Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Squared

by Artguy - Compo Entry

Simple, straightforward precision platformer. You can jump while in the air as many times as you want. Avoid red squares. 30 levels. No sound.

Controls:
arrow keys or AD -> move
space -> jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#104Graphics3.96
#277Innovation3.54
#311Theme3.80
#314Overall3.44
#342Fun3.32
#523Mood2.96
#1934Coolness32%

Comments

onilink_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:14am

Good idea, this is cool to play and the lights are beautiful :p

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58pm

I love this game - it reaaaally needs some beautiful music and sfx, but wow! I played it for ages... at first I was annoyed at the lack of instructions, but figuring it out was kinda the point. I love it. Make some sfx! They're not optional ;)

Thommy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:52pm

I like the way the new level builds up while you are practically still in the old one. The difficulty progression feels good, too

Pankoman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54am

Nice environment!

foolmoron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57am

Really nice controls, love being able to jump infinitely. Lighting effects are cool too.

sheigeno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00am

..i thought the red boxes are portals..xD anyway nice lights

ianh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03am

I like the graphical style!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Hey fellow dev! Very challenging but also a surprisingly relaxing game to play.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:07am

Nice and simple. I like how the lights look.
It needs some sound!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:56am

Neat concept, the graphics are just gorgeous!

coderitual says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:13pm

It could be fantastic music game. Even so, the game deserves credit.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Hi there. Looks great, nice bright lighting up cubes, fun! Shame no sound.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:20am

The controls are really tight, but the collision is too unforgiving. In most games with these types of hazards, you generally don't take damage from floor/wall tiles if you could be safely on the floor/wall if the hazard was an empty space. In yours, if one pixel of your hit box touches a hazard, it's back to the last check point. This isn't a problem really until after level 20, where you have such tight spaces to work in, and at that point it frequently feels like I die when I shouldn't have, because it doesn't respond like other games of its kind.

That aside, the first 20 levels are awesome, the graphics are great, and I really like the way you handled the theme. This is just a few collision tweaks from being perfect.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:20am

Cool lighting effect.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:26am

This game is really aching for music and sound effects. You have great visual player feedback going on here, with really good pixel art, but it is crying out for some sort of audio. This is a PERFECT game befitted for sound -- I could see this transform into some sort of rhythm-oriented platformer.

The controls are really smooth and sensitive. It felt really good to jump and orient my jumps according to the placement of the blocks. It was really satisfying to reach the next level. The only thing that would make the game even more satisfying would be sound. :)

Iyashikei says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:34pm

really great concept, would have loved to have seen more block types.
It's frustrating not to be able to control your jump height at all though.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Looks nice.I like the lights in the game

Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Cool game, love the art style.

csanyk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:56am

The light up effects are a nice touch. It's tough to get through some of the obstacles, but it seems like the difficulty is somewhat random.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]