Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Shiftavoid

by rob1221 - Compo Entry

Shiftavoid is a simple avoider game where the objective is to guide the ball to the flashing exit as fast as possible. Upon reaching the exit, all the objects shift to new positons, creating another level. Getting a higher score requires moving fast and also taking the more dangerous path.

Engine: Stencyl
Art: Inkscape
Music: LMMS
Sound: Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#124Audio3.49
#220Mood3.33
#260Fun3.43
#297Theme3.81
#355Overall3.40
#481Graphics3.20
#646Innovation3.02

Comments

devshawn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:53am

Pretty fun, smooth animations.

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:01am

The game over is a bit frustrating sometimes ! But overall, I liked your take on the theme (I guessed the game screen is something like a smartphone screen ?), and the execution is cool. Good job.

rob1221 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:13am

My interpretation of the theme was to have all game objects on the screen and not leave, and I also don't have any new objects being created (excluding that game over popup). The game is only phone sized because I'll port it to iOS and Android eventually.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11am

awesome game! I like the idea, and gameplay is pretty neat

Sublustris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11am

Great!
Very polished game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49am

Very nice! I love the way the boxes are moved around, so that none of the levels needs any more or less. The graphics are also pretty smooth. The one thing I noticed is that the game over animation is a bit harsh. Overall, I think that the game, although quite simple, is very polished and well executed.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I got score of 7)
It was fun, but not very original

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Really good entry, feels complete, would click to control balls again 9/10

Bonesdog says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Great game, the theme was nailed.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I love the look and animations to it! It's quite easy if you just slowly move the cursor at some points, as the ball moves right with it though.

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Great Music & animation. I enjoyed!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:38am

I like the level transitions, smooth way of doing it :)

ElBatanony says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:33am

Really fun! Awesome soundtrack! And I love the way you made it reset the levels! Awesome job!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32am

Simple but great! Also agree with the other folks about the transitions being awesome!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:54am

Very simple, nice and well done. Nice music too!

edve98 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I loved the animations! If you are going to update this game, I would suggest adding much more levels and making the particles a bit nicer.

ceosol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:40pm

I really like this game. The bgm is a nice mix, as well. Even though I like both separately, I don't think the bgm really fit the game. It seemed out of place. Maybe have the trail coming out of the ball pumping to the beat of the music? Anyway, nice level design and gameplay :)

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:01pm

I don't have a mouse handy, and my laptop trackpad is definitely not the right input device for this game! That said, I still enjoyed the few levels I managed to get through. Transitions between levels were cool, although they felt a bit slow at times. A nice entry! I enjoyed it!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04pm

so addictive ;)

Walnoot says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Pretty awesome game! Had me hooked for some time trying to get a higher score, great job

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:57am

Nice game, the transitions are seamless. The controls are VERY frustrating though.

Vaclav says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:49pm

It would look cool playing on android!

harley77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Elegant and simple puzzler with a nice level of variety. The alternate harder paths to potentially greater time saving is a nice touch.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Simple game but very well crafted! scoring/timer mecanics is great.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Good fun, and good use of the theme. The music is pretty good considering the time frame. I wonder if it would be better, instead of dying when you hit a wall, if you just start at the beginning of that level. You are on timer anyway so it shouldn't make it too easy.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Hi there. Nice hook-on-wire game. Found it very difficult without going really slow. Nice sounds. Good job!

banana4life says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Nice music :)

jpmit says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Fun and well polished, good job!

jmborden says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:52am

Another game that is easy to play over and over again! Just fell right into this game.. it was easy to figure out objective and controls. There is even a bit of replay value in the fact that there is a timer for how many courses you beat as you can always try to cram more in one game! Audio is simple but goes with the game. I like how the board rearranges itself, plainly showing that all elements of the game are on the screen at one time. Great entry, props for pure Flash implementation and for using Inkscape to create the graphics!

Saf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Great controls and feedback, suits the theme and is easy to handle. Would have loved to see the fail state also resetting the level like it does in level transition!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]