Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Music

by Wakka - Compo Entry

Music is a puzzle game about making music. It was made in 8 hours, for the Ludum Dare 31 Competition (2014-12-06).

Stuff used:

* Engine: Unity 2D
* Gfx: Affinity Designer
* Sfx: Garage Band & Audacity

Howto:

The game is controlled entirely by mouse: Build your music track by dragging around the elements and play your music by clicking on the big emitter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Audio4.14
#21Innovation4.31
#166Fun3.57
#177Overall3.64
#220Mood3.33
#504Graphics3.16
#542Theme3.61
#669Humor2.34

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 6, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Friend it doesn't work for me. I got just a black screen :(

Louisload says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 12:10am

I only got a black screen too :-(

Znurre says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Linux download seems to point to OS X.

Wakka says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Thank you for your Feedback, the wrong links and the black screen issue are fixed now.

Znurre says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Nice, Linux download is working now.
Cool idea, but hard to make good music :D

davidB says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:17am

A puzzle to hard for me, I'm staying with the two item. I don't understand what to do (I'm so stupid ??)

Wakka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:16pm

@davidB no it's not your fault. But it is possible to finish the game even when the music is not sounding good ;-)

Smiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:01pm

really nice idea.. somehow I managed to loop something into another loop and I got 100s of "pulses" which crashed the game.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:02pm

This is amazing. As a musician a have a soft spot for anything related to music, and also procedural generation. I found this a lot of fun. Puzzle element are fitting superb.
p.s. works fine for me, no black screen or any other problem

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:02pm

awesome, i love the music games ;]

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Greate game! I placed the converted into two points element so close to the other two and the game freezes, later browser freezes.

pixzleone says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Very cool idea!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Hah, I love the idea. Nice mix of puzzle to solve and sandbox to release your creativity! I even spent some time trying to compose something after unlocking everything and catchy tune is playing in the background right now :)

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Amazing idea for a puzzle! I only wish they were more different sounds so that you could enjoy the music a bit more once it gets complicated.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Nice game. Would have liked a bit more freedom as to the types of sounds, but the flow and pace was fun, and it was music, for sure. Good game.

Harsay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:09pm

That was an interesting experience.

Asado says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:10pm

It's a cool idea, but there's really not much to it and it could use some more guidance or some kind of "score", I dunno. But overall, pretty cool.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:48am

Wow, I really like the concept of a music-puzzle game, never had thought of it :P You might want to add an in-game mini tutorial explaining the dragging, as I took a while to figure it out. One of the best I've seen

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:34pm

This Game. But i found a bug where your music looped over it self. other than that you got a good rating from me :)

solarexplorer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Awesome.

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Really nice idea, had quite a lot of fun with this. quite unique!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:35am

This was fun to play around in, nice job!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:07am

Good puzzle game! Very innovative at least for me. I think that this could be actually extended to some real music making software.

I've made music in the end!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:16pm

cool game

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:51pm

beautiful, very creative, well done :)

Indiestry says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Awesome! Reminds me a bit of Sound Shapes Art and sound-wise

zulubo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Really fun! love the challenge of fitting all the notes together. Would be cool to have rotatable notes too

Dokthar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Very good "game". I regret that we just can play 4 notes.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Hi there. Really like your game. I think you should emphasise that player needs to drag the things so they all get used to move to next level/item. Great sound elements, nice design: splitters, repeaters, etc. Very cool!

egos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:54pm

really nice concept . Just a doubt on the final objective maybe the only one is try make music in this way its very hard

Good job

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:49pm

This.. I loathe to call it 'game', cause it's really more of a tool,

IS AWESOME.
As soon as you understand what's going on, and see that you can drag and drop the items.
A bit of a tutorial or tooltip would be nice, but other than that, great effort. Even if it isn't really a game ;)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:41am

Ok! Now it works and it works fine. I like this puzzle game even though I cannot figure out what I should do. There is something to do with this concept. Thank you for your comment about my game ++

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:38am

"Failure to download data file" for web version :< It won't let me download the Windows version, either, because the "website is not available"!

mklee says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:55am

There's a really clever idea here! The revealing of additional pieces that you need to add into your musical contraption is a neat mechanic that deserves to be explored even further. Great job on the audio also, the entire thing is terrific for just 8 hours of work!

Demy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:09am

Awesome game

Riocide says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:00am

Great idea! Really like it! Only thing annoying is that new samples spawn in my already made chain - which disrupts the musical process a bit..but I really love this idea...take it further!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:27pm

abstract "game" nicely done though.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:57pm

At first I thought this was going to just be a synth toy, but the desire to get a new piece by using all of the previous ones each time kept me amused and interested the whole time! I probably experimented with loops and other tricks more than I would have otherwise because of that, too. Nice :).

jojocanard says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Elegant and fun to use. Congratulations

eskivor says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Really good concept. With more content it could be more awesome !

Appocket says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Black screen :(

Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Cool idea. I like how it plays like a sandbox but still feels like a puzzle game. Nice minimalist presentation. Had fun playing with it.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Nice! It was fun to play with it. :D

gallerdude says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Fun, sort of difficult. Wish you could rotate parts.

stasss says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Reaylly love that!!!! Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]