Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Platform 31

by Rodaja - Jam Entry

Platform 31 is a two player competitive game about robots shooting one another at a train station. The trains pass by, sometimes dropping their cargo of powerful weaponry.

It features cool robots, multiple weapons, procedurally generated covers, epic music, amazing sound effects, a freigh train and robots shooting one another!


All assets made during the 72h of the Jam.

Download for you OS and fullscreen are encouraged. Controllers are supported.

It's our first time building for Linux and OS/X and can't be sure it works. Please give us feedback on that, we will try to solve any problem with it.


EDIT: we presented this game at a games festival and won people's choice award. Read our post about it here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/16/platform-31-won-an-award/

EDIT 2: Many people complain about not having a number of rounds, or it being too mood-breaking having to click on Play everytime they die.

Included but not announced is the feature:
*** If you die, press spacebar for revenge. ***
-----------------------------------------------

Platform 31 es un juego competitivo para dos jugadores sobre robots que se disparan uno a otro en una estación de tren. Los trenes pasan de largo, dejando a veces a su paso su cargamento de poderosas armas.

Tiene robots chulos, múltiples armas, coberturas generadas procedimentalmente, música épica, unos efectos de sonido geniales, un tren de cargamento y ¡robots que se pegan tiros!

Todos los assets se han creado durante las 72 horas de la Jam.

Recomendamos descargar la versión de tu Sistema Operativo y jugar en pantalla completa. Pueden utilizarse mandos.

Es la primera vez que exportamos para Linux y OS/X, no podemos asegurar que funcione. Por favor coméntanos cualquier error de compatibilidad y trataremos de solucionarlo.

EDIT: Presentamos este juego en el festival Granada Gaming y ganamos el Premio del Público. Lee el post aquí http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/16/platform-31-won-an-award/

EDIT 2: Mucha gente está quejándose de que falta una cuenta de los rounds, y que rompe el ritmo de juego. No lo pone en ningún sitio pero está incluído en el juego que:

*** Si mueres, pulsa espacio para pedir la revancha ***

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#37Graphics(Jam)4.49
#46Audio(Jam)3.97
#50Fun(Jam)3.87
#63Overall(Jam)3.91
#75Mood(Jam)3.80
#303Theme(Jam)3.76
#358Innovation(Jam)3.26

Comments

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23am

Very polished graphics and sound effects. Solid controls for a variety of game modes. Good job!

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23am

Had fun with this one. Colors are pretty and power-ups felt just right. I like the shotgun a lot.

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49pm

This looks stunning good job! =)

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49pm

This game is very pretty and polished.
Good job! :D

monsieurvinou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Really cool game!
I played with my roomate for a solid 20 minutes and we had fun!
I really loved the graphics, it's very polished.
Good job man!

stvr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Solid local co-op game with great sound and graphics. Nice!

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Whoa, so polished! Screenshake! Change language?! Never seen that much attention to the small things in an LD game before!

Game itself: Solid approach to local mp, decent balance between mechanics, power ups, environments. Good job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51pm

I really like how the game looks and feels. Wish there was a CPU to play against though.. :p

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Very nice gameplay and A/V. To bad on shot kills the opponend. Some health bar would be nice

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Great game, very good graphics. Great work!!!

maxyan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Wonderful visual and acousic expirience. Great work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30pm

wow ... amazing O_O
i love the train idea.
and the graphics ... really awesome.

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Very polished game indeed, great job I really enjoyed it...

huggabugga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Wow! I can totally see this in the OUYA store! I wish there were a com player, too. Great job!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:13pm

The game is fun but we miss some features of competitive games like a victories counter and a three rounds match, because we feel the game ends really fast.
The graphics are cool and the lighting looks really great.
Good job!

flwns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:22pm

This is real noice!

Ellian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Amazing graphics. I wish I had someone to play with, but the level of polish on this is astounding. Grats!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:31pm

A solid entry which is fun. Polished graphics and sound effects. Well done. I like musics ++

PERECil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Very cool game. I love the graphics. To bad that one shoot kills the enemy. I'd like to have health bars for the opponents.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:40pm

La ambientación y el nivel de pulido son 5/5, ¡felicidades!. A ver si mañana puedo probarlo en el curro con más gente, porque para un solo jugador no es que ofrezca demasiado reto ;P

¡Buen trabajo!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Very cool and highly polished local-multiplayer game. The lighting is awesome and the mechanics are simple but fun.

