Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Attack of the Screen Scrollers

by drludos - Compo Entry

Beware of the Screen Scrollers! They will scroll your "one screen game" background image away, and destroy those precious pixels forever. Also, this image is your only ground, so you'd better protect it if you don't want to be "scrolled away" too!

Use the arrow keys (or WASD) to move, and click on the "Screen Scrollers" to shoot them with your laser. Each kill will earn you points, so aim for the high score!

(my personal record is 1292 points)

IMPORTANT TIP: when you are "frozen", you are still able to shoot down enemies, it only prevent you from moving the character.

NB: Fullscreen mode doesn't work when the game is played on Ludum Dare's website, but it does work on the "Web (Flash)" link provided here

------------------

About the game

Even if it wasn't easy, I've tried to use the compo theme as a gameplay mechanic instead of a technical limitation only. My idea is that an "entire game on one screen" means a game with no scrolling. So the game cast you as a sprite inside a bitmap, and you are trying to prevent your enemies to scroll your single screen away.

It plays like a top-down arena shooter (with a railgun as your sole weapon), except that the enemies stay at the border of the screen, and each enemy tends to scroll the screen towards itself. The more (or the bigger) the enemies, the faster the scrolling in their direction. When your background image unfortunately goes outside of the screen, the part that was scrolled away is lost forever. So be careful not to overshoot one side of the screen if you don't want the background image to be scrolled away on the other side ;)!

Game created with Flash CS3, without any particular coding framework (quick'n dirty, yeah! ;)).
Graphics drawn directly in Flash IDE or in Photoshop for the pixel arts pieces.
Sounds created with AS3sfxr.

I hope you'll enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#20Theme4.46
#20Innovation4.34
#148Fun3.61
#182Overall3.63
#478Humor2.59
#561Mood2.93
#593Audio2.64
#714Graphics2.83

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:26am

Nice, very innovative

ohmmus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:59am

My highscore: 146. No where near 1292 =p Lots of fun, though!

ViliX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:00am

Wow. That's a very nice way of the theme interpretation :)

iMer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:00am

Very neat idea, way too hectic for me right now though. I should consider sleep.

jasonLJ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:01am

I really like how you interpreted the theme. I honestly didn't even think of doing something like this!

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:01am

Great job! I really like the interpretation of the theme. :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02am

This is fun. Tricky - where we have to click right on the guys to attack. I like it.

jarry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02am

Good game ! innovating

Sestren says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07am

I really like this! Great and clever use of the theme!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

Cool idea and was fun to play. I wish you could click anywhere to just shoot instead of having to click on the actual enemy.

AgentParsec says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:41am

Very fun and innovative, but if you get stunned by one of those blasts, it's pretty much game over since you can't dodge any of the other ones also shooting. Either have it stop shooting for a bit, or have it outright destroy the player. Otherwise, good job.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:53am

Awesome use of the theme.

zanenga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:03am

Lovely use of the theme!

Coban31 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:37am

Very good game , innovative and addictive.

Rozaxe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:57am

Max 163...
But very funny and innovating !

drludos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Many thanks to all of your for your comment and feedback!

One tip regarding the game: when you are "frozen", you are still able to shoot down enemies, it only prevent you from moving the character. So @AgentParsec, the real challenge actually begins when you are stunned: you'll have to click faster than before to defend your screen background ;)
(I'll update the description with this tip)

Eduardo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Nice concept! Good job!

Figglewatts says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:25pm

I really liked this one. Quite an addictive gameplay mechanic.

sputnik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Nice use of the theme.

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Awesome idea, I really like the presentation of it and the concept as a whole. Nicely done.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:29am

Very original take on the theme, cool and innovative! However it cannot be played correctly on a trackpad, had to play on my desktop to rate it correctly. Simple and fun, good job!

igoramendola says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58am

Ohh, very cool! This is one of the best concepts based on the theme that I've played. It has a good gameplay and it's kind of addictive haha. I've enjoyed it and my best is 1016, so far.
Also, it's funny to see that we worked with almost the same tools: Flash to draw and code (quick'n dirty!) and as3sfxr to sounds. This time I didn't use Photoshop because of time (I'm kind of slow doing pixelart and I used only vectors).
:D

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50am

Great game! my brain was a bit confused trying to shoot accurately and not falling! haha nice experience

Lolwned says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59am

Very cool idea ! Great execution too. Nice work.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Excellent idea, simple yet unique. Perfect use of the theme. Good job

kraln says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Really, really fun. A little unbalanced (those blue guys are evil).

BubbleChien says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Clever concept!

It's really enjoyable to try to maintain a balance by keeping some enemies alive.

shanageek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Nice use of the theme! We actually thought about doing something similar but with split-screen and multiplayer...and somehow ended up doing something completely different.

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:32pm

My highscore: 248. A interesting game, innovative and very fun!

LMT says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Really awesome game. Great innovation and actually really fun to play.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Really neat concept! I Included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/81u-vDEfxwU

Logun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:50pm

My fav entry from there, exploiting nicely the theme and i like that. + cool gameplay + different ennemies coming in a good timing its a not so far from perfect LD game.

rantt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Really cool concept. Gets pretty tense when you start running out of room. I enjoyed it, great job :)

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Really innovative and fun game!

To answer the question you gave on my game, I composed the music in LMMS along with the Nintendo VST plugin. :)

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Very clever take on the theme! Score: 424. This would make a great mobile game.

