Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Commando Finest Hour

by Meta-link - Compo Entry

Here is my entry for my second Ludum Dare. After a good night of sleep, I can explain a little !

First of all, controls :
- M to stop music
- Use arrow keys to move
- Mouse to aim
- Left clic to shoot
- Right clic to close dialog
- Escape to quit

Seeing the theme (Entire Game on One Screen), a few ideas come to me, but I decided to keep the one that involve one place and buildings you can visit. The main feature was the top down view hidding the interior of the buildings while you are not inside. The gameplay was suppose to be simple : fighting against ennemies and complete different objectives on the whole map until you can fight the boss and escape this place.

But jams are jams, and it ended up looking a lot like Hotline Miami in a high-school with buildings and zombies !
For the graphic style, I wanted to change from pixel-art and try something more "vector", and I'm happy with the result, even if it looked better in high resolution. I especially love the dialogs with my "HQ-Girl" ! And the music was done in 10 minutes right before the submission hour, I'm not musician, so I guess it's ok.

In conclusion, even if I planned too much things for a 48h game jam (as usual !), I think my little game is cool and I'm happy with this result !

Now, list of things time !

Inspirations :
- Hotline Miami (yup)
- Metal Gear Solid 3
- Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt
- Mercenary King

Important things that are not in the game :
- Final boss
- Cool ending with chopper
- Characters legs

Things that would have been better with more time :
- Ennemy AI
- Second type of zombies (I wanted a cheerleader !)
- Better sound and music

Tools I used :
- GameMaker
- Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop
- SFXR
- Bosca Ceoil

So I hope you'll enjoy plaing the game as much as I making it, and see you at next LD for still better games !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#433Humor2.67
#545Graphics3.11
#585Audio2.65
#784Fun2.85
#799Overall2.96
#930Innovation2.54
#996Theme3.15
#1003Mood2.33
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:51am

Finished it :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16pm

My 5stars for the Theme :)
Would love to see the chopper, but anyway, the game works and the little scenario make it deeper.

Zombies are a pain in the a$$ (work as intended, I'm sure !), so it's even more awesome to kill them all !

Great job, mate.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Yet another top down shooter.

Cool graphics though.

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Lovely graphics and the gameplay is smooth, I had trouble fitting it all on screen though :/

Valon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Fun game. Good job!

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:12am

Fun little game. Was a little confusing that what looks like a pickup cannot be picked up yet once you've progressed to the right point in the "story", suddenly it can be picked up. Same for doors. Nice job with the character graphics.

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56am

Nice game!

Bernhard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Nicely done short story.
The music played twice on my second try which was kind of awesome, haha.
Would have loved to see the cool chopper ending as well :-)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice top down shooter, even if I secretly dreamed you could improve you last game's group of character control in a new one :) (don't trash that one !)
Maybe it could have been more exploration oriented..

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:57am

Ahhh zombie footballers spawning right behind me! Apart from that, it was a fun little game. Have no idea what you are going for with the theme, but the craziness made it more enjoyable :)

I'd have loved to actually shoot the gun though, instead of it acting like a melee weapon. Those footballers hurt!

01rafael says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Lovely game. I'll be waiting for continuation

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:05am

The enemies could use a bit of work. They kind of stand in place a lot. Not sure if that was intended or just a pathfinding issue. Also, I was surprised how short range the weapon was! Finally, sometimes you have to rotate the player at weird angles to get through doorways, which is annoying.

HOWEVER, I did enjoy the game, and with some polishing it could be pretty cool. I liked how you couldn't see enemies until entering the buildings! Nice entry!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:22pm

nice idea

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]