Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Village Defender

by Wilou1428 - Compo Entry

Haven't got time to add music, sounds, turorial or more indebt content.

Because there is no tutorial these are the things you should know:
-There are three kinds of resouces Wood ( gigady :) ),Stone and Food. Wood and Stone is needed to build stuff. Food is needed to replenish AP each day.
-There is Action Points you'll need them to do stuff. Do not use all of them at once they are also needed to defend buildings : Wooden Fence, Wooden House. The amount of AP you shall recieve each day depends on number of people in village. 1 citizen = 10AP.
-There are bandits that come at night there isn't a way for you to deal with them except by defending wall's. when every single one of the enemies are dealt with. You can progress to next day.
-The goal is to survive as long as you can.
Hope you enjoy (or at least won't burn your eyes while playing) this game. Feel free comment, report bug's and suggest ideas...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#592Graphics3.03
#685Innovation2.95
#692Humor2.31
#772Mood2.68
#781Audio2.29
#900Fun2.69
#911Overall2.85
#937Theme3.26

Comments

JamesOfJames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

Interesting concept, wish the view was more akin to the above screenshot, since it doesn't seem like position matters much outside initial placement. Day 1 was a breeze with a fully upgraded village, Day 2 was utter annhiliation, not really sure why!

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10am

The enemies are not balanced well. The number grows exponentially. It depends on what day you are on, how many people there are living in your village and a random variable just for fun... The view is like that because I wanted literally (excuse me if I'm using this wrong) to put every game element on one screen. In the end it wasn't the best decision for the visuals of the game...

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:57am

The interface is a bit hard to use but I like the concept. It'd be cool if the enemies responded to the map somehow, so the position of your town and it's defenses took more of a role. I wasn't sure what was happening in the combat, what was effective or why I would lose. If you added some town management, I could see it easily being my kind of game!

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Hi there, nice game here. it took be a moment to understand how to gather ressource, but I was unable to deal with a single bandit that destroyed my complete town, even if I had lot of AP left. But it was fun :)

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:07am

The interface was not my intended design. But I went with because it worked (kind of) and I had wasted enough time on it already. In future I hope to finish this game. Probably the first thing I will do is making proper menus. The combat is just there as place holder for something more interactive and fun (waiting and hoping the for good RNG is not the fun I have imagined when designing the game). Lastly, the town management was the idea at first, but i haven't anticipated how hard it will be to do but after a the next week I should have more than enough time to do most of the things listed here and hopefully I will make more than that. Thanks for playing so far :D

jpcote says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Nice concept. The interface is hard to understand.

Strandypants says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Nice consept!

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Cool game. Definetly needs a tutorial. Also to me it seemed like if a building was damaged/destroyed seemed more like a it is either at full health the next morning or it is gone. It was a bit unclear to how the defense actually helps or not. But I liked the graphics style. Simple but very good fit to the mood.

Wusakko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:15pm

I would really like to play version that has tutorial :)

harley77 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Nice! With some work on balance I think you have something special here.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:24pm

The interface was the most frustrating part of it. I like the concept. I got about 8000 points after three nights, and had everything defended to the max (5/5 walls and 3/3 houses), but they still wiped almost everything out.

ljdp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Interesting concept. This is one of those games that takes lots of playtesting and time to balance so you've actually done alright for a jam. With a redesigned UI and proper balancin you've got a game with legs here.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Didn't quite get it, but the art is nice.

gene-z says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Nice game, congratulations, keep the development of this game

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:36pm

so, i got to 8990 score. and if i keep building and destroying houses and rebuilding, i can have above 500 AP in day 3 only. they never decrease. but other than that, great game!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Cool light effects. Has the game sound?
Select other tile without closing menu where cool.

Well made!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Interseting...

istlemin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:12pm

I think the graphics are really nice, and it's a nice concept, but i think it's too simple. You should maybe add some different things you can build.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:54am

Really cool idea. Wish there were more features but overall great game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]