Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Microphyla

by 7Soul - Jam Entry

Controls:
WASD: Move
J: Jump
K: Shoot
L: Fire Missile
NM: Toggle sound or music volume

- Added a 2x zoom version for people with big monitors and bad eyesight

Tools used:
- Construct 2
- Photoshop
- Bosca Ceoil (music)
- Bfxr (sound)

---

@7SoulDesign

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Overall(Jam)4.08
#36Fun(Jam)3.94
#98Theme(Jam)4.07
#140Graphics(Jam)4.07
#147Mood(Jam)3.62
#271Audio(Jam)3.28
#563Innovation(Jam)2.94
#1605Coolness44%

Comments

Tuba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41am

Woah, that's pretty awesome! :o

SimonLarsen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48am

super fleshed out, i know how hard it is to make a metroidvania in such a short short time, having bosses and all makes this even more impressive! Also the graphics are very well defined considering the size of the sprites and tiles.

Only fault i can find is that the controls, to me, feel sort of floaty.

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08am

Very cool, though i get stuck at the beginning, still love the concept of it all. Sooo so tiny.

MAVW says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:09am

nice difficulty for a metroidvania and a good level design

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:53am

Really liked the game. So much inspiration from metroid :D. Boss fights were fun and interesting. The only think I didn't like was how small everything is. I understand it is the theme but I really wish the game had just scrolled and been view-able.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

Interesting style and fun to play! Its hard to believe that there is so much you can actually fit into a single screen. Well done.

I beat the second boss (chainsaw wheel) and didnt know where to go next. There is one block missing on the ground, I went inside but it doesn't seem to lead anywhere. This is where I got stuck http://i.imgur.com/toGCSFA.png

Iyashikei says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08am

This was an idea i had and dismissed as unworkable so i'm doubly impressed you pulled it off so well.
Having the metroid trope of bosses using the item they hold against you is great attention to detail, as is the very metroid-y colour palette. good stuff

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:09pm

This is FANTASTIC. Easily the best game I have played so far and I've played 120+ games. Controls are super tight, mechanics are solid, graphics and sound are great.

Awesome job.

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:25pm

One of the few LD platformers I put the effort into completing, simply because the gameplay was so good. Nice steady introduction of mechanics and description of how they work, with the exception of the speed boots that took me a while to work out. The hole you make in the ground to get out of the second boss room also looks like a bug, so that needs to change graphicly so that it looks intentional (which I assume it is?). Overall fantastic, really enjoyed this one.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:05am

Amazing Game! I think it may of inspired me to make my next game based on the idea! Great job! Audio. Graphics and Gameplay is great! Solid Effort, Awesome entry

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:10am

Solid Metroidvania, clever use of space to fit the whole game into one screen, and it's pretty to boot. Nice!

sorlok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:23am

Wow, I don't know how to say it, except "I enjoyed everything about this game". Felt like MegaMan meets Metroid. Loved the lighting clues. One of the few game setups that I felt really benefited from being on one screen.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:59am

I like the exploration games. And this is good one.
Only issue for is that EVERYTHING too SMALL =(
I beat wheel boss and got time bombs. And I was trapped in that room. Can't understand how escape it.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:25am

I like it. The visuals are very good, gameplay is fun, the boss room is a cool touch. Very metroid-esque, and thats good! The major problem I had was the game window was so small it made it a challenge to play.

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:31am

Ugh, I accidentally reached the game end before collecting all items, so I had to play it all over again. :P

The Metroid influence is delightful. Metroidvanias are my favorite, so I might be biased. I loved it. Great art, great level design. It might be too easy, the enemies are very straightforward and don't pose much of a threat, and I finished the game without even using the missiles.

Only real problem I found is that you can't jump when standing near the breaking blocks, which makes getting a certain missile upgrade (the one to the right, under the red blocks) a very frustrating task.

Fantastic job! Congrats! =D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:55am

I'm particularly partial to C2 entries, and this one does not disappoint. Great style, great gameplay. Controls did feel a little laggy/floaty, would be be my only criticism. I know I'd like to see this one fleshed out more.

