Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Force Feedback

by kumoi - Jam Entry

How do you fit an entire game on one screen? By making a game inside of another game!

Welcome to Force Feedback, a Simulator Simulator designed to show you what it feels like to be a gamer. Oh wait, you already are a gamer? Awesome, in that case grab your controls, strap in, and get ready to feel the in-game-life-like experience of a game that just gets too real (you'll understand once you play).

You are in your livingroom. You just got your brand new 200" screen and you are itching to test it out with the latest in Hardcore Epic car simulators. Enjoy "SUPER RACER SIMULATOR 2000", the pinnacle of driving games with physics so realistic that you will feel like crashing has very real consequences. Immerse yourself in this one of a kind WHEEL-GRIND designed to make your eyes pop and your heart stop (once its done exploding from DAT adrenaline rush)!!!111OMGBBQ

To control this game, use the following keys:
================================================

In room controls:
------------------
W: Forwards
A: Strafe Left
S: Backwards
D: Strafe Right

MouseLook: Turn head in room
E (while close to sofa): Start/Quit Race Game

Tab: Reset Scene
P: Pause menu (Change volume)

In Car controls:
------------------
W: Accelerate
A: Turn Left
S: Decelerate/Backwards
D: Turn Right

F: Switch 1st person/3rd person
Space: E-Brake

F1: Teleport to Race Track 1
F2: Teleport to Race Track 2
F3: Teleport to Race Track 3


If you happen to have a Logitech F710 (While in car game)
------------------------------------
Right Trigger: Accelerate
Left Trigger: Decelerate/Backwards
Left Joystick/Pad: Turn left/right
Y Button: E-Brake

================================================

Questions & Comments? Let us know, right down Below
Excited? HELLZ YEAH!!
Heart Exploded? Please send your complaint to our lawyer's office in Guatemala by carrier pidgeon

The only item we did not make ourselves in this game is the audio, for which we used public domain clips from Freesound.org

Cheers,
George & MiKe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#27Innovation(Jam)4.12
#44Humor(Jam)3.89
#68Theme(Jam)4.16
#103Fun(Jam)3.71
#165Overall(Jam)3.67
#282Graphics(Jam)3.72
#295Mood(Jam)3.33

Comments

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:50am

Hah! Great job again guys! This was pretty funny, I had a good laugh flipping the car over and sending all of the objects flying around the room :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34am

You did a pretty good job. Had a nice and silly concept and was decently fun to play!

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:36am

I have no idea what the hell I just played, but I sure did play it for a long time. Would have liked it to perhaps fix itself when it was stuck dealing with some odd physics so I could keep doing whatever it was I was doing, but good game.

LexGear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37am

This was interesting to say the least :P Falling off the level by the way.. pretty funny.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:25am

Wow This was an awesome concept

nzgiije says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Didn't think that it will be so fun looking how all this stuff flying around the room. It's real 5D.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Very fun :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Great idea and was fun to play!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Great idea, really had a laugh with this one. Don't want to know what a force feedback room like that costs.

If you ever decide to expand on the concept, make sure to implement Oculus Rift support :P

Ysty says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Really good. I love the concept and it's executed really well.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I like it! Pretty funny idea. Nice take on the theme. Quite well polished for what it is, as well.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:13am

yes! great humor with this one.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:13am

Wow, pretty innovative and well implemented, the sounds and the graphics are excellent for a 72 hour game! The only thing that bugged me was that the controls felt a little unresponsive, but aside that, it's brilliant!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:18am

This was one of the better surprise of this LD for me. Everything was top-notch. Congrats

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:22am

Hah! This is terrific, and oh-so-very clever. Love it!

davient says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:25am

Love the Theme! But you $#?!% my living room is an absolute mess now! Would love to play this with some levels and races :) Also feels like the furntiure impacting the walls also moves the car? Which feels counter intuitive. Great job guys! Where can I buy furniture that survives that much impact force!? :p

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:04am

This is the Goat Simulator of the driving... uhh, simulation simulators genre, I guess?
I couldn't stop laughing the entire time. The car physics are a mess, but it adds to the hilarity of the whole. I saw the game title and thought you'd have implemented some kind of force feedback, but I did not expect that. Well done!

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Entire game on one screen might be a stretch, but it was clever none the less! Great job! Was quite funny when I first pushed W and everything in the room fell over. I did not expect that. Very nicely done!

matthewdpace says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:05pm

This looks soooo good but it won't run on my laptop. Not sure if it's because it's linux or if it's some other reason, but the Unity web player isn't loading or anything :(

kumoi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:33pm

My apologies, I will see if I can make a port to Linux since it does not have a webplayer (unless you use a workaround). I will also be releasing an Oculus Rift version soon for those who have one.

