Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Slime Spire Showdown

by rojo - Jam Entry

Slime Spire Showdown is a mini roguelite twin stick shooter a la The Binding of Isaac. Destroy pillars to bring the ceiling of the next floor of the tower crashing down while defending yourself against a small army of silly slime monsters!

There are 3 characters each with slightly different stats. Your character is random each time you restart.

I made this game solo using Unity 4.6, Photoshop, sfxr, and FL Studio.
The font used is "Immortal" by Apostrophic Labs.

NOTE: If you don't like ESDF you can rebind the keys before the game starts up. May God have mercy on your soul.

Get in touch!

www.twitter.com/rojomojogogo
www.youtube.com/rojomakesgames

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#292Humor(Jam)3.00
#311Audio(Jam)3.19
#358Overall(Jam)3.37
#440Fun(Jam)3.13
#604Graphics(Jam)3.07
#706Theme(Jam)3.31
#711Mood(Jam)2.74
#805Innovation(Jam)2.52
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:14am

Only got to floor 4. but, I tried to play through 3 times! I really liked this. You nailed a lot of the aspects considering the short time frame. AI is good, shooting feels nice. colliders are cool. Overall a solid 4!

gladers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Loved it! 5* from me :D
Big fan of all things like binding of Isaac! Great job!

Wertle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Super cute animations, I wish the enemies had some kind of tell for shooting, or at least on the ones with fast projectiles. The special felt a little weak, I think because the enemies have such high health that even when I hit all enemies on the screen, it didn't feel like I did much. When I went to the middle after a floor dropped, my character seemed to have the same visual feedback as when I got hurt, so I couldn't tell if I was taking damage when I thought I was in the correct spot. The movement felt nice with the acceleration/deceleration on the character. One thing you could do to really crank things up a notch would be additional feedback on enemy hits to give me a better idea of how I was progressing in killing one of them. Nice job!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:18am

Controls felt nice, however I found ESDF vs WASD kind of offputting.

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Neat game and graphics :)
(BTW I think the web link is not working)

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I'll be playing it in the future!That says much i think.Great!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I didn't like the controls with esdf. the game reminded me of Binding of Isaac, which is a great game that lacks interesting fighting mechanics. so mechanically speaking; I did not find the game very enjoyable.

also restarting the game from the beginning is frustrating, I died at level 4 and I am not willing to restart it. I think a check point will go with this game.

if the game had some more drops and weapons I think it would be much more fun.

I can give you more stars for theme and Audio- Graphics though, this is a well done game, no bugs, no flaws (at least from my point of view) so this is really a good job over all, most games here gives the "unfinished" feeling.

raxter says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:27am

Lovely use of screen shake and little touches here and there! Wished the controls felt a bit more responsive so I could dodge the incoming bullets better.

The enemies were awesome, didn't really do anything too stupid and the variations were pretty cool.

Graphics and sound/music were lovely! Nice entry!

Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:18am

Quite interesting. I like the animations! I Included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:33am

This is a well-made twin-stick dungeon crawler. It's pretty darn good! Could use higher fire rate, and lower enemy healths. Also, more juice on hitting the enemies.

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 11:10am

Cool game. The AI was good but the controls felt awkward though. I like the faces of the enemies. Good job bro!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:28pm

*I Included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

I'm sort of on the same boat with ESDF vs. WASD. Was a bit weird and unorthodox. Otherwise pretty good game. The shooting could feel a little juicier or faster.

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:47pm

ESDF vs WASD was off-putting. The game looks like a clone of other ones. No sound.

rojo says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:09pm

@pht59x I think you may have had your sound turned off - it's the first I've heard of the issue!

Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:07am

I liked the art it was really nice. and s for the gameplay it was really interesting. good entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]