Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Kaplan

by lasagnegames - Jam Entry

Mr. Kaplan is a shy guy, he prefers to express himself only by using his facial expressions. Help him find the right face for every situation!

(Look out for the odd hint here and there, in bold).

AUDIO ONLY AVAILABLE IN BROWSERS SUPPORTING MP3, SORRY FIREFOX.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#46Innovation(Jam)4.02
#68Humor(Jam)3.78
#312Overall(Jam)3.43
#313Fun(Jam)3.30
#430Mood(Jam)3.14
#446Audio(Jam)2.86
#631Theme(Jam)3.41
#735Graphics(Jam)2.75

Comments

schuranator says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:29am

Game doesn't run even when I go full browser.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Congratulation for making this game ! \o/
The concept is fun and original.
There is two things, thought : The reythme game isn't really comprehensible. I dont know when i should do the adequate expression. The second is regarding the text, that i think, should be near the "Command panel"

Graphics are cool and the sound ambiance added to the humor of it. A little music would have been nice

Kim Sjöberg says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:46am

Pretty fun and clever. However, I found it hard to make the faces on time due to all that text sometimes and the placement of the text should've been more centered or at the controls.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Thanks for your feedback guys, really appreciated. Yeah, sorry audio only works in chrome, didn't get around to doing the .ogg files. ;-)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:21am

I have never seen a creative concept like this. Definitely good job! Looking forward to much more reactions Mr. Kaplan may do. This could be a ground-breaking hit in the market, and I love the happiness it brings to me.

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:23am

This game is awesome, I loved it!
the interview is great, very cool game
the rhythm part was a bit out-of-place, but the rest was cool

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:29pm

brilliant :D so funny and original, well done

banana4life says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Nice game but i would prefer another front because the used is hard to read in a short time.

ilokimo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Very fun! Good innovative and fresh idea.

GFM says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:03pm

I'm not sure I finished the game... I got to a rhythm-game like part, but nothing happened afterward.

Also, on that part, the controls were too far from the "music score". I still hadn't memorized every input, so I had to look back and forth to search for the corresponding key. Also, not having one lane per instruction made it only harder...

psychonull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:18pm

haha nice game. I liked the idea of doing expressions with the keyboard ;)
I think it it should make you loose when you fail the expression, pressing all the keys will make me score :P.
I felt there were too many keys, too much to read and both too far from each other .. for being a fast game.
Cool game, keep it up! ;)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Interacting through facial expressions, wow. One of the most original ideas I've come across in a while! As others have said, I'm not sure the rhythm game quite worked, but the face control as a core idea is brilliant and well worth taking further.

OFF says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:20am

The rythm part didn't work but the interview part is a really great idea.
I always wanted to work on a gam about Theory of Mind for autistic people, and your game give me a really great trail. Using the good face emotion in the good situation.
It's a little bit hard to read and take control of the game, maybe with audio instead of text it would have been more intuitive, and you could in this case implement tone speak.
Inspiring. :)

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:30am

The interview thing is a really great idea! Especially facial expressions controls. Good job!

calavera says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:34am

The most fun part of the game was just making silly faces :P

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:47am

perfect but i can't get the music part =) I would like to do job interviews like this =))) very funny concept, i'll try on another browser to see the end...

AMS says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:56am

This was a really fun game, I enjoyed it alot, great innovation right here, good job!

Downtown says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:25am

very funny, the expressions looked great. Not sure about the rhythm game parts, and the text prompts were a little two far from the face which made it a little frustrating sometimes. Overall really memorable game, had me laughing out loud.

jtpup0 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Funny game, could've used more sound but fun and enjoyable

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:58pm

this was original and unexpected really nice!!
I had really trouble reading the font and the rythm game should be by emotions not colors. Anyways, great job!!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:03pm

This was fun, but very strange :-о

MaesK says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 12:24am

Original game. Buttons are a bit complex, but it's great to reflect changes on the face with buttons :D However, it got stuck after the button pressing game. Was it the end?

Dec 23, 2014 @ 9:40am

Really fun game and a great idea. Good job.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:18am

This game. . . is different, hard to almost call it a game. It wasnt bad it worked very well and i like the art style. This game would be way cooler with some musica!

voxel says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Excellent, original entry. Audio was a bit of a mixed bag, but graphics were fun and the interview was great. The end rhythm game was a bit weird, but that can only be good really, right? Memorable game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]