Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Trapped

by Smiley - Compo Entry

Ever fantasized to be a stick figure trapped in a mace?

OK probably not, but some peoples dreams may come true with "Trapped", a rogue:ish shooter with mind blowing graphics (if this was 1981), sound that will shake the very foundation of earth (depending on your speakers) and an epic storyline that says absolutely nothing (but still a better love story thanTwilight).

My first Ludum dare submission now available for you to play!

Java version is highly recommended since the HTML5-version game experience differs a lot between different browser versions.

The mazes are random generated (pressing R will create a new one) but the algorithm is not perfect.

Known bugs:
* Sometimes rooms are created without a door. If the player is trapped press R to restart the game (but will also mean score is reset).
* HTML5-version a bit laggy and sluggish. Try the java version instead.

Tools:
* Java with LibGDX and Box2D
* Programmer graphics done in GIMP
* Sounds in CFXR.

Didn't do a time lapse but did stream the whole programming session at http://www.hitbox.tv/NicklasLof

Planning on keep on working on the game after the compo and add in more monsters, treasures, bombs and so on. I wish I had been having the time to add them to the compo game.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#364Mood3.15
#607Graphics3.00
#794Theme3.41
#850Fun2.77
#869Humor1.91
#882Audio1.91
#967Overall2.77
#1047Innovation2.32

Comments

whizzter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:19am

a spooky feeling as a plus but the controls felt kinda so-so and sadly the web-version was unplayably slow (even?) on chrome.

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Unavailable in WEB :(

Zolkren says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Cool game, but the web version is laggy.

Boehrsi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11pm

I enjoyed the atmosphere. Nice light effects (Box2DLights?).

Smiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Considering removing the web version since it seems to cause too many issues and just keep the java version.

Smiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47pm

@Boehrsi: yes :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Interesting game. Lighting effects were pretty cool, and I appreciate the auto attack targeting. Awesome work!

DevoNoel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:13pm

The lighting effects were nice.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:16pm

It performed well in WEB on my inted hd5000, so no problem with LibGDX :)
But I had few issues:
-too loud sound. I had to minimize volume of my laptop speakers and it was still loud enough to feel pain in ears
-sometimes character starts to go downwards with no reason

anyway, game looks pretty cool)

Searge says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:20pm

The collision detection is a bit annoying, got stuck in walls a few times. Apart from that it's a fun game. I really like the lighting and the shadows.

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Really great ! The graphics are nice !

lukz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:09am

Do you use Box2DLights for that nice light?

pancakecity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:02am

ahhh those creatures scared the heck outta me when they started shooting!

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:06am

I got stuck on walls a LOT, and then I got lost. The lighting is really pretty though.

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Very cool lighting. This game is pretty challenging from the start. Good stuff for your first ludum dare!

Pankoman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:52pm

the lights are really cool, I enjoyed exploring your maze :)
(the sound was a bit too loud though)

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44pm

It's really difficult hitting those skeletons (knights?) without getting hit yourself. But the lighting effect is nice.

I would have liked to escape the maze.
Poor, little trapped stick figure. :(

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Controls are not very user friendly as I got stuck to the walls quite often (after very very quick review of your source codes: you should be using CircleShape-s for moving things in this case IMO -- some nice effects after hitting the wall then can be created by playing with friction, damping and restitution. Also the walls shouldn't be made from individual boxes but from rectangles instead -- box edges mess with the Box2d collisions even if the boxes are seamlessly connected to form a rect -- hope this will help you in the future ;-). Also in my opinion everything (like movement speed, shooting speed) could be little bit faster to create fast paced feeling of the game. Anyway, good job.

Headmade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Hey, my entry is almost identical to your game:
- We both use LibGdx
- We both generate random room layouts
- We both use box2d(lights) heavily

Though my game lacks shooting so you obviously win :)

Smiley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:44pm

@rincewind_cz: thanks for the comments :) yeah the physics can have a lot of work on.. I'm planning on continue working on the game since I did get lot of ideas while working on it so I will defiantly look into your advice :)

gre says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:43am

Amazing lighting and nice maze.

grid96 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Really cool lighting effects.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I quite liked it. :)
Obviusly it could have been fleshed out a bit more, possibly added some variety to gameplay, but yeah, it was a fun little game. Well done. :)

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Digging the lighting effects here, creates a nice ambiance. After killing the enemies I just wandered around for awhile not sure what to do... maybe I missed something? Good job on a first submission!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:02pm

it already has been pointed out earlier, but i'll say it anyways, the controls felt slow and obstructive. but the mood of the game was good. overall i would say good job!

Smiley says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:06pm

@ciaodavinci: they respawn (hopefully or there is a bug ;) )

FatKarate says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:40am

Pretty nice. The web version work fine in my firefox. And I have a really flaky firefox

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:45am

Very good!Great lighting!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Hi there. Not rated, web link should play in browser. Chrome/W8.1

redoxkun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Like a lot the light effect.

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Nice lighting effects. Couldn't find if there was anything to do other than wonder round shooting the enemies though. Some kind of exploration element would work really well with the light effect.

Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:21am

I like the lighting effect and how your shots home in on nearby enemies. The audio was a bit jarring, though. You should definitely consider turning down the sound effects and adding in music!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]