Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Life Goes On

by sprawl - Compo Entry

Had little less time for this LD compared to last ones. I went for a very abstract concept and managed to finish in time. (except for sounds :( ).

The game last about 2 minutes. Hope you enjoy.

GAME : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/247009746/LUDUM%20DARE%2031/LUDUM%20DARE%2031.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#468Innovation3.24
#472Mood3.00
#841Graphics2.65
#1077Overall2.59
#1187Theme2.21

Comments

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Kind of trippy =P Reminds me a lot of games like 'Lonliness' which take a look at a more abstract concept. Cool execution.

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:04pm

I really like this concept, took me a while to understand.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Looks like controls are broken. I press all keys and mouse and nothing happen.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:07pm

First i didn't get it. It's very abstract, when the game was over I got it. Innovative, but isn't fun. It's more like a message then a game.

sprawl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:09pm

@Joppiesaus : It wasn't made to be "fun" too. :)

@wdebowicz : Are you sure ? It still works for me.

myachin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:15pm

enjoyed
its game about life and love?)
can i win in this game?

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:19pm

It's very pretty to look at, but it could do with some calm music to help with the mood.

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:32pm

So... Is this some kind of metaphor for life and meeting people and making different friends?

I couldn't discern any kind of mechanics at play, it all may be absolutely random and I wouldn't know...

Now that's kind of a sound point to make, too, though...

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:58pm

interesting concept, liked the way it just 'goes on'. in terms of gameplay, it gets somewhat repetitive though.

Pfilzweg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:25pm

To bad the sound is missing. No goal but i digg the idea of choosing paths.

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:29pm

This was interesting but I don't think I understand >.<

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:08am

Very unique concept, a bit empty and depressing without music though :/

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Very interesting concept, took me a while to understand it.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:36pm

This game was really colorful and awesome, only minor complaint, not sweet musica. that would make your game epic! :)

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Good to see alternative controls, but I'm not sure about the gameplay.

orion_black says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:08pm

I found the metaphor to be on the heavy handed side of things, but that's usually how this kind of games go.

hbocao says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Interesting concept! Too bad you couldn't include music :( Remind me of Passage by Jason Rohrer.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:16am

looks cool but i have no clue whats happening. compelling tho

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:16am

Hi there. Nice idea, made me think back to when my father died... Not in a sad way either, so kudos... Yes... indeed... Like the whole presentation. Real shame you didn't have time for music.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:11am

Your concept was interesting and I liked trying to understand the relationship between the choices given and the number of coloured characters nearby. I can't help but wish that the choices were more meaningful in some way. Maybe that frustration is the point you were trying to make.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:47pm

I feel like the choices of path were really meaningless. There was no way of knowing (or even making an educated guess about) if anything different or unique would happen depending on the route you followed.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:16am

Good :] that was weird, but i was warned so this is great !

Ossi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

It was a bit hard to understand and not much was going on based on the directions I chose. It sucks that you didn't have as much time to expand this concept, there is something interesting with the atmosphere here but like you said it's definitely abstract. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]