Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Block Dungeon

by Lancelot Gao - Compo Entry

Do you love any of the following things?
- Fire ball
- Lots of fire balls
- Explosion
- Lots of explosions
- Skeletons and their BOSS, all in one tiny dungeon

If so, don't miss this little dungeon crawler.

*** GAME HINT ***
Keep smashing treasure boxes and collect power-ups (shiny A/B letters)
The walls can be destroyed too

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#9Fun4.15
#16Overall4.11
#24Graphics4.31
#90Mood3.64
#149Theme4.01
#313Audio3.11
#380Humor2.75
#679Innovation2.96

Comments

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Fantastic game, but I never made it past the Big red-horned fellows. Gonna give it some more shots.

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Score: 2530

This was really really great. Everything.. just awesome..

okkolobr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Achieved a 6370 score, had fun ! Must admit that I first glance, I thought the big red horned was a.... hello kitty skeleton ><

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Excellent game! Looks great, sound fits, gameplay is tight... one of the most solid entries I've played so far. Awesome job!

PeerPlay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Super awesome game, though it looks alot like a game of which i forgot the name, but another webgame, anyway i had lots of fun!

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:15pm

This is awesome. Gorgeous and unique look and really fun too. Congrats!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Really amazing game!!

SojaBird says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Cool art!
Sound is kind of loud though :p

Ithildin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Great idea, and wonderful visuals. Awesome job!! :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:01pm

AWESOME GAME :DDD

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Fun game man, but aaah the sound!. That chiptune atari sound really doesn't work!

chadheim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Amazing! Really fun! Can't think of anything to change.

cutandreil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Choas time!
Really fun game.
But it seems that most of my shoot pass throught the boss...
(no problem against the peons)

maddogawl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Really good game, the drop shadows are a bit confusing though. Great Work!

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Reminded me of those iOS twin stick shooters that had similarly blocky heads, but with an interesting powerup system. The sfx were a little loud, and there were a few collision detection problems with the boss(I think he wasn't being damaged by the fireballs at max speed), but other than that, great game!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Awesome! After playing the webversion I downloaded the game, and it plays a lot smoother. Great graphics and nice difficulty-curve!

Conk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Damn, that was so good! Really fun, really challenging. Managed to get to 8760, love the upgrade system, the game would be awesome if expanded upon, amazing visuals too!

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Great arcade game. Congratulations for the 48 hours work. A lot of work in that time.

Hatsome says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Awesome game, my finger hurts from clicking so much :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:10pm

really good game man.. probably the most fun ive had so far with the entries

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Awesome game! I'd love to have some screenshake in there though ;)

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47am

Super cool game. Really solid. +1000 points for the compo entry.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:36pm

that was intense. fun game!

Boracho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:21pm

super addictive for sure! Difficulty does escalate rather suddenly. It was nice and calm when suddenly I was surrounded by about 15 skeletons! Overall, I enjoyed it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Really well done, addicting to play :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Smash TV + loud fireballs for the win! Great aesthetic and very fun. I like the slow pace this game has compared to typical games in its genre.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:33pm

great job, sounds are a bit grating, but other than that they fit in well with the terrific voxel style graphics, excellently presented, great job!

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:22am

Speed. Hoorah. Balls. Explosion.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:41am

so awesome - great use of the theme and very well polished - top notch - added to my favorite list

Catwheel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:12am

This was really fun, but I felt it could use more powerups. Graphics were great as well as audio, though a song would have been nice. This entry was spectacular, but at one moment I got surrounded by a bunch of dude really rapidly and died. There's no heals! not that I could find.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Very well done !

coderitual says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Simple gameplay but nice graphics.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Very fun gameplay. The visuals are also quite neat. Good game!

panda says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:57am

Excellent game!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:07am

Solid entry! I really like how the bad guys spawn. The random walls are neat as well.

Taldius says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:07am

It's a really fantastic game, I especially love the art, it's simple but also so polished, all the effects and the lighting is really pretty and the games has a good feeling.
One of my favorite so far! :D

Mase says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:10am

It's very nicely chaotic.
I think the walls could spawn faster; it didn't feel like a dungeon, but a square room.
The area outside of the dungeon, on the left and right, glitched out on me... looked like typical jumbled glitchy stuff. I didn't notice it for a while because of all the explosions. This was on Firefox.
Sometimes it seemed like the bosses weren't getting hit unless I released the mouse button and started firing again.
Finally, I'd prefer more distinct powerup icons; it's hard to remember what the letters mean.

sorle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:12am

Holy mother, this is awsome. It´s so enjoyable to shoot the s*** out of everything!
First i had some trouble hitting the big guy. I was pointing at his head not the body, but I got quick.
I also really love the pixelated 3d graphics. Reminds me of the good old psx times :D. Ludum Dare done right!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:23am

Epic graphics. Plays really nice.

cmcoto says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:59am

Great game, hard, but was a fine play!

scnoobi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:29am

needs a way to toggle sound:P also there seems to be an annoying bug where the big ones just go straight over my fireballs.

Croze says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:30am

This is super addicting!!! got 8140, definitely keeping this bookmarked

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:38am

Felt like a great frantic dual stick. Gameplay was pretty tight. I personally like dual sticks where the movement is a hair more on the floaty side (just a hair) but I could see where moving too fast would be too much for the smaller room.

After playing some of these entries, I also appreciate the simple controls.

Was there a way to heal? I kept picking up A/B and just powerups.

Good job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:17am

Too simple. And awful controls. As visually and addictive is very good thing.

lase says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:19am

Had fun! I love the semi-3d-kinda-isometric view.

Phyyl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:23am

Nice game, got pretty far but the sounds were too loud!

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:55am

This was definetly my kind of game :D Fun, good looking, nice action. Felt crunchy and polished! Good job!

elvaq says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:37am

Really cool game! Seems like you may have gone overboard with the effects as the shadows and explosions often got in the way of my visibility. But the polish is super appreciated, especially for a jam game!
Could be really cool to develop this further with more attack options, enemy types, etc.
Great work!

OpenGL says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:16am

Nice game ! Good graphics and audio!

Odefus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:11am

One of my favorites so far. Looks, feels and sounds great. Blowing stuff up is satisfying as it should be. Only thing I missed was a bit of screen shake.

Kim Sjöberg says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:00am

Really fun game and the explosions look great. Big smile on my face when I noticed they bounce :) nice feature. I didnt ever understand what the B did though. The coin sound is a little annoying :P. Scored 5090 :D Great game, will be digging through the source code later to learn some!

xerohuang says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Nice game!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Hi there. This is great ! Great graphics, effects and sounds. Nice voices... Generous health and damage. Massive difficulty spike when you get first powerup. The boss is fun, but hard. Bookmarked for another look later. Nice one!

Raxsus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Fun, but the sound effects gave me a headache.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Well, you called it. Explosions. This was very awesome though. Surprisingly fluent gameplay for something that was only worked on for a weekend. It looks refined in some ways! Good job!

AsixJin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:13am

My favorite game so far! It reminds me of a game I use to play with my friends back in high school called Boxhead but on one screen, more simple, but more hectic. Absolutely loved it! Like to see you do more with it!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Damn, that was a ton of fun! Love the arcade style gameplay and the waves of enemies. Controls felt good and the difficulty was just high enough. Very well done :)

Kirito says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Excellent, that's the kind we fond of

sirdorius says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Wow! Awesome!

Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:17am

Amazing! I really had fun on playing this game, though the sounds can be annoying. But great job :D

resty says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:24am

这个游戏完成度很高,2天的时间利用的太好了。
画面风格非常赞,不过射击的音效不好听,总体来说真的很好

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]