Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Wide Opened Eyes

by nzgiije - Jam Entry

---CONTROLS---
Movement: WASD
Lantern direction: Arrows


They afraid of the light.
So your only weapon is a lantern.
Monsters don't move while you looking at them.
Find way out. 


Note: 
To make it in time, we had to cut a lot from our game. But still hope you will enjoy it.




---CREDITS---

Artsiom “grlmc” Hlushchenia - graphics, sound, design
Andrei “nzgiije” Tsukanov - code, design


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Mood(Jam)4.21
#40Audio(Jam)4.00
#148Graphics(Jam)4.05
#206Fun(Jam)3.45
#219Overall(Jam)3.58
#365Innovation(Jam)3.25
#604Humor(Jam)2.38
#995Theme(Jam)2.20

Comments

stasss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:35am

Incredible atmospheric, brilliant work. Very solid, keep going work this game has a future.

kaa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:08am

Good entry, very a atmospheric

Wayward says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:09am

Very nice graphics and sound

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:09am

Really spooky game! So much like it

Demy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36am

Ok, you gave me nightmares. Very nice sounds + graphics combination. But sometimes the main character doesn't want to go up or down for no reason, so you need to move around stairs for a while to make him use it.
Again, great atmosphere.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37am

Daaaaamn, that was creepy, but so awesome! Mood is fantastic! Great job!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:47am

Awesome concept! I love the lights system and all! Very addictive!

semdog says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:50am

I've always hated big purple things that run after me. Thanks for that :(
but great game! Real sp00ky and atmospheric. Nice job

sathorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:58am

Wow, very nice atmosphere! Unfortunately though it's pretty buggy. Sometimes the character doesn't move or moves out of the map or the alien sound stutters. Also it doesn't match the theme too well :) But still, really good game.

oatsbarley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Wow! Perfect atmosphere and great use of the audio, screenshakes, etc. for effect. It's impressive that you came up with something that's genuinely scary in the space of an LD.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:07pm

I loved it.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Neat game, looks and sounds great with some genuinely scary moments. Great use of screenshake as well!

Just a quick big. You're able to clip through the locked doors if you walk into them and look in different directions quickly.

Regardless, great game. It's really hard to do horror in 2D and you nailed it.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11pm

It's like a minified 16bit Alan Wake. Very creepy with terrifying (in a good way) sound effects. A bit hard to orient yourself, but I guess that's the point :D

Doesn't really fit the theme I think, but nonetheless enjoyable.

resty says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21pm

good game, i dare not play it ...

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Wow, it looks and sounds amazing. Not a big fan of a gameplay though. It needs some sort of map, cause its too easy to get lost

Zayron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Awesome Job! Last time I had this feeling I was playing “F.E.A.R. First Encounter Assault Recon”. But it did not fit the theme very well.

Neil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Great game. Great atmosphere. Was happy to be able to finish it in the end.

Groydis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:29am

I jumped the first time I got attacked, Brilliant, Lots of atmosphere. Great Job!

cabezotta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Nice entry! Spooky!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Awersome horror atmosphere and really cool pixel graphics
I think that I could not sleep tonight...

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Very good game! Sometimes the ladders don't work for some reason so you have to go back and forth and retry. Great game after all!

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:45pm

It's a cool game but it has a few bugs. Sometimes he wouldn't use a stair without reason and sometimes I could walk through a close wall. But anyway I like to play atmospheric games like mine :)

Blister says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Really great game with Great ambience

harley77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Great entry!

Headmade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Ob boy the audio really makes the atmosphere work, good job! I also like the pixel art. Overall a good game.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Super creepy O_O... The first few times when the monsters got spotted were quite terrifying moments.

But after a while they started bugging out or something and 3-4 kept getting caught on the same causeway simultaneously. It would be a lot more awesome if they were a bit sparser, but chased us more actively.

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Great atmosphere!liked the mechanics with the rotating head/flashlight!

codehugger says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Awesome game :) Scared the bejesus out of me! Keep up the good work.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Basically it is like a maze game, but your idea of using lantern makes the game different from traditional maze game. I like your music which successfully make the game quite scary. The game could be better if there is something that can indicate player's progress or a minimap.

You may come to try our game "Flashlight", which has similar mechanisms that the only weapon of player is light and monsters afraid of light.(Though it is more in an arcade style.)

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:08am

Very polished! Keep it up!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Psst - you are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJNWAVXTiJ0

yodamaster says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Quite scary ...

AxeTheory says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:22pm

right when I thought I couldn't find the exit, I did. Yep I jumped the first time I died.

Jishmael says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Damn this is an awesome game :D How did you achieve the headlamp effect on that? ive been trying to get that effect in Unity for a while :/

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:35am

great atmosphere, and horror! nice mechanics, but the only thing I didn't like, is you have no idea where you are at, its all the same, and I did not understand how the doors get open.

so the maze itself is not that good, but over all this is a great work.

grlmc13 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:45am

Thank you, guys for your feedback. You are awesome. ButtonMasherBros, thanks for review I laught my ass off ))) Yep, it's a lot of bugs in the game. Feel sad about it.

Elendow says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Very nice atmosphere, like the concept. Good job!

gameattack says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Very good game. It has a very strong impact.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Unity web player does not support Linux.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Holy shit, this scared me a couple times. Excellent mood. A bug I noticed was where the monsters were just within range, the musical "hit" would trigger many, many times.

Dans17 says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:22am

Very good atmosphere. I just wish there were more indications as to where to go instead of blindly wandering around a maze.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:08pm

We really like the atmosphere of this game, the idea to mix atmospheric soundscape with sound effects to make something musical it's very nice!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Great sense of mood, the alien popping out at me made me jump a bit. Nice pixel art, and great audio work too.

indie4fun says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Love the animations and the "aliens" glitch! Good athmosphere!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]