Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Fluidity

by WetDesertRock - Compo Entry

Fluidity is a simple game where you move your mouse and fling around a string to stop the enemies from hitting their targets.

Pretty simple concept, as it was done in much less than 24 hours.

As with my last entry, anonymous stats are recorded. The only things saved are:
Game version
Display's resolution
Operating System
Snowmen
If love is fused or not
Debug mode on/off
Various graphic feature support
Game round final score/time spent.

If this creeps you out some and would rather not send stats to me, here is a separate version: http://bit.ly/WDRLD31PostNoStats

In the future I will have a page that displays all the data collected from your IP, however I have to sleep first.

Post Compo Update #1:
Pure bug fix,
Allows you to play more than one game without it being messed up.
Guarantees that you won't have way too many entities coming in at once.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Graphics3.97
#211Mood3.35
#216Audio3.30
#341Theme3.77
#423Overall3.32
#482Innovation3.23
#535Fun3.10
#804Humor2.11
#1461Coolness47%

Comments

Hempuli says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

Simple but effective idea! I wish the tail of the player was a bit more elastic (and visible), I found it hard to intentionally use it to attack the enemies.

Kabukky says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:56am

Love the art style and sound!

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:27am

Great game. I liked the game play. It run smooths and good graphics. Well done

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:08am

Hempuli, I agree that it needs to be more visible, but aside from making the line bigger and hacking into the lighting library I was using, there wasn't much I could do. It can actually be quite effective, if you play long enough there is skill in making your motions so that the tail gets the most coverage it can.

Gwilym says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:57am

Great mood and polish. The sound effects and the graphics come together really well. Especially the lighting effect, and the screen shakes. Really enjoyed playing this :D

csaunders says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:46pm

The shader effects look super neat and definitely added to the overall gameplay.

rnlf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07pm

I really enjoyed the visual effect when the target was hit. The mechanics were really smooth and playable. As some have already stated, a more elastic, or heavy tail would make swinging it more useful and fun.

The difficulty curve went up a bit steep for my taste.

All in all a good entry.

rxi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Yours is the first game I'm playing from the compo (I think this may have been the case last time I participated, too).

I really liked the string-flinging concept -- it was a single simple mechanic but it worked well to create a game which felt as if it would be right at home as the sort of thing you play to relax at the end of an evening.

The visual style was unique and especially well done. I really admire the shader work, the look was used well but didn't feel over done, and was overall very appealing to the eyes.

The sound caught me off guard a little; it felt more unique even than the visuals and managed to be both interesting and appealing. Unfortunately it seemed slightly harsher than the more relaxing tones of the game's other elements.

Overall excellent work, especially given you made it in less-than-the-48-hours.

Grehg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I thought the sounds were effective and I was impressed with the visuals that happened when you got a game over. It was a hard game for me and I didn't last that long.

SneManden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:31pm

I love that game-mechanic. Although the "string" could be bigger for a more satisfactory feeling when eliminating enemies, the game concept is pretty clear and well executed.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:32pm

I'm not exactly sure what to make of this. It looks and sounds good, but there isn't a lot to do, and there's no real goal. It feels like there's no strategy or way to improve or get better, since after a while there are just too many to deal with for how slow you move. It seems like a good start to something, but I feel like it's just not all the way there yet.

ShadowTzu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:06am

Nice graphics!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Nice graphics and sound. It was a bit hard to get used to control it.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:29am

I really like the vfx on this, gives it a good atmosphere. its pretty simple, so it does get repetitive, but for less then 24 hours its really good.

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Really nice graphics!

I agree that the player could be more elastic. It feels like he should have an additional weight at the end, which makes it easier to spin.
Great contept though, and nice shading!

Zayron says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Nice job! I could not get the sound to work with the Windows 64 Version but Windows 32 worked fine.

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Looks really nice. Flinging the string around felt good and the effects when hitting and being hit were a nice touch.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:09am

Sweet compo entry - damn those enemies can shoot straight! :D

cxsquared says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:55am

Simple but awesome idea. The game play is super fun. Great work!

eforen says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:05am

The Slow lagging behind of the whip really bugged me.

davidB says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I like the visual, clean, nice effects. The gameplay remember me a weapon in "Guardians of the galaxy" (I saw it yesterday).
Great game. I'll replay it later

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Great looking game! I had a quite hard time getting used to the movement of the worm, might have been easier if it behaved more like a snake like it have sort of a trace. Simple and clean game!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:54pm

The visuals and audio are great, and the game is simple but fun.

P.S. Your game will appear in my next video (episode #4).

Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Wow, that's damn hard! ;D I want to emphasize that you created an interesting atmosphere here!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]