Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SpeedRPG

by Random Abductions - Jam Entry

Speed RPG
WEBGL (beta) VERSION IS CRAP (but pretty cool for a WebGL port) -> FOR ULTIMATE SUPER MEGA VERSION CLICK OTHER WEB LINK OR DOWNLOAD!
RPG in one screen!
The goal of the game is to survive as many rounds as possible.
Each round the difficulty will be raised and you can buy health and upgrades.
To win a round you have to fight your way through 4 different areas. Every area has its own theme: haunted forest, mystical cave, techno lab, and a boss lair.
Areas are filled with generated obstacles and enemies. There are 4 different generated enemies: the slug, the mechanized bird, the shooting skull and the laser turret. In the end the player has to fight the spider skull boss.
How many rounds can you survive?
Controls:
Movement -> WASD, arrow keys
Sword strike -> Left mouse button

Created by:
Nathan Middelham & Peter Verzijl
(Random Abductions)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#260Theme(Jam)3.82
#357Audio(Jam)3.10
#399Graphics(Jam)3.49
#472Fun(Jam)3.08
#497Innovation(Jam)3.05
#561Humor(Jam)2.48
#569Overall(Jam)3.13
#679Mood(Jam)2.80

Comments

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:55am

Cool game! I'm trying hard but I always fail at my second round! :(
Some tips to give? :D

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56am

Nice little game ^_^; Well done!

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:00pm

The sound is good, but the music looks like is not fitting the game; =/ The visuals are simple and nice but i can't read the items descriptions! Overall a nice and fun game!

tMalicet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:27pm

A bit to retro for me. Quite hard to play. But I like the idea!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Pro Tip, Run in circles around the enemies and swing that mighty sword of DOOM! Pro tip 2: Don't touch the enemies with any body part but your sword.

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:42pm

The arrow leading to the next area could be way more clear. I almost quit the game because it took me a minute wandering around to figure that out.

Cool gameplay though.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Really neat game! I love the graphics, but it is hard to see them since they are small. I know the theme was "one screen", but 3/4th of the screen space was black and not used all at once. Also the buttons in the tutorial area were mismatched :P. I loved chaos of dodging all the different attacks, especially the spider thing.

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:50pm

The music feels like just the right tempo to fit the game mechanics. Took me once or twice to get it knocked out. I couldn't go back to the purchase room from the second room, which was a bit of a bummer. Good entry!

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Awesome one-screen rpg, but i have upgrades out of screen, so i cant buy them, gj!
music and graphics is good!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:57pm

The game looks really pretty. I loved the art, music, game design, all really great. I couldn't read the descriptions for half the items on the right because it would pop up past my screen. The mechanics also feel very floaty, which isn't necessarily a bad thing but I prefer feeling like I'm in control. I also loved the intro instructions!

rzuf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Nice slasher! Took me a while to realize, that these grey thingies are actually doors. Also, items descriptions are not readable at all (mind that i'm playing on a netbook ^^)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Sorry for the inconvenience, but i noticed too late that the items description don't fit the window. Try to play in a 16:9 ratio, that should 'fix' the problem. As of the room, you can't go back, you have to do the whole loop before you can re-enter the shop, this was a design decision.

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Can't really differentiate the game sounds from the music. Can't really see item descriptions. Otherwise very playable run-around-killing-stuff.

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:40pm

I hope to see an enhanced version of this one soon :D

It's pretty hard, but I like the enemies' variety. Music is maybe out of context and few minor graphic tweaks could do a lot (but I know, staying within the theme was hard enough and you did a good job!) in terms of playability and readability (even if you put it full screen you can't properly read the items popups, as they go out of bounds) but the overall result is very appealing and funny.

Great job! :D

Kim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Nice graphics and cool music. One complaint tho, the movement feels a little off, too much sliding for my taste.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:03pm

I feel you Kim, movement is very floaty :(
@LostTrainDude, thanks that you liked the game this much! I will most probably make a new version in 2D, I think that better fits the gameplay. Let me know what you think!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Good work here. Love the style and the visuals. Text is too small to read on the objects. Tune is a bit intrusive and repetitive but overall a good entry. Nice work.

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23am

simply fun!

NuSan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Nice game ! I dont like the inertia on the hero though. Keep up the good work !

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Pretty awesome game! In the shop the text is almost unreadable on my 1024x768 screen, you might want to keep in mind the poor people next Ludum Dare :P An option to turn the music off would be cool too. The intro explanation was very good, and the game looks really slick (altough the protagonist is *really* small, but then again my screen resolution is also). I had a lot of fun playing it, but sometimes the generated rooms are very hard. Once when I entered the first room for the first time there were 2 floating monsters, two lazer guys and one other monster. Needless to say I died quite quickly :p Well done!

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:32am

Cool hardcore game!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:46am

Hi there. Like the four rooms, the appearance. Couldn't read the UI even in fullscreen, some of them were outside the screen, too small. The music was funky sounded like 80s space sim rather than RPG. Combat with boss was too tricky for me.

Rothens says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:21pm

The box for the buyables are offscreen (but maybe it's just me), and moving between rooms is a bit buggy (sometimes I had to try twice to go through), and music feels a bit off, but I like the game anyway :)

Madball says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:45pm

The idea is nice, but playing it is difficult. 3Dness of this game gets in the way. Arrow is badly recognisable, text is little, the range of your attacks is unclear. I can spend days running around stationary enemies and wondering if I deal damage or I should get closer to them. Also, coins and EXP don't always drop. Or am I supposed to complete 1/2 of the level without getting anything?

This game could've been easier. There are a lot of RPGs those are easy but enjoyable. In this game, it took me several tries to complete the first level. I like the idea and look though.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Think I'm trapped in the store? There are things to buy but nothing to fight.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]