Remember, Use the F1-F3 keys to teleport or re-spawn your car if it gets flipped or falls off the world.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Very creative. Funny idea!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:00pm

very clever game, well done :D

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Very fun!

Warboys says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:13am

Haha that was pretty good, loved the physics in the room and the game

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:43am

I really enjoyed breaking your game, Kumo. :) It was one of the best experiences I've had thusfar during LD.

This game did a couple of this really really well. It definitely SURPRISED me, when the game started doing its thing and it surprised me even more when I fell through the terrain and I reached terminal velocity. I thoroughly enjoyed myself. :D

Really good 3D graphics for a weekend, too! Simple, not overdone and lots of objects to witness spinning around.

Great job! :)

Frenchie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:55am

Really nice entry! Love the concept and it works really well! I had a lot of fun trying to drive up the mountains/hills. It bugged me that the left/right physics were flipped though (i.e. when you turn right everything should go left, not right!)

kumoi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Yeah, I corrected that and fixed a lot of the problems with the level. I should be releasing a "post-jam" update later, I just need to make sure people don't review it instead of what we were able to complete in 72 hours.

Ossi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:14pm

That was really funny! Great use of the theme and I totally did not expect that to happen. Very clever, very innovative! Good job!

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:42am

Very good concept!adore the physics inside the room!cool idea!

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:51pm

This was real original, loved walking around trying to figure it out. Then seeing the e to play game. I loved how crashing also impacted the room the gamer is in. Great idea, game.

voxel says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:57pm

I will not lie, I was sad that I could not play the Rubiks Cube.

This was great. I escaped track one and was hoping to find my house and drive in through the wall, but unfortunately was unable to locate my abode.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:07pm

This is the perfect example of humor through gameplay. I don't know how you came up with this, but it's a real treat. Well done!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:47am

I like the twist of recreating car physics in the room objects. The driving physics could use some work, though it's easy enough to drive around the track. Would be nice to see better tweaked physics, multiple gears, e-brake that lets you drift easier, also bumping into walls needs to be more forgiving. Also adding lap time scoring that tracks the fastest lap would be a quick way to hook up more gameplay. Maybe even throw in some speed boosters or hazards on the track. It would also be cool to see more of the meta game elements, like maybe after you are playing for a while you have to eat, use the restroom, or answer the phone.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:36am

Great graphics, and great physics. I liked the concept, good job!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I had a lot of fun playing it!

MaesK says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Whoa whoa, this 4D TV is awesome! It almost felt real! And this table sure floats like paper, I should buy a heavier one.

Excellent work! I burst laughing easily with every turn of the car :D Even when I jumped outside the track!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Loved this on the Oculus, that sense of presence helps you get into it.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Awesome concept! Well done!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Wow, what an awesome idea!
Perfect theme implementation.
A few improvements would've been nice, like not-linear gravity of the car(thought you play a game in a game, which doesn't need to apply to the world's rules), and an button so you can reset everything back onto its position, without resetting the car too.
You can escape the map easily(like in big rigs, just drive), and when that happens, the wheel sounds goes crazy(it keeps getting higher)(like in big rigs, but then creapier), and the objects fly around like crazy.
That said, the game has many features. It's actually fun to break the game, unlike most.
Graphics are nice, sounds, are pretty. Maybe some music.

This is probably the most "satisfying" game of this whole LD, great work!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

God that was funny, seeing everything fly around because of your actions. Brilliant stuff. :D

gallerdude says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Genius, hilarious, awesome.

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Very fun to play, love all the nice graphics and psysics :D

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:02pm

This is easily one of my favorites this year. Oculus Rift, you must make that happen ;D

okkolobr says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

I'm used to shout after my cat who sit in front of the TV when I play, but it's the first time I have the same issue with a table !

It was fun and good take on the theme.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Really nice game and funny. xD xD Great Job.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

That's just awesome. A simulation several times over! :) I had an awesome time driving around the track, up the walls and into the void of nothingness. 5 stars all round. The most innovative game I've seen this LD, and maybe the most innovative game I've ever seen :)

Harsay says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Genius idea. I wish I had oculus rift ;<

Gins says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:17pm

When I was a little kid and got the N64 rumble pack, I was worried that this would be the effect on it so I was afraid of using it and my parents had to convince me that it's not going to be like this. (I blame the over-the-top commercials on this one.)

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:59pm

This is hilarious. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]