Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Slidey Box

by Arkrothe - Compo Entry

A super hexagon/flappy bird inspired 3D endless runner. Because my other idea blew up and I'd been missing the last few LDs so wanted to just make something in this one.

The theme here is that the game takes place on a single large rectangular board/screen that you can rotate around with Left/Right/A/D keys. Also, you're playing the Entire Game on One (computer) Screen :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#325Fun3.34
#408Innovation3.32
#529Overall3.22
#777Mood2.67
#892Graphics2.57
#1111Theme2.85

Comments

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59am

I am confused and delighted

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Frustrating when you die which is good! I like the idea and i would like to try a version with a little less tilting on the plane when you use left and right arrows keys.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I could not achieve more than 4. Using camera position to represent cube side velocty instead would help to find a stable position more easily

panda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Love it! This is fun, and having the text where you have it gives the game a certain style! Thanks for including the lines, they help! I still suck, though :)
I didn't hear any sound or music, too bad.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:53pm

This game is evil in a good way. Would be perfect for mobile platform tilting controls.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:06pm

@Benjamin and @ProfessorRekyl: After play testing so much, I was finding it a little too easy and so bumped difficulty across the game in the last few hours of the compo :P

@Panda: I'm not very good with instruments or those procedural sound making tools to come up with anything decent :|. Will probably add some up in a post compo version.

yongcamu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:21pm

You evil bro. I find it fun to play it by holding down the keys but that normally yields me not more than a score of 2, lol. Quick tapping seems to be the wiser way to play but #YOLO, hold down the keys all the way! Hard but fun!

duon44 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Pretty hard but I guess that's on purpose, nicely done! :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:18pm

The idea is really interesting. Really hard but so much fun!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Wow, this is hard! I like it! Could use a little more color :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Fun little game, challenging and addictive. I like the extra touch of having the score text mapped to 3d surfaces.

local minimum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42pm

It was a really hard game. It is however OK that it is. I would put it in the fold of flappy bird-likes, if there is such a type of games. They should be hard, and have controls that are all but easy to handle. Maybe you should try and port it to phone and use the gyro as control...

I got to 5, and I'm going to be happy with that.

I liked that thorough simple esthetics's.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:19am

Quite a quirky game! gameplay is good swell as the camera angle! i'd really love to see this for mobiles using the accelerometer! Awesome entry!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:24am

Interesting little game! Definitely frustrating in places, but it sounds like that's what you were going for. I liked the nature of tilting the level to move, it definitely made it feel like something that could be a physical toy (apart from the infinite part).

A possible change I'd suggest though would be to highlight the breaks in the fences in some way. As it is, sometimes it's hard to quickly figure out where you need to go.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:02am

God, this is hard !! But it makes you want to try again, and again, and again... Very nice presentation. I would have loved a bit of audio on this !

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:33am

Hi there. Nice idea, found camera angle tricky, definitely needed those guiding lines. Even so the difficulty of losing speed made it very tricky, got through 4 holes max. Shame no sounds.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:50pm

@RockhopperGames: I did want to show arrows or stuff for that, but forgot about it after spending over 3 hours dealing with some silly physics bugs :P

And yeah I really need to learn how to use them music generation tools. Hopefully i'll get some time to add some cool tunes in a later version.

friken says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:53pm

nice concept but difficult to control.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Not bad. It lags a lot for the least, and is hard to figure out where the box is going to pass through on the corners.
Liked how you made a big gap between walls if the spaced were on opposite corners though! Really cool none-the less! :D

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:38pm

This game is pretty cool, my tiny brain can't handle the movements though.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Very nice gameplay but hard as hell ;-)

Well done!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Cool. It's difficult, but fun.

Raxsus says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:08am

Pretty difficult, but I played around five times anyway.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Man this is so hard! I think the sensitivity was too slow at slow speeds and too high at high speeds.

Wilson says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Tough but quite fun. I felt like I was getting better each time, but it also depended quite a bit on how far apart the gaps were.

Riocide says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Well done! Great concept...would have loved this with some music and maybe an easier start but really great fun!

matpg says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:41am

Really a challenge to get started, but when you do get a hold of the controlls it is great fun.

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:45am

Really nice little game! As said often times before, i could imagine this on mobile devices using the accelerometer as input could be hilarious! Put some sound into it and give it a go!

Backterria says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:20am

very innovative and fun!with some music it will be great!

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:24am

Neat idea - kinda difficult though!

Would have loved to see a high score :)

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:42pm

I like this arcade, it was hard but I scored 7 points =)
Very nice controls mechanics and main rule, I think, Dont Panic!=)
Keep Calm and move the block.

gre says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Nice concept.
The camera rotation and slippy ground make the controls pretty hard.
maybe it is only me but I find it much too hard to stabilise the cube on edges.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:13am

This would make a great mobile game, and I love the hardmode. Way to go mate!

Ossi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Started a bit slow but eventually got faster which I liked a lot. Really simple and well done concept, and I like the simple colors of the cube and walls. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]