Rushout Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:24am

Really cool concept and fits the theme nicely, was really fun to play too. The only issue I had is that I had to click too many times and that's tiring, if i could just hold the mouse button or have some other way of shooting it would be great!

estuardolh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:18am

my score: 66, haha
theme: six stars! :D

Frump says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:49am

This was really unique and fun! I think it might be even more fun to have to shoot the enemies on the edge with bullets instead of clicks. Great job. My high score was 360.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:15am

1592 Points! That was getting pretty intense. Great take on the theme! Very solid game.

Probably a good thing that freezing doesn't prevent you from shooting, otherwise this would be even harder than it already is.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:50am

Hi there. Nice idea, far too difficult I thought, managed to clear them until about 10 turned up at once, couple of Greenies then bazam... Like the sounds.

drludos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Thanks to all for your comments and feedback!

@mrexcessive: In fact, a good strategy to make a high score isn't to shoot them all, you should try to maintain some kind of balance between the number/power of scrollers on each edge when you shoot them down, so your screen doesn't get "eaten" right away :)

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Yes! Cool new gameplay and yet very easy to learn! Great job!

ibilon says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Nice concept, congratulations :)

Shackhal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Nice concept idea, easy to learn and difficult to master. Also, simple graphics works better than expected.

Overall, I like it :)

PD: By the way, my game already have a jump button since the beginning. It's the "X" button xD

ceosol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:17pm

This is a really neat idea. The take on the theme is impressive. It literally is the screen being the main object in the game. I felt that the controls were very slow, having to be right on top of the guys to shoot and needing to move your mouse all the way to the other side to shoot that group, while 10 more guys just landed.

Just an idea, maybe have a direction control for the lasers, off of the x,y of the mouse compared to x,y of dude. The dude would then shoot in that direction when you click (or press space). This would give the player the ability to quickly change attack directions without needing to move the mouse much. It would also be cool in post-comp to have special multi-hits that activate every 5 seconds or ever 10 kills or something.

Dans17 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:51am

Best take on the theme I've seen so far.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:00pm

The concept is so clever in itself. I love the game, really fun to play ! =]

Stending says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Cool game, great progression and difficulty!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Great idea! Very innovative and fun!
Plays really nice.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Really innovative game. It has more depth to it than seems at first glance. It's just strange, that you move with the screen, when you are frozen, but don't move with the screen otherwise. This makes it even beneficial to get frozen, because then you don't have to worry about moving around.

My best was 1370

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:31am

One of the best uses of the theme I've seen so far. Had quite a bit of fun playing this one, really challenging. My highest score was 172 so nowhere near your top score.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:26am

Really innovative take on the theme one of my favorites, and much fun to boot! Graphics and audio are simple but effective, really solid entry!

OddballDave says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Great use of the theme, and enjoyable too. Good stuff.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:18pm

This is a really cool idea. Having a system where enemies can actually be helpful in certain situations is really neat and results in some interesting strategic decisions. This was fun!

Javabot says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:08am

gotta love the game play. Graphics not so much.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:31am

Brilliant concept. It's very cool how you tied "enemies" and victory/defeat conditions: enemies' role is to disturb you, sure, but on the other hand, you have to use them to keep the screen centered and that implies not killing them... "Using" instead of "killing" enemies is a pretty clever concept, especially well implemented here. 5/5 innovation. Regarding gameplay I would maybe suggest to switch from "click" to "rollover" function to kill enemies, I think that might be smoother and more intuitive to play. Plus, the core-gameplay is more about managing screen position than actually aiming and shooting. And even if it gets to simple my way, you might still add a few obstacles to force players moving inside the screen... Anyway! Just some thoughts cause I liked your game. You just got a bunch of stars!

phaze112 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:34am

Nice use of the theme. Didn't realize what they were doing until half of the screen was gone.

Aisland says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:58am

quick click game , i like it

stray says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:07am

It was really nice :D good job

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:09pm

A very clever use of the theme. A totally addictive arcade game, congratulations :D !

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:56am

I really liked this. There were a lot of creative enemies to fight with that often changed the dynamics of the game. Is it possible to be killed by all those blue shots, by the way? I can't seem to survive them.

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Pretty interesting, there really wasn't much to it, but it was a nice idea, I haven't seen it done before. Neat interpretation of the theme.
Possible improvements include music, some different mechanics other than "scrolling faster" and perhaps some change in pacing. Also, perhaps a goal like "survive for 10 seconds and you unlock a new level with some new mechanics" "survive for a minute in this one and you unlock another", etc.

Tifu says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:29am

Clever idea! Really challenging.

aeveis says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:09am

i got 233. Very cool, I think the ramp up is a bit fast but I liked the mechanics. I was thinking if I could get an even amount of things pushing the screen to cancel each other out, but it got too hectic for me to manage haha. very cool idea!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Interesting view of the theme. Thanks!

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:22pm

I like it, it was fun and I like how you made the theme as the mechanic instead of a limitation. I got 710 points.

Backterria says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Simple and fun!great job!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Very innovative and fun game. Nice graphics, pretty polished, lovely sound.
You actually implemented the theme in a good way, unlike many other games.
Good work!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:57pm

This idea is so cool. It feels like one of those ideas that should have been a popular arcade game in the 80s but somehow no-one thought of it. Nice use of the theme as well. Not a fan of the graphics unfortunately, but the concept more than makes up for it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]