Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Allspark Ruumba

by Nardom - Compo Entry

Game
======================================
Survive the waves of bots filling up your screen, push them off and prevent them from sapping your spark's energy. Every 10 seconds your platform (Allspark) will take 1 damage for each bot around it (including the ones still falling or on the lava). You will be awarded points for all enemies you dispose of, because who doesn't like points or rewards? Complete the stages to be a winner!

Note
======================================
It's my first real entry for LD, but I usually just join in without submitting anything. I finally finished something within the time limit, and I'm happy with that.

Libs & Tools
======================================
Language: Javascript
Libraries used: THREE.js, Physijs
Sounds/Audio: SFXR

WebGL
======================================
This is a WebGL game, meaning it should run fine in the latest versions of Chrome and Firefox. If you notice fps drops / low fps, try reducing the size of your browser window to increase performance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#373Graphics3.38
#459Mood3.03
#468Fun3.17
#500Overall3.25
#526Innovation3.17
#792Humor2.14
#804Audio2.21
#862Theme3.35

Comments

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:27am

Really pretty, and addictively fun!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:43am

That's a great entry! The game has this hockey feel to it... I enjoyed it quite a bit :)

sputnik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Really nice simple graphic. Hard to control but quite fun!

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Oh that's surprisingly addictive. First few times I played though the robot dropping from the sky hit me and sent me flying :P

Shpuld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43pm

One of the most fun to play entries I've tried so far

Bardikus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Fun game, but I found the camera a little frustrating. Maybe a static camera that covered the whole arena might have been better :)

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Simple but fun. Good job with web integration.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Love the graphics! So fun!

tompudding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Wow that was great. Looks awesome, and is tremendously fun. Amazed you got it all done!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nice visuals. Interesting use of theme.

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Really nice minimalistic feel to this. Floaty, but solid controls, it would not be challenging without them that way.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:23am

The graphics is nice. It is amazing that you made it out of WebGL!! The control seems a little difficult and the difficulty may need more balance. But generally it is cool that you made it in 48 hours.

becker929 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:28am

Pretty fun, made me want to do better >:O
But reallly difficult! I think if there were more friction on the player or less density on the bigger blocks it would be much easier and more fun.
Good job, I really want to try WebGL now!

Troilk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:56am

Great entry! Simple but stylish graphics.

Javabot says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:48am

Actually pretty cool game, but I wished the enemies moved.

lase says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:35am

I really like the style of this! I love anything that is "floating in spacey". I found it hard to play, though.

Just Tom says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:35am

Very cool, I dig the warm graphics (Also WebGL yay!)

Was fun to play, once I got used to the controls I was in for a second round :)

Also, infinitely bouncy lava!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:33am

The concept is cool, but I think about to things. The first is that if the camera is moving, as we see this competition, the theme is broken with that, so we can't rate you high in this option. Also, with the camera movement, is more difficult to hit the other boxes, even more if the box weight is higher than yours... With a easier control would be a greater gameplay experience!

Caspila says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:16am

Nice concept. I felt like sweeping my room but in a fun way.
A couple of comments though:
-I think that it gets too difficult a bit to quick.
-It's also very hard to control the character.
-One thing that really annoyed me though is when I was able to throw something in the lava and it spun right back to the platform! Perhaps just kill straight away any other block when they touch the lava

jpmit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:32am

Impressive

Meedoc says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Really nice game! Got a 42 score for my second trial. The physics is a bit clumsy but it's what make this game so cool in the end. Good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Hi there. Like the idea but found controls impossible, far too little force to push anything, barely enough to reverse direction in less than 10 seconds... Looks great though!

Neyjay says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Seriously? This game could be made in less than a day by one person alone. The concept is nice, but it feels like they didn't even try making it better. How can something be so popular, when there are so many better games out there.

Neyjay says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Nothing against the maker. I'm sure they tried their best and he did a good job for his first LD entry, but I'm aghast at how many people actually think this is one of the better games this LD...

GentlyPub says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Very nice, especially the web framework.

gene-z says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Great game, congratulations

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Looks nice, good graphics, but the controls are too hard. It gets a bit annoying when you can't even hit the other cube :P

laluis1 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:59pm

lag

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]