Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Run Bzzt, Run !

by Agram - Jam Entry

Robot "Bzzt" is lost on a near-death planet. It must gather all the energy tanks on each room of its ship to take off.
Bzzt know how to run, jump and stick on wall !
But the emergency system is against him and try to kill him with flames and lasers, and make the rooms explodes a few seconds after Bzzt enter them.
Help him gathering all the tanks !

Controls :
Arrows or
z,q,s,d or
a,w,s,d
Enter to commit suicide
p to pause

--- FIX UPDATE ---
Because of OpenGL, the game was very slow on Chrome. It is fixed ! You can play in IE, Firefox and chrome without problems.
Nothing was changed in the gamedesign !
--- END ---

Good Luck !

Made by Agram, Grelin, Kuru, Shakkam

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#38Fun(Jam)3.93
#38Audio(Jam)4.02
#49Overall(Jam)3.96
#79Graphics(Jam)4.29
#165Mood(Jam)3.58
#235Humor(Jam)3.17
#285Theme(Jam)3.78
#504Innovation(Jam)3.04

Comments

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02am

isn't finished? I can't stop explode!

borgi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02am

Nice graphics dude! Contorls were a bot laggy/sloppy on my PC, but I liked the idea!

Kuupu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:03am

AMAZING game, really good looking, nice controls, all the feedback are there, it's such a shame you didn't added a joystick support D=

and WHERE is the ratings?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:05am

Interesting use of theme. Cute visuals and fun, modular gameplay. I like it!

jrap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:05am

This is really pretty and like, super satisfying to play.

mechabit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:35am

really nice platformer. also damn those trap floors!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:35am

It looks great and fun, but the game was very laggy for me

Agram says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:37am

I saw the game lag on computers for no reasons ... try closed your explorer and retry ...

foolmoron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39am

Audio is amazing. Really great pixel art too. Controls were alright, walls were way too sticky. Overall great!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40am

Nice game, but after a few tries of the level with flames in the floor I kept crashing through the floor in an infinite death loop.
It looks really good, wish I could get past that point.

Valandre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:34am

controls and Level design are very goods. very fun to play

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:14pm

I really like how you opened a new window for each section of the map. Really creative idea

wilbefast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Unplayable slow on Chrome I'm afraid :/ But it looks and sounds great, I'll try again on Firefox when I get home :)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:25pm

fun game!! Nice job!

I wish I could jump using space key :(

KickBack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Awesome.

Great controls, the music was very catchy, effective graphics.

I am not crazy about the take on the theme, but whatever.

I was determined to finish it, but this level broke me : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/352261002/ld31.png

Overall though, pretty great!

KickBack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Hmm... I can't seem to be able to rate it though. The ratings don't show up on the page...

Sublustris says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:18am

Love the style!. Controls are a bit inertial, but mood and lvl design are perfect!

qristofer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:52am

One of the best! Such an incredible level of polish! The music is great! Excellent control and platforming. I'm not 100% with the wall jumping, but I never am in any game. Grrreeeat! :')

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:00am

5/5
Loved be back here!
That cool game, good music, very good challenges!
I loved the character too!
The only thing I would rethink are the controls, only the arrows is difficult for the type of puzzel you created (jumpwall)
Congratulations!

Rnd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:24am

cool game.. good job..

ncannasse says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Solid entry, it's quite fun to play, has a huge potential for ragequit.

What I would have like is more different mecanisms for getting killed (there's only lasers as far as I went), and a sound effect when you are low time and die from timer (sometimes feels like a bug).

Shampop says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Nice to play :D
Good level design, is there an end ?
I like the audio too

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Awesome art! Having all the levels in the background was a neat way of using the theme. Very cool. :)

peterthehe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Good job!

DevFrank says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Very Good. I really like the game design.

Carduus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Nice game bros!
I really like the controls, wich is often bad in plateformers especially with jump tricks. The wall jump system is very easy to learn and hard to master with the time limit.

My only wish is that you to change the time limit in exhange of
a chonometer in order to make the shortest time possible, it is a more positive way to put time pressure in a game in my opinion,it let the player put his own difficulty (cf Dustforce),Put best score online and go viral! this game deserves it! GG again stars everywere :)

deepnight says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I really loved the art & the music :)
The controls are a bit strange: the way you wall-jump and how much you stick to the walls.

Nice use of the theme too :)

Sundry says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:51am

good job men's i like it :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:41am

Nice game!
The control of the robot is smooth but the timer is too frustrating. I'd prefer a time attack reward instead.

RadStar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:46am

some problems of level design (some blocks seem to be physical blocks whereas they're not, and vice versa), but really nice game ! cool graphics, cool sounds, pretty dynamic. I like it !

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:41am

Really nice gameplay. Also, I like the approach to the theme! Good work!

Knighty says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Very fun, although the game ran a bit slow for me.
I didn't like how you would get stuck to the walls while sliding down them, and had to jump to get off.
The music is awesome.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Really well done. Satisfying game play. Good job!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:52am

Ha!!!Perfect!!!! Very good controls and gameplay, perfect eyecandy old school graphics, and theme is exploited at best. perfectperfectperfect.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:56am

This game was a lot of fun, nice music, pixel art and sound effects. The only real complaints I had was the hitboxes, the game would often register a death when it looked like the player should be fine. Also this works perfectly fine on Safari on my computer, so I think you can add that to the list of working browsers!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Clever entry with some of the best graphics I've seen. Liked the way each level was a part of the whole and that it was really quick plays. Great entry.

sputnik says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Nice graphics! Control are sometime kinda hard.

Shimone says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:57am

Amazing entry! I loved the graphics and the music. One of my favorite games so far.

Backterria says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Excellent!Great use of theme!love the style,love the music.Great challenge also!Keep up guys!

Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Well done! Could be a little faster, the movement feels very slow, but other than that this is a really enjoyable game. Also, funny way of working with the theme.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:00am

like the game - controls were slight frustrating - gonna play again - nice job

Erkberg says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Nice take on the theme, very enjoyable graphics and audio and I also liked the gameplay / controls. Those damn traps got me like everytime. Great job overall!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Really nice and polished game! However, the "ghost blocks" are the worst, not because they're hard to spot, but because they're impossible to spot. If you could see on the sprite that they are not solid then it's the players fault for not being alert, now it's just the game playing tricks on you. When the game feels so finished as it does then this really bugs me. Amazing work otherwise!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]