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:34am

One of my favorites!Very very good in every aspect

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:19am

Great game. You really nailed down the Metroid feel on just one screen!

I was also quite a fan of the speed boots!

donan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Awesome game. Loved it from the beginning till the end. One of the speed traps had jump disable and i feel thats cheating :P but the game controls and gameplay its really good. Kudos for the bosses :D

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:29am

Incredible! When the theme was announced, I was waiting for someone to make a single screen Metroid game, but this exceeded all my expectations. Great level layout, solid controls, nice graphics. I had to play the entire game through to the end, and I loved all of it.

colludium says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:37am

That was extremely well put together!

Harrs says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:16am

Very fun, ran into a bug where the wheel boss in the lower right didn't start his sequence after I died, but I didn't mind replaying up to that point anyway. For 48 hours of work this is incredible, feels great and has a good deal of content. Good stuff!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:42pm

awww... it ended the game before i was done. i wanted to explore more.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:59pm

A fellow Construct 2 dev. Good game.

anissen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Super impressed with the amount to content and polish in this game. I haven't played Metroidvania so I had some trouble figuring out what I was supposed to do. Well done!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:40am

Awesome and neat. A really good entry ++

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:24am

Awfully polished for a 72-hour Metroidvania. Excellent work! The tiny graphics let your eyes roam around the world without needing a mini-map, which I think really improves the process of exploration and picking a path.

I'd love to see a full game that plays with this idea, maybe with a series of worlds or missions each taking up a screen like this, full of small boss fights and lock-and-key powerups. Maybe even procedurally generated worlds ala Spelunky? I'd buy the heck out of that!

paperweight says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:37am

Nice.

Carduus says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:28am

Nice game!
You should bind A and W for those with azerty keyboards :)
I got stuck too at the begining in a room i could'nt escape.
Nice entry anyway!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Wow, almost brought a tear to my eyes with the metroid feelings! Excellent game, really impressive achievement you got yourself, even if done by more than one person. Only thing i'd complain is having to use WASD instead of arrow keys (since there is no mouse, i don't see why not stick to the classic desktop platformer controls).

Congratulations, awesome job!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I'm only a competitive player when it comes to fast paced FPS, so this was rather frustrating ._.
Nice art, tho.

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:10am

Quite an impressive amount of content for such a short time. I feel it would have been a better game without the whole "entire game in once screen" deal, but still great stuff nonetheless. Was hoping for a final boss that used the missiles and infinite jump though :(

zatyka says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:19am

Another nice entry from 7Soul. Nice level design and difficulty progression, though it took me forever to get out of the lower right room after beating the boss (my own fault).

The retro visuals were quite pleasing. Them, combined with the lighting effects and audio, created a nice feel to the game. I especially liked the boss fights, and was bummed that there wasn't a final boss fight at the end.

Definitely one of my favorites so far.

Pixel-boy says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Wow, I've never envisaged that it was possible to create a metroidvania in such a short time :D It's awesome, nice work !

Krisjet says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Pretty cool, I like how you unlock the level using your gun like that. Felt like the mechanics could be a bit snappier, the boss was pretty frustrating, I felt like your jump was pretty slow which made it more difficult to dodge stuff.

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:56pm

nice and weird mood/music. great take on the theme.

erik says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:22am

I enjoyed this. It's very metroid. I was sad that I didn't get to fight anything with all those missiles after fighting the two earlier bosses.

broknecho says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:05am

Amazing work. That was hella fun.

01101101 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Controls are a bit frustrating, but overall it's pretty enjoyable. I liked the graphics (yes it's small but that didn't bother me that much). Music is a bit repetitive. Nice work anyway, lots of rooms to explore and even boss fights, pretty cool...

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Wow, nice game. Progression was very good and there were parts that I didn't get the first time I played. Finished it the second time.

Knighty says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 9:57am

Fun game with nice and clear graphics, you even managed to fit 2 bosses in.
It seems you can fall through blocks if your vertical speed gets too high? It happened to me a few times in the middle-rightmost room.
The missiles seemed like they would be useful on bosses, but they were all already dead by the time I got my first missile.

LMT says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:06pm

I really liked the lighting and the overall mechanic from that.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]