Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Match Cube

by lemmily - Jam Entry

My take on the match-3 thing, the aim is to get to the centre and switch with the greeny-blue cube residing there!

Matches can only be made by switching with a cube. They won't automatically be matched!


Controls:

arrow keys to rotate the whole cube
click neighbouring cube to switch with it. (even the one underneath you!)


Current Issues:
- sometimes the cubes pretend they're not neighbours, meaning they won't create a match and disappear (fixed)
- sometimes one (or more) of the cubes won't disappear after a match. (fixed)
(Note: both these issues can sometimes be overcome by switching with them a bit).
- No restart, refresh for new game!


Edit(14:00 GMT, 09/12/14):
Okay So I fixed the game breakers. The non matching and weird blocks staying behind bugs. One of them made me confused to how it could actually be working in the first place! Took about ten minutes after having a bit of time away. Ugh

Wishlist:
- Mouse drag rotation!
- Cubes condensing toward middle - like falling to centre.


Overall I'm quite happy with it. :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#94Innovation(Jam)3.82
#432Theme(Jam)3.62
#448Overall(Jam)3.26
#496Fun(Jam)3.05
#808Graphics(Jam)2.58
#863Mood(Jam)2.46

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00pm

This is cool. Very nice idea.

khahem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Cool idea, I had a few game breaking bugs however (such as the ball deciding to hide inside the cube ^^).

lemmily says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:46am

Thanks :D you can click through the ball and switch with the cube beneath! Maybe that was it?

However there's definitely some uhh 'quirks' hehe :)

guldlock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24pm

A cool idea actually! Polish the game and it might turn out to something!

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Very cool concept, with more work on graphics it could be a nice game.

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Neat concept. Took me a second to figure out how to actually play (I started out just thinking I could switch any block around ) but once I got it I was totally into it :)

Ranmara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Really nice idea, I really wanted to complete this lol. Shame about the bugs, I think it's definitely worth trying to fix them :) I'm worried that quite often you could end up with an uncompletable setup but I'm not sure if that's a thing?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Funny, even though the bugs make it really hard to play! Would win point if some music was integrated, too ;)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Nice idea, the bugs made it difficult to finish though. I'd recommend starting off with a smaller cube too just to break the player in gently. Good job!

solf1re says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Pretty fun game, looking forward to a few bug fixes and some tunes would be good :)

iShadow says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I liked the idea. Game itself needs a bit of polish and maybe better control. Using keys to move ball in 6 directions would be easier than clicking not always visible blocks.
But still, great idea that needs to be made into a full game.

Ciaran Lyne says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Best game I have played of this ludum dare!

2Bit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:36am

Good game, a nice puzzle idea.

lemmily says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:51am

thanks everyone for your kind words and helpful feedback!

@Ranmara - you can definitely get stuck in corners at the moment if you manage to match it up *juuuust* right (I've done it) this version has no lose conditions, so you just get stuck!
@iShadow - I really wanted to rotate the cube with the mouse and use keys for movement, but I couldn't get the mouse rotation playing nice - I think it would be easier to click things if you had more control on rotation, but it would definitely benefit from keys for sink and rise switch at least!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Yay! I won, really didnt think I was gonna have the patience for this but it hooked me quickly. Very nice little puzzle :)

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Very cool idea!Loved it from the screenshots and it's colours first :P

matpg says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:32am

Very good puzzler! Hope you continue on development

Meral says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:38am

Very neat game idea. Putting some relaxing sound in the background would benefit it a lot. The execution seems solid otherwise. Cool thing!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Excellent idea ! Would love some sound on this !

Thalia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Add a little magic, music, atmosphere! Main gameplay is very interesting!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:35pm

simple, but cool and very innovative puzzle, 5 stars :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Neat concept. Took me a second to figure out how to play. Can be improved by more clean graphisc, but I like it ++

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:25am

Nice game

Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:09am

Cool idea, good for killing many boring "moment" in the office :D

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:36pm

It feels like a huge rubik's cube, of sorts. There are some odd bugs, like some groups deciding not to remove themselves, and it's possible to end up in a position where you can't move. The falling to the centre would be good, and it would be nice to have some music. Could be good as a mobile game with some additional camera controls such as zooming, and some larger levels, perhaps interesting shapes.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]