Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Backlash

by uniquecorn - Compo Entry

2 player whiptastic party game! Whip your enemies and slash them to bits! 4 different maps! KILLBOTS.

First player uses wasd and click to whip.

BTW, you need a controller for the second player.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#444Theme3.68
#577Mood2.91
#607Graphics3.00
#652Innovation3.00
#694Audio2.45
#768Fun2.86
#785Humor2.16
#899Overall2.86
#1783Coolness37%

Comments

Ult says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Nice presentation but can't really seem to figure out how to do much.
A player vs cpu mode would be nice.
3 stars.

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Nice graphics but needs more gameplay. I don't really like that the characters are "stuck" during the whip animation.

uniquecorn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Hmm.. so you would prefer players still be able to move while whipping? Perhaps at a lower speed?

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Nice but since you dont really have to aim, you could have used a key to whip, and left all players on keyboard. Would be nice since you lock on them with the wip, jump around and launch the enemy around, which i tried to but once whipped it was stuck and couldnt jump anymore :(

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Nice game and I liked the visuals, though I think it could be improved with an AI opponent!

stray says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:44am

Nice game,
Goodjob friend

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:08am

Nice graphics a bit monotous but overall great game!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:43am

I do like graphics but hook whipping is very hard

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Pretty cool but some sort of AI 2nd player would be appreciated.

Code White says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Plus for multiplayer. You don't see many these days.
Nice work!

aidinviper says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:22am

nice job .

Shackhal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Unfortunately I don't have someone with me to play it, but still, I like the concept idea and the logo. The bots' graphics looks good, but they are fuzzy for scaling the window. Check that.

Overall, I like it :)

Riocide says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:31am

The whipping didn't quite work for me! Nice idea though

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

So awesome graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]