Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Late Icedodger

by Doubstract - Compo Entry

Control snowball and try to stay alive, everything else you will find out while playing :) . Good luck!

Please, extract game files to prevent any weird game behavior.

Controls:
Jump - 'W' , 'up arrow key' or 'space'.
Move faster - hold 'D' or 'right arrow key' for short time
Move slower - hold 'A' or 'left arrow key' for short time
When you die and see overview, click 'R' to restart game.

Game source files coming soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#108Graphics3.95
#152Mood3.47
#342Fun3.32
#380Overall3.37
#411Audio2.94
#458Humor2.62
#546Innovation3.14
#1107Theme2.86

Comments

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Graphically this game looks stunning. Mechanics are great, the game reminds me of "rock of ages" and that's one fun game. I really like the fact that, the ball can grow after collecting snow.

The low res question marks at the end made me think that the game was bugged. But now I understand, how the game fits the theme.

Good Job!

guldlock says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Really nice game! Although I might be the worst player but it was fun when I got the hang of it!

Rozaxe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Really cool graphics ! The game is pretty challenging ! Cool music

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Good game overall. The use of parallax really helps the graphics, and I liked the polish with the asteroid flame effect. The game seemed to glitch after the snowball died. Solid game overall.

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Good game overall. The use of parallax really helps the graphics, and I liked the polish with the asteroid flame effect. The game seemed to glitch after the snowball died. The controls were really tight and well done. Solid game overall.

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Great job! Smart of you to incorporate the "health" into the snowball! It felt 100% natural, I'll try and remember that trick for future games! I liked the graphics with the "pen"-like feel to it. I had some graphics glitches with visible "seems" maybe some scaling or tiling issue?

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Quite enjoyed this one :) I don't really think its much to do with the theme though - any game could finish with a collage of screenshots "on one screen". That or I've missed the point, but still...

On the plus side though, graphics were great, sounds were well balanced and it was fun to play.

Good game :)

GFM says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I think the snowball should had been positioned at the left side of the screen. It would be easier to see and prepare for incoming things... :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I really liked the graphics and it was hard! :)

Smiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Mac version didn't start at first. I had to enter a terminal window and then cd Downloads/LateIcebreaker_Mac.app/Contents/MacOS and finally chmod a+x LateIcebreaker_Mac to get the game to start

taviandir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Difficult game! Might've been better if instead of increasing your pace, you just control yourself to the left n right of the screen - that way you get more of a feel of the impact of your pace increase and decreases.

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Great game, very good idea and beautiful visual. I enjoyed playing it.

cardanai says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Cool style, like the graphics. Not a very innovative game, but fun none the less.

JonnyGinger says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:12am

Very good job. Very clean, addicting gameplay and very innovative! Just wish it had more sounds.

Wusakko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:14am

Really nice Graphics!!! Game was hard.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:35am

It's very hard to predict what is coming, when to jump, when to speed up and when to speed down. But maybe that's just me being not very good at games... Overall, it's still a nice game.

Riocide says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:35pm

cool idea, slow down and speed up not as useful though...like the concept of making a big snowball though!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Simply awesome!

Shivur says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:03am

Good mood and smooth gameplay.

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Trying to dodge things is pretty frustrating, but I think the reason that's so apparent to me is because the rest of the game is pretty well polished. Great graphics and smooth track. Well done!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Beautiful graphics! Also quite innovative game, and relatively fun - I just thought it was very difficult. I barely managed to dodge anything, still got to 78% somehow. Guess that's due to the game being very forgiving and lets you rebuild your snowball occasionally, which is cool. And I liked those boards in the beginning explaining how the game works, which really is much better than relying solely on the explanation here on the LD page as most people do. :)

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:48am

I really liked the tutorial signs, that was really cool. Especially the lines "Avoid these"... "And these". I thought that was pretty funny and clever.

The sound effect when getting hit sounded like a good thing almost! :P One thing that confused me was the time that appeared and counted down upon receiving a star. I wasn't sure why that was there.

Fun game overall! Great job on finishing it!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Sometimes there is a little graphics glitch after restarting (black and noisy screen). Having a snowball as controlled character which gains health over time by getting new snow is a fun idea. On the one hand, the controls are smooth and overall it's a solid game. But then, the audio doesn't fit that well on the other hand.

Wakka says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Mac version cannot be opened.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]