiming icon thing. Displaying the screen on the character's face was a neat idea. Good Job.

the31 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:28am

Cool! It took me a bit to see the circles, but I managed to get a decently high score, I'd say. I liked the cute graphics.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:09pm

This game was really fun to play! Love the graphics too. And the fact that the game screen you are controlling IS the game itself. Very awesome!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:13pm

he games I've played , this is the best.

Gins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Haha that is brilliant. Awesome screen-in-screen effect.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:57pm

My anti-virus software wouldn't let my play it :(

anokta says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:08pm

pretty neat visuals, especially loved the screenception thingy! :) fairly enjoyable entry overall.

kipelovets says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:22am

Please make a Web of MacOS build

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I really like the art!

madmaw says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Really polished and enjoyable, felt like it could have done with some more tactical options

barkergames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:27am

Link broken :(

Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:02am

This game is intense and exciting. Though the mechanism is kind of traditional, the idea of placing bouncers and spreaders make the game not that simple. I like the cute character and the TV screen effect, which make the game fit the theme quite well. I also noticed that the screen on the character himself is also displaying the game! Nice job!

You may go to try our game "Flashlight", which is also a kind of survival shooter arcade action game. And I send a challenge to you.(Maybe just defeating the boss is too simple for you, try to get a high score!)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:46am

This was a challenging little game that I quite enjoyed. My one only huge really big gripe about it would have to be the sound of the lasers firing and colliding with the enemies. They were very grating sounds, and they hurt my poor sensitive little eardrums, and I had to turn the sound down quite a way before I could tolerate it enough to give it a through playthrough. :(

For a compo entry, this is really impressive. I really liked the cute graphics and effects -- the monitor-ception, the way the screen turned off on a Game Over. I liked the look and movement of the turrets and the bugs. It was overall very enjoyable and fairly polished. Felt like a Jam game.

As you suggested while I played, a magnet to gather the gems would be awesome to implement. In order to kill the bugs before they got to me, a lot of them ended up in that no-man's land along the screen's border that was beyond the collision box, and I couldn't nab them at all. I'd also love to see more tower types or tower upgrades (being able to upgrade a present tower by pressing the tower's placement button over an already placed tower), and some way to regain health as time goes on (either through drops, or by killing enemies, or placing down towers, etc) so I can continue to get through waves and waves of enemies. Most of the hits I took was while I was trying to gather gems down by their entry point at the bottom of the screen, and that was a little bit bothersome.

All in all, one of the best compo entries I've played. :D Great job!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:49am

the most thing I liked about this game is the TV character, and the tv effect, its really cool.
the game was fun in term of game play. and the fact its a compo? you must be really good.

the sounds Need to get better and I think some music will make it even more fun. good job.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:13am

two more things: I think gems staying at the bottom of the screen is a good risk-reward choice, I let the spiders come closer at first to get more gems.

then the game got too easy once I built all towers, I only died at wave 13 because because I was greedy trying to get gems. (screenshot : http://imgur.com/gLxvJ2N)

anyway, you cant just let the gems at the bottom because its annoying so I suggest having like a giant magnet that pulls the gems (at least the close ones to the bottom) out of the screen, that way you will have the risk/reward choice without frustrating the player

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Cool graphics and clever feature with theme=)

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Was playing and then I realized there are actually multiple screens! Anyway fun little game I also think you missed out on the opportunity to make this game a little deeper maybe having another game going on inside your little screen would have made it more interesting great game though.

Lynx says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:32am

Very interesting concept how the game is literally all on the main character's screen head! Very clever

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:12am

I feel like you have the beginnings of a very cool tower defense game here. I like the way way that you placed the towers and the fact that there was limited tower space. The towers themselves there not very interesting though. Since they only shot in cardinal directions, there was almost no strategy to placing them. I feel like having each tower have an activated ability or having more towers would have increased the interest I have in this game. As it stands now, I was able to figure out what seems to be the optimal strategy very quickly (namely having a back row of spreaders and a front row of bouncers). Most of the damage against the spider game from the player, which seems counter intuitive in a tower defense game where you generally want the towers to be the principal focus of the player. I think the sound design was very grating because of the frequency of sound effects happening. When you have such a simple sound effect playing over top itself that much, it tends to loose its distinct punchlines and just sound mushy. It would have been good to have the towers only play the sound once, but I felt like they played the sound effect for each bullet they shot. Overall the sound effects had good feedback though. The art style and concept were clever and fun. I liked the hit reactions of the spiders, and I think you did a good job of making the variety of spiders interesting with the advancing waves. By the end I was getting overrun, but I felt like that's where the game was really getting started (that was at around wave 13). If the game had got that difficult sooner, I would have enjoyed it more because the frantic way that you have to re-position your turrets adds a lot to the gameplay. Great job and I look forward to seeing what you come up with in future LDs.

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:27pm

This was a lot of fun. I love that graphical effect of showing the game in the screen as you play. Really cool!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:28am

I liked it! Combines two genres in a surprisingly fun way.

psychonull says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Love the graphics!, the idea is cool, great game!

Knighty says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:05am

It feels like some of the monsters have way too much health, but it became more tolerable once I made a bunch of Spreaders.
The theme could have been used a bit better. Sure, the character has a screen for a head, but doesn't really affect the game at all.
Maybe you could add some invisible monsters that are only visible on the players head or something like that? Something which makes use of the players head-screen.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:58am

Pssst - You are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9cbK0cTrfXs

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]