Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pony Island

by Danman9914 - Compo Entry

Frolick along the rolling green hills of Pony Island! Continuously jump over gates in this immersive and challenging experience! If you happen to hit a gate, just insert your soul and you can keep playing!:D

This game has been rigorously tested by the many many employees of Systemtech Incorporated, but if you happen to find any bugs please let us know!

Thank you for playing! I am not the devil! :D

***I just added a guide for people who get stuck! Check it out if you can't figure out how to proceed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#19Mood4.17
#42Humor3.77
#121Graphics3.91
#124Audio3.49
#127Innovation3.86
#153Overall3.67
#341Theme3.77
#387Fun3.26

Comments

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:35am

Nice atmosphere. I like the sound in the background and the different kinds of distortion on the graphics. I wasn't totally sure that the game was over. Gameplay was super simple but it did its job.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:16am

@mtinkerhess Thanks! I actually just got in a new ending probably right after you played it. It's better I think.

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:40am

Well that was... quite an experience. A moody masterpiece in weirdness. Five stars!

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:41am

I doubt a lot of people will get past the start screen. I was about to give up, so I watched the credits and Wala! It worked. Then... well you'll have to see for yourself.

pixelguff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:41am

I really liked this. Got to the ending after a lot of confusion. :)

squirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:32am

Not what I expected (obviously), but that was a fun way to approach the theme. Nice game and interesting concept (though it got really creepy in some parts :D ).

Jhandsy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:34am

Really cool! Tons of twists and turns. I only wish the pony jumping gameplay was a bit more appealing.

scias says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:34am

One of the most entertaining games I've played so far. I'd love to see a complete version of this with more variations and hidden secrets. Good luck in the competition!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:34am

Well that escalated quickly...

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:58am

Well. My head just exploded. Thank you for that.

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:00am

This was great. Made me laugh at the end. Well done sir.

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04am

uhhh, I'm confused... but it's cool I guess?

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07am

@Mincemeat Did you reach the end? You will know

victorafael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38am

I... I wasn't expecting that! :P

So many things to see and try... And I'm not even sure that I own my soul anymore!

Nice game!

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:13pm

extremely creepy in a good way! loved everything about it. no negative comments except for the description, which almost made me skip playing it. :)

sirival says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Wow that was amazing! Reminded me of the weirdness of Year Walk! Well done - 5 stars

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I honestly have no idea what I just played, but I kept playing anyway. Super interesting piece of work, and I loved the visuals. I wouldn't say it was an interesting use of the theme, but it technically was one one screen so I'll give you that.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47pm

I... what...
That was interesting, lol. It took me quite off guard.

Valon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47pm

It was awesome. Great job!

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:49pm

This was super fun. Took me longer than I'd care to admit to figure out what was going on. really awesome work!

Ellian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Ahahah what the fuck, I loved it. Congrats, that was surprisingly unexpected :D

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:02am

Amazing game. Totally unexpected. Great work with the UI. :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Managed to reach the very end, nice work! I should have guessed from the description that there is more to the game than meets the eye. Great sounds and mood.

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:42am

I kept clicking start game, but I would get white snow pattern, then back to menu.

Robber says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:09am

same here didn't get the game to start (also the fixed startmenu option, dunno if that was a joke, just said start game temporary unavailable, ill be back..

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:14am

@wer2chosen
That is intentional. Check out the options menu ;)

@Robber
Try watching the credits

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:43am

Quite a weird entry i must admit. But still worth playing, nice job!

Robber says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:07pm

yeah thanx, ok definitly sick as *@#! props!!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:40am

That was...unexpected! Really cool twist! Good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Haha.. That is strange, and maybe you are the devil. Nice sounds and atmosphere. I want my pony!

OddballDave says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:32pm

What did I just play?! I think it took my soul... And I liked it :)

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Yay, art(?) game! Glad to see something this crazy and off-the-wall to show up on Ludum Dare. I love seeing people go all weird on us.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:02pm

GOTY 2014

Nova 6 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Err. Weird. How do I start playing? I toggled even the "Fix start menu"-function. :/

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:16pm

@Nova 6
Try watching the credits ;)

Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:49am

Interesting atmosphere, totally did not expect it to be a creepy game ahaha. I thought i was going to get more of the pony happy vibe : ). Gameplay wise i enjoyed the mysterious element of trying to proceed further however i was stuck at one point with the red screen with the continuous beeping, im not sure if that was meant to be the end or if there was more things to solve beyond. The game left me hanging in a confused state. Overall innovative entry great job

zompi says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I have no idea what's going on, even in the menu screen. I got to the moment when the game want me to surrender... Well, it was moody but I can't understand the idea ^^"
Anyway, mood, theme and that creepy atmosphere... that was great.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:28pm

@hundredhundred
@zompi

Perhaps I should have posted a guide. You did not reach the end!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I just added a link for a guide!

glaze_96 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice one! Love to explore these kinds of games ^^

hbocao says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 2:47am

I wasn't expecting to be scared by a game about ponies. haha Awesome job!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Okay, I get it; the player is stuck in the physical world, tormented by obstacles (gates) which represent their own desires, but ultimately they can break free of the cycle of karma and reach enlightenment.

I'm just kidding. (Or am I?) In all seriousness, this was quite fun to play. ;) You definitely get max points for Mood. However, I kinda felt like there wasn't exactly a point to it. It reminded me of Misadventure, which is a great game because it has a story and justification for everything (a simple one, but consistent). This just seemed like a bunch of horrible-ish stuff for the sake of being horrible-ish. Which is fine, but the reason I comment is that I feel like there's potential for even more. ;)

Maybe I shouldn't be playing this on Christmas morning...

pht59x says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I managed to go into "OPTIONS & HELP". Bad luck, I couldn't go into the "CREDITS" no "START GAME". There must be a problem somewhere.

t4u says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Doesnt work for me. I press play and nothing happens.

Impmaster says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:16pm

wtf i have no clue what went on but it looked cool

Dec 26, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I really enjoyed this one and respective its style and atmosphere one of my favorites so far! Very good job on the glitchiness.

Dans17 says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:57am

Definitely one of the most unique entries!

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:55am

That was crazy, and cool, and crazy.

Madball says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Completely stunning! Is there only one ending? I can expect anything from this game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]