Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Panic Course

by Thommy - Compo Entry

A space ship crafting survival game. Basically. The theme application is kind of inspired by FTL: You can always see your and the enemy ship on the screen.

ATTENTION: The web version is very glitchy. I recommend the Windows version if you are a Windows user.

TIP: You can move the camera by click-dragging and you can zoom in and out using the mouse wheel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#129Graphics3.89
#204Overall3.59
#263Innovation3.56
#405Fun3.24
#472Mood3.00
#608Audio2.61
#853Humor1.96
#1063Theme2.98

Comments

DevWouter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:50am

This game really has potential, however the camera is the biggest weakness. The graphics works quite nicely with this game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:53am

Not sure what I should be doing, but it looks very nice so I'd like to keep playing!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:56am

Cool voxel art/particle effects. Neat idea to build the ship while its fighting. I find it hard to zoom more than anything. The mouse wheel is pretty sensitive.

JayProg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11am

Great technical execution with the ship construction. And I liked the design of the combining the ship building with combat.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18am

Wow, nice game within the time frame. I really liked the idea, a bit hard to actually have a good start early, but very well polished. Nice going!

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22am

Interesting game, kept me playing with it for a while! Ships look great, the voxel style works nicely and provides a nice level of detail. Ship construction is compelling, but you get to engage with it so rarely because actually knocking another ship down is completely down to a roll of the dice. If there was something compelling I could do between build session to improve my chances or play to the strengths of my design that would improve it immensely.

glaze_96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:32am

This can be expanded upon, I can really see a future game be made out of this.
Otherwise, fun game and interesting graphics.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58am

This was enjoyable. An expansion on this concept would go over well, I think.

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:26am

Thruster stacking 2 OP

hunterloftis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:58am

Very cool, tried a few times! Wish the module didn't rotate independently; placing new attachments can be difficult.

stjahns says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17am

I wanted to have all the guns in the world, but then i died :( Awesome work! Definitely want to give it another go, you should keep working on it :)

funkysquid says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Fun!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Must. Attach. More. Guns.

Cool game, I really like that you can see the enemy ship on the screen as well!

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:42pm

This was a wonderful idea, but I found the execution a bit... off. Every time, I seemed to go up against a ship that was way overpowered, and my shots didn't seem to be hitting the enemy at all, no matter how many guns I had. That said, the decision to incorporate ship building and fighting into one was a great idea, and the voxel-based ships and attachments did look great. The FTL-inspired gameplay was nice too, but I'd like to see it a bit more balanced, and perhaps make it clearer to know what I'm supposed to be doing from the start. The camera wasn't too great either, but this is a good entry considering the time frame. Great work.

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Really cool idea! Seriously man, keep this game and update it with tons of stuff, it can really become something amazing! Good job! ^^

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:57pm

nice adaptation of ftl to 3d, especially liked the art style! :) might need more variations though.

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:00pm

The first one using Unity WebGL I've seen so far. Sadly it doesn't run very well on my browser. Windows version is great.

nbilyk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Amazing! Well done. I would love to see you continue on this.
The simple building your ship mechanic is awesome. The graphics are good and the gameplay is fun.
Things I would improve: camera controls, better enemy progression (It gets very hard too quickly)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Super neat idea! Awesome graphics, and a unique idea. Great work!

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Very nice graphics. Even has a tutorial. Gameplay is fun!

Felt that the fixed camera prevents you from getting a feel for the space in the game, though. Some means of better identifying where enemies are located around you would help.

Anyway, great game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Hey fellow dev!
A bit confusing at first, and very challenging. However that makes me more determined to play harder!

Fnkee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I had a great time playing this game, and it was really fun experimenting with which combinations worked best to survive for a longer time. Didn't manage to get further than defeating three ships at most though. I'll probably get back to this game later on and see if I can get any further! Love the graphics.

C63Industries says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:42am

This game reminds me of Assembly with the space ship building mechanics. That game is 2D though, not 3D.

yosh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:46am

What a great idea! Also <3 the voxels.
My complains:
- The game is clearly un-balanced (or at least, most newbies like me are getting trashed on enemy #3).
- The fact you can move the camera kind of defeat the point, but how would we admire our beautiful ship otherwise?
- Maybe the UI could be slightly improved, but given the timeframe that's honestly cosmetic.

Great job!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Hi there. Not rated yet. Web version reached full loading progress bar but nothing subsequently happened. Chrome/W8.1

Thommy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:10pm

@mrexcessive it *should* work on Chrome/Windows 8.1, I tested it. I admit it takes quite some time when the loading bar finishes until the actual game starts. Maybe it just looked like it's stuck?

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Very interesting concept. I hope you continue to develop the game after the compo. My only complaint so far is the choice of font. Overall, great job!

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Wow. Really cool concept. I'm not sure whether I like not controlling the ship directly, but this way feels a bit more like an tower defense game. Nicely done!

Thommy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:22pm

@FrozenCow thanks. I'm actually thinking about whether I should extend this into a real space combat sim where you can control the ship and stuff.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:36am

Very impressive work. They're not so many 3D games in Ludum Dare that manage to achieve that level of quality. So congrats for the realization and concept! The only thing that bothered me is that I had troubles setting the camera zoom in a way that fit the building mode (either to close or to far)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:38am

wow - first unity webgl game - it played really nice - game was good but the camera drove me nuts - core idea is solid

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:51pm

A lot of depth and complexity to this for a jam game, bunch of cool systems etc.

If you tightened up the camera a bit and added some more modules and enemy types, and a story, this could make a great post-LD game.

ShadowTzu says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:48am

it's a great game idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]