Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dwindling Fire

by PlasterPhantom - Jam Entry

Hooray! Our second Ludum Dare game has come to a finish. Dwindling fire is an action packed survival game all about light.

Have you got what it takes to fight the creatures of nature while maintaining your own light sources? Tell us about your hiscores! Any feedback is greatly appreciated also (:

All assets are made by ourselves, apart from some sounds and the music. The music is found here; http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/287597

This runs on Snuffbox, our own DirectX 11, V8 interpreted C++ engine.

Controls:

Mouse - Move, attack, interact
Q - Dash
W - Place torch
E - Plant seed
1 - Toggle lantern
2 - Drink health potion

Good luck and have fun! It was a lot of fun to create and we are really happy with the result.

Oh, also; this is running on our own C++ engine. It unfortunately has some dependencies. DirectX 11 and the VC++ Redistributable 2013

Get them here;

DX11:http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109
VC++: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

EDIT: We forgot to remove some source file textures from the release version, the archive is now ~57mb instead of ~87mb.

If you had trouble downloading, please consider redownloading the archive!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#17Graphics(Jam)4.63
#54Audio(Jam)3.92
#58Overall(Jam)3.93
#65Mood(Jam)3.85
#182Fun(Jam)3.50
#285Theme(Jam)3.78
#315Innovation(Jam)3.33
#505Humor(Jam)2.59

Comments

Nelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:24am

Art is amazing!

Nelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:24am

Art is amazing! 5/5!

Riko says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:53am

Ermerhgerrrwd dis game is so guuud!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49pm

This game obviously looks absolutely amazing, and the level of polish on the gameplay and controls is astonishing. The gameplay itself is simple but well executed. Attacking the enemies sounds and feels good, a thing that's rare to see in these jam games. Very impressed altogether.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Been looking forward to this after seeing a screen on the IRC. Nice job!

DavidLv says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:58pm

It's too big for me. I need spend 7 hours to download.
My network is so bad. :(

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59pm

sigh... lonely mac :(

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:02pm

The art in this game is very vary good!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23pm

@Luke Molnar, sorry. Snuffbox isn't multi platform yet ): I wish it was haha.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Thank you all!

Verspagen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Love it!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Great game and really great graphics.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Best game I've seen so far...
The level of polish is absolutely amazing, I'd say the game is nearly finished and adding more content would make it a complete game.

Well played, great work from all the team!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Thanks for all the kind words! We really appreciate them. It's what keeps us going (:

kaa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Thats just awesome game!! Very, very enjoyed it. Outstanding GRAPHICS. Good mood. Godzillas leg just in time!
Sound is very well also. Thank you!

flyingbear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Wow, this is like "real game" art, not game jam art! (it's unbelievably good) The core mechanics are solid, although there was a lot to take in at first so it was hard to figure out what was going on in the beginning. I could see ramping up the elements of the game as you go, giving you less options in the beginning and keeping you from getting confused/overwhelmed as you're learning the ropes. Very impressive!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:54am

Impressive work. Arts, audio animations are top notch for a ludum dare. Gameplay is polished enough as well. Congrats!

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:00am

so many hover info panels. Apart from that, GREAT!

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:02am

pretty good game, graphics are really cool and the gameplay is pretty much polished, nicely done!

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:22am

This game is visually stunning. My real critic, is the attacking felt a little awkward, but overall the game great.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:24am

Yea, we implemented the attack a lil' late.. And the codebase was starting to get a bit messy. No real time to get a good animation in there haha.

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:12pm

The overall quality of this game is amazing. It has great graphics, soundfx and music. The only thing that I found (a tiny bit) irritating was the font. With some letters it has an unnatural spacing which makes it a bit harder to read. But that's really no biggie given all the rest you have done.

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Graphics are amazing, sound is high quality, game has a nice dark mood reminiscent of Don't Starve. A few minor issues - text spacing is a bit off and controls felt a bit awkward. Otherwise a fantastic game!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:01am

We discovered that the font did not really work at the end only, we could hotfix it, but we rather leave the game as it is (: Plus, the text in the tutorial is baked into the texture so that's a real issue haha. Thanks all!

Boracho says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:33pm

this is pretty awesome. Art and sound are top-notch. Gameplay feels nice. This game definitely deserves a dedicated session to play. great work!

Biliogadafr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Fantastic quality for JAM! I really impressed!

Lupus says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Wow! Amazing!! Fantastic game, thumbs up!!!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Great, it is really cool ... i enjoyed playing this entry, try our game, we have a great crazy artist too, click on my nick ... the only thing i could say is that the little window just by the mouse pointer hides the action a little ...

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:12pm

I'm Linux only, so no review of this

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:10am

Beautiful game art, polished game in all aspects. This must be continued! :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Graphics is amazing!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]