Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dartfield Basegolf

by Andy Gainey - Jam Entry

Baseball hybridized with golf and darts. Aim for the region of the field with the plays you're seeking, balancing your priorities among your hit chance, power, and precision. Wherever the balls comes to reset determines the fate of your runners. Bat well.

Multiple iterations, as well as thoughts and eventually a retrospective, can be viewed at http://experilous.com/1/blog/post/tag/ludum-dare

Runner sprites and design assistance courtesy Jeremy Breau. View his games at http://www.antithesisdesign.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#467Innovation(Jam)3.09
#606Graphics(Jam)3.06
#707Humor(Jam)2.19
#788Fun(Jam)2.67
#802Overall(Jam)2.83
#804Theme(Jam)3.17
#838Mood(Jam)2.52

Comments

schuranator says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:28am

Fun game only issue was after the second inning I hit a bug and it froze. Didn't effect the rating I thought the game was overall pretty snappy.

sikosis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31am

Nice idea with a baseball field. Batter character is missing so took me a few goes to work out what I was doing. It was only when I successfully hit the ball and saw the character running that I knew.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Cool idea! But then again, I'm always partial to new ways to play baseball...

rmc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:20pm

It took me some time to undestand, since the batter is missing, but nice idea mixing some sports with baseball

Poupi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Heheh nice!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:31pm

well this was impressive! I especially liked the mechanics on the ball. Really clever idea, very original. Good job!

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:34pm

It's a really cool game when you understand it. Reaaaaaally needs a tutorial, but it was very fun to play! First sports game I've seen so far, definetly innovative! Good job!

Brassawiking says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Not entirely sure I understood what happened.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:25am

This game was pretty fun, but I don't have the patience to make it all the way to the end of a game. I liked the idea to set proprities, very original. This game kind of reminded me of an older LCD handheld game (back when thouse were a thing), good job on this. The graphics were charming.

IguanodonT says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:50pm

I like this a lot, good application of the theme, but more importantly, this was fun.

Tuism says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Hmmmmm I like it! Nice and original, has all the nuances of baseball without none of the bogged down crap most sports games have.

THAT SAID.

Would be nice to see an expansion of this idea with *some* of the bogged down crap sports games have, but made more fun and fast too :)

A few problems - things feel utterly random (whether you got caught or not), and that kinda sucks. Some kind of visual interpretation of fielders would be best.

The batting power interface is really confusing. REALLY.

Otherwise good stuff :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:45pm

This entry was unique and innovative. After playing this game, I had to look at the title again. Golf + baseball = uniqueness!

This looks like it can be made into a mobile game if you were to continue this further on.

Havi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Cool unique game. Good job! :)

f7f5 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:06pm

It's hard to rate for me, because of the lack of a single-player mode (and not really knowing baseball rules). Looks gorgeous, the movements are fluid and ball physics work very well. Suffers greatly from the lack of Audio :(

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Hello, I'm sorry to say that your web link currently leads to a page that says it is not available! I was not able to try your game altho I was very curious to do it.

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:50am

Yeah, sorry about that. I'm having some hosting issues due to unexpected and unrelated web traffic. I'll try to get it sorted out this week, or figure out how much money I'm willing to spend to get beefier service. :-)

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:48am

Kind of confusing to play. It took me a while to figure out how to play, and it's hard to know when to swing.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]