Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Beardo

by SUGBOERIE - Jam Entry

Beardo is an epic insta-death battler with zip-lining action! Use your masterful beard to destroy possessed forest creatures and rescue the innocent bunnies.

Save as many rabbits as you can to achieve high-scores in this fast paced action game. Save the forest, save the creatures, save your home! Beardo!

Programming : Cukia Kimani
Art : Matt Mcfarlane
Music / Sfx : Jason Sutherland

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#292Humor(Jam)3.00
#300Graphics(Jam)3.68
#364Audio(Jam)3.08
#832Theme(Jam)3.12
#867Mood(Jam)2.45
#941Innovation(Jam)2.17
#985Fun(Jam)2.13
#987Overall(Jam)2.38
#1934Coolness32%

Comments

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:22am

I had to fullscreen to play. The distance in which I could actually do anything felt off, was not as fluid as I had hoped, but who doesn't love beards?

mattjet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:55am

Unfortunately those glitches were not able to get sorted by the deadline, but we do plan to finish it as soon as possible! Thanks for playing! :)

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:15am

Unfortunately it seemed a bit glitchy as I couldn't actually grapple to anything or right click (just brings up the Unity right click options in a web browser)

That being said, the graphic design is amazing!

max_peabody says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Seemed like it could be interesting, but like Lynx said, every time I right-clicked it brought up the Unity options menu, meaning the game was basically unplayable.

Shampop says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:07pm

The instructions at the start disapears really fast, i had to refresh the page a few times to knows the controls :/
it's pretty annoying to play with wasd in a AZERTY keyboad, with not enough time to change the keyboard type :/
And each time i die the game crash, and chrome crash with it ._.
I'm sorry, games look fine, but i can't enjoy it like this :/

barryrowe says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I love this concept, and the artwork. The controls are little bit rough, and on the web right-clicking brings up a context menu so that gets in the way. Good job though. It's fun, funny, and looks good.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:08am

Nice graphics and sound, but a little repetitive. Anyways, the game works fine. :)

JJEvil says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Nice concept. Strange character.

anokta says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:55pm

had to go fullscreen to get rid of the right click menu. the art style and all seems real nice but i couldn't really make the gameplay work for me overall.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:08am

I awarded you a trophy. This post explains why: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/13/my-picks-for-ld31s-top-10-best-beards-manly-mustaches/

Riocide says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:14am

Nice art!

Mechamew says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:57am

Cool art, music and beard! Would love to see the concept expanded. More forest critters! More levels! More beard!

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:43am

- The instruction screen disapear after 2 seconds (I had to F5 multiple time just to know how I was supposed to play)
- The game froze my browser every time I switch tab (I write my comment as I play)
- Clicking does nothing as long as you don't play in fullscreen mode
- The game crashed everytime I died

...

I feel like all those problemes hinder gameplay and prevent me from giving it the rating it deserves. The compo version (which is the one we are supposed to play) is basically unplayable :/

dusho says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:58pm

could use some death animations and stuff
nice graphics
for web player you should disable right click context menu in web player build settings

mattjet says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:14am

Thanks so much for playing everyone, despite the difficulties!
We really appreciate all feedback and have put a post-compo version for anyone interested in trying a working version, however there's still a bunch we'd like to have done but just didn't have the time..

@Lynx Thanks for the kind words! :)

@JJEvil Thanks so much for not only including Beardo on your list but for choosing us as the winner! :) We were so stoked to top that list, it's a pretty great achievement in itself.

@dusho We did have the animations but no time to put them in.. :( Thanks for the feedback though!

To everyone else with constructive criticism thanks so much, we're gonna work crazy hard to blow your minds next year! First LD down and great fun was had!

joe40001 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:44am

Nice graphics, fairly buggy though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]