Great job! :D

cmdr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:08am

The most polished game I've seen on here so far! Had a ton of fun playing this with my brother. I loved finding all the little details like clashing bullets and shooting between train cars. Nice work!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:02am

The style is pretty solid and the gameplay is really smooth. Maybe the frequency of the train is too high, but that's just a personal opinion. Congrats!

BobMorate says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:05am

Fantástica entrada. Si tuviese algún amigo con quien probarlo en condiciones puedo asegurar que nos garantizaría un buen rato. ¡Genial trabajo!

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Gran juego cooperativo :) Felicidades!

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:24am

Great game! Incredibly polished for such a short timeframe!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:41pm

The graphics are stunning and the gameplay is a hell of a lot of fun. Can't really say much, except that it's one of the best games I've played this LD!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:08am

Really well polished. Feels and sounds great!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Very nice visuals and sound. Sadly I had no one to play with :/ but even so I think this looks and plays really well. Good job!

Pepelumen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:12am

Great game, very polished and 100% funny! I love this kind of local multiplayer games, quick and well designed. Y enhorabuena por el premio!! :DD

Backterria says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:05am

Great clean graphics and nice animation!The train is cool idea too!

AlbertoSM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Very nice idea for this LD! Havent tried the game as multiplayer, but I see the potential!

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Great little game, congrats on the award.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Cool visuals & good audio. Nice job with the multiplayer.

lemmily says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Super awesome! Shame I can't get the full experience cause I could only rope someone to play for like a minute. Seems like a really cool game though.

bitserum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Great game, love the graphics, the powerups the train. Everything is great!
My only (little) problem with it is that on ocassion one player would get all the powerups/weapons for a while (2-3 train passes), and the other nothing.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Neat game, I am a Grumpy McNoFriends so I couldn't experience it properly, but what I tried seemed pretty awesome. Excellent presentation, very polished. The train was really cool.

Lynx says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:23am

Very polished and fun game! That spread shot is super satisfying!
The game setup reminds me of a 1 versus 1 paintball match, although I do agree that the one life this is a bit of a bummer of the mood, right when you get into it, it's over.

How about instead of a health bar, you can keep the one life thing but make games match based like tennis or something where it's best of 5 game wins

That way you don't interrupt your players "in the zone" moods by going back to the menu constantly to replay and gain their revenge!

taviandir says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:19pm

really nice game i must say!!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:00pm

"Five stars." -Brightstar and dreamlogician

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Really polished visuals and music. A simple game mechanic, although there's not much variety to the gameplay. Perhaps you could make it so that it shows who won? It's possible that both players shoot each other at precisely the same time, which causes a little confusion. The train is pretty cool. Online multiplayer could be fun for those of us who don't have any friends available :3

Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Ole! Guapísimo!! Joder, nos hemos pegado unos vicios interesantes. El juego nos ha hecho gritar y maldecir así que ORO.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Really nice local multiplayer game. Graphics are awesome :)

Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Nice graphics, and first 2 player game seen in this jam congratulation.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Really cool little multiplayer with nice sounds, music and fantastic graphics! Great job. We will share it on Twitter :)

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Super beautiful graphics! I Included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yuPvpTdD-O8

Insality says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:28pm

very sweety graphics, its look amazing!

recursor says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Great game. I played it with my daughter and we had fun. My only complaint is that you should be able to choose how many rounds to play. Having to press start again after every kill is no fun. Great graphics and sounds.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:10pm

On the topic of this last comment, since it's something so many people said, we intended to put rounds and stuff, but obviously a gamejam is a gamejam.

But you can press spacebar to start a new match, so you don't have to go back to the mouse or anything.

*** If you die, press spacebar for revenge. ***

MintArcade says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:23am

Nice local multiplayer game. Really polished and fun.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Nice game, wanna try it with a friend as soon as possible :)

I can't tell much about the gameplay as I got no one to play now, but you got nice graphics, even more with we consider it is made in Unity.
I think the sound is a little too obscure for the game mood.

Btw, thanks a lot for your feedback :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]