Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Smash the Game

by hollowspecter - Jam Entry

** UPDATE 10/2015, Windows version got fixed **

Welcome to Smash the Game!

This is a 2.5D local Multiplayer game. The goal is to knock the other boar out of the screen. As soon as one boar is not rendered anymore, it dies!
First you try to increase the opponents multiplier, that way it will be easy to punch him out of the screen!

For the start screen: Press x to look at attacks and controls!

Attacks:
- Simple jabs: will increase the multiplier
- Strong push: will NOT increase multiplier, but will push the enemy significantly
- Special dash: very strong attack with a cooldown
- Combo Attacks... find out!

Items:
- Swirl: will put the screen upside down
- Zoom: will zoom in, that way the screen gets smaller
- Snowball gun: you can try and freeze your opponent
- Apple: will reduce the cooldown for your special attack
- Heart: reduces your multiplier
- Snowflake: everything will get icy!

Obstacles:
- Bumpers: there are scarecrow and snowman bumpers who will bump ya!
- Pits: Yes. It's a trap!

Special winter mode:
After some time, winter will creep in, making everything icy!

Controls:
Are explained in the main menu. Best played with two XBOX Controllers. If you find any bug in the controller settings, let us know, because we have not yet tested it with two controllers!

The Team:
Julian (@viezensj)
- most of the graphics
- programming
Vivien (@hollowspecter)
- programming
- music
Graphics, 3D, Animation, Music, Programming, Code. Everything done from scratch using various tools especially Unity3D, Photohop, Milky Tracker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#273Humor(Jam)3.06
#509Audio(Jam)2.67
#511Fun(Jam)3.03
#541Overall(Jam)3.17
#579Graphics(Jam)3.11
#622Innovation(Jam)2.85
#632Mood(Jam)2.87
#722Theme(Jam)3.29
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31am

A nice little multilayer game! That being said good thing I had a buddy to play this with because there is no AI :O

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01pm

I loved this game!
Music, art, concept and controls was all very nice, I liked the humour within the game.
As much as I love the multiplayer idea I think the game is a little let down by having no AI.
On the Whole a fantas

anokta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02pm

really enjoyed how you can combine the attacks together! nice job. :)

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:10pm

P sweet! I'm impressed with the amount of things you managed to get into it, attacks items etc. One of the more fleshed out local MP entries I've seen (and there are a bunch of them this time around for some reason)

Dissiden7 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Great stuff. Would like to see this expanded to even more players.
With some polish and a 4 player local multiplayer mode this would rock.

Now I want to have me some Smash Bros. :P

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:26pm

I like the combo attack mechanics, is a lot of fun! The assigned keys were a little unfavorable, since WASD and the X key to attack are only accesible with the left hand, which is already used to navigate.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:19am

It is fun! It is like an isometric SSB.
I like the combos!

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:46am

Another game with good humour, liking the animations too. I could not get the menu buttons to work but the game worked perfectly.

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Congratulation on making a multi player game :)! I really liked how the character's flip. Also the evil snowman :P

brokenbeach says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:52pm

It's a shame there's no AI to play with! The art work is adorable and I imagine it would be a lot of fun if I had someone to play against. Nice use of sound, too! Good work.

Headmade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:11pm

I would like to see a single player mode, as I don't have a partner to play with.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Seems very solid overall. Nice visuals, simple but catchy music plus a clear relation to the theme. Only complaint I'd have is that it all feels quite slow which might reduce how fun the game is - however, I couldn't play with anybody, so I can't really tell (or rate all categories). Anyway, I did enjoy looking at and listening to it. :P

alfadur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:30am

Nice brawler! The camera zoom/inversion bonuses are quite cool as well. :)
I'm not quite sure, but it seems like the characters would benefit from simple round shadows under them so that it would be easier to grasp their relative position.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:27am

I never knew pork could pack a punch! The level hazards and item variety gave this game some good replay. The combos when chained correctly are awesome.
Somehow the game not only reminded me of Smash Bros. (as the comments and relate to as well) but also reminded me of Kirby Fighters Deluxe, and its not a bad thing at all.

Teesquared says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Funny but the game felt like it lasted a little too long.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]