Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Static

by Jhandsy - Compo Entry

A small game where you navigate through a maze covered in static. Change the frequency at the radios and avoid attracting "The Masks."

This is my first entry! This is actually the first game I've ever shared with the public!

Epilepsy Warning!

Engine: Game Maker
Audio: Audacity and a shortwave radio
Graphics: Photoshop

edit: Now its an executable, not an installer!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Mood3.87
#105Audio3.57
#119Innovation3.88
#237Theme3.88
#366Overall3.38
#400Graphics3.33
#834Fun2.79
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

I want this projected on the wall of a gallery. This has a consistency in style and also an eerie aesthetic-based atmosphere. Hard to describe. V good is what I'm trying to say.

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:49am

I love the concept! It's very difficult.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:50am

The idea is really cool but the game is really hard. I really like the idea of using the radio and static though.

Resonious says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:50am

Dang man, that was actually really creepy. Excellent job!

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02am

gah! an installer!?

single runtime exe bruh! ;)

Hempuli says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:10am

Neat concept! I couldn't figure out how to optimally use the other static tuners, since usually they were out of the static in only one frequence and thus using them tended to doom my run. Very nice visual style, too!

lekochen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:02am

Very nice visual/audio representation, well done. A little bit too hard.

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:09am

Love the idea, but the game needs some tweaks to make it more usable. When I played it, and I played it many times, there was only ever one frequency that actually got a good visibility, if any. The fact that the map never changed helped, but the enemies were by fare the hardest part. Also, the radios in the maze were useless, as they were invariably covered in static on almost every channel. If the static coverage was less extreme, I could tune the static anywhere, or the maze radio I was tuning was always visible, the game would still be tense, but less frustrating. Good job.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Very nice!

madameberry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Woah, that was creepy. I felt like too much of the screen/too many radios were covered by static at a time, I couldn't ever reach the second radio.
Fantastic concept though, and I agree with the person who said this should be in a gallery.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07am

After a few attempts I got to the second radio and then got killed. Really nice concept, the visuals are great. Difficulty is too high.

oranebeast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:52am

Confusing, but interesting.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:43am

Good one. I like the atmosphere, but I eventually found that the best strategy was to tune to a station with the most holes in it, then just make a run for it. I didn't ever win though. :(

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:39am

Nice work on static effect! It's very hard to beat the game for me... But nevertheless, the game is very interesting.

Blood Money says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Such a brilliant idea. And yet perfect execution. It is close to 'Nintendo Hard' which is nice.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

nice work dude

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]