Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

For the exit

by Martomate - Compo Entry

The game is about finding the exits for the boxes.
Controls are in the game.

The level-generation isn't always the best (because level-gereration is really hard) but if you get stuck you can press the delete-key.

I used Java (without libraries) for the programming (you'll need Java 1.6 or higher I believe), Paint.NET for textures and LMMS and Audacity for sound.

This is my second finished LudumDare, hope you like the nice graphics at least :)

Timelapse: http://youtu.be/Zphq8KfzNmk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#545Graphics3.11
#760Mood2.69
#801Audio2.22
#1001Overall2.72
#1005Fun2.50
#1037Innovation2.33
#1039Theme3.06
#2112Coolness24%

Comments

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Level generation is truly the weakness, maybe I was just unlucky but all of the levels were unbeatable (~20 tries). Looks nice at least.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:03pm

At first I didn't see there is a "slow move" and got stuck multiple times. Without "slow move" it was a bit too easy to solve everything, but still fun :) Liked the fluent animations and sound. (Good to see that java/swing is capable of doing this ^^)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:22am

It might be too difficult somehow, at least I tried a lot but cant win the game. Regardless of this fact, I also feel the UI might be too dim and hard to see things...

harley77 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Looks good and could be a great puzzler, but yeah, the level generation needs work.

JangoBrick says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:48am

I can't really understand most of the criticism. For me, level generation worked brilliantly. The game is a bit too easy maybe, but besides that, I like it! And since I'm quite in love with Java, this is even better -- it shows what great things you can do with it, as opposed to the common opinion that Java is not a proper language for writing games.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:05am

the gameplay feels a bit too easy, in my opinion. With slow move available at no penalty, the game is very little more than a simple maze navigator, with very little challenge at all.
That said, the visuals and sound design were very nice, and the glow effect on all the controllable blocks was fairly impressive.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Either I'm missing something or slow move just breaks the game - keeping shift pressed all the time removes all challenge.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Without libraries!? Bloody hell.

Quite easy, holding shift a lot helps, otherwise, nice

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Nice GFX :).

Not sure how to actually complete a level though!

01101101 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Nice concept! Reminds me of Ricochet Robots (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ricochet_Robot) except in Ricochet Robots you can use other Robots (your colored cubes) as walls.
I guess you added the slow move to make every level beatable?
It kind of removes the challenge if you can use it all the time... Maybe limit it to a few uses, or work on the level gen so you can get rid of it entirely.
Good work anyway, simple graphics but it looks good. I like the sound too. I feel like this has potential :)

Wilson says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Looks really nice and the concept is interesting, but slow move kinda makes it easy. Adding a moves counter would have provided some kind of challenge. I played maybe 6-7 games and only had one unbeatable level which I think is pretty good, since level gen is indeed hard :)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:14pm

In general a very nice game. Level generation is really hard. I got lucky my second level was already solvable. Controls are fast and fluent. However if the level is winnable there is no real challenge in solving it. It would be greate if you only had fast mode, then you need to think a bit more (Also makes level generation harder, I know).

Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Looks like some nice graphics and shading, although the game play is tricky (which, don't get me wrong, I enjoy some difficulty- but at this level, I'm sad to say I closed it because there weren't enough enjoyable aspects to balance it all out). It's a good puzzle-based idea though and the limitations only further increase the more thought that you have to put in to it in order to complete it, which is good because that's what these types of games are all about. Overall, a neat job :)

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

nice concept

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]