Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

King of the Castle

by adamwfindlay - Jam Entry

Hey everyone, this is our game; King of the Castle.

Made in about 30 odd hours for the jam. All design, art and code done by myself and all music and SFX done by my friend Sam. Everything was made from scratch by us within the time limit!

Defend your castle from Goblin invaders, put fires out and keep your flags flying high! See how high a score you can get!

Controls:

A - Move Left
D - Move Right
W - Climb Up Ladders
Space - Jump
Return - Swing Sword

Rules
- Kill as many Goblins as possible

- Game over if all 3 flags are lowered, you raise a fallen flag by standing next to it.

- Game over if there are 3 fires, put them out by swinging your sword next to them!

- Game over if you get hit by 5 arrows, try and dodge them by jumping.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#157Fun(Jam)3.55
#220Graphics(Jam)3.84
#312Overall(Jam)3.43
#338Humor(Jam)2.91
#357Audio(Jam)3.10
#388Mood(Jam)3.19
#400Theme(Jam)3.66
#484Innovation(Jam)3.06
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

dlowe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39am

Thanks for the game!

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43am

Fun game, but without a high score table, there's not much reason to play more than a few times. Graphics and audio were both good too.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59am

Woow! Nice game!

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:16am

Fun game. The meteor fire doesn't seem to hurt me, is that ok?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:10am

Very enjoyable and a fun concept. My only suggestion would be to give an indicator of if a goblin is about to shoot or can't shoot at the moment. Thanks!

Arpeggiatura says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:35am

Great controls. Fun to play!!!! I like the art style.
Thank you!!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:01am

Brilliant! Simple but very well designed mechanic/map. Platform and ladder placement made for a very active playing field, and I love the low-rez art and sounds.

Keep it up guys!

adamwfindlay says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:09am

Thanks everyone! :)

@Viking Games - yeah I would like to of been able to add a high score table!

@Rogberth - It's correct in the current build, but something that I would implement given more time.

@mutatedsoftware - thanks for the suggestion, I like it!

alfadur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Nice, a very well-rounded game! I especially like how the King flies off the ladders when going up. :)

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Very nice and cute pixel art, fun and very reliable, congratz for your this pleasant game !

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I keep dying for seemingly no reason. Other than that, it's actually nice. Meteors seem to come in pretty often.

Mase says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Needs more luscious animation... more frames.
Gameplay is fun and engaging; the difficulty seems to scale nicely as well. I got 4300.
The audio is too harsh.
Sometimes the arrows reversed direction... one bounced between the two side towers several times.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Great little game, I especially like the presentation and the mechanics. Although the hit detection on the sword could use a little work. Well done overall.

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:31pm

There was one fire where I'm not sure I could have put it out -> it was on the side of a tower, and in the heat of the battle I did not figure out how to stop it.
And I also saw returning arrows. Other than that -> awesome game. Very well done, it just works, is fun (and funny)!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:31pm

The game looks great, but the music and sound effects are a bit too loud.
And it would be great if there was some kind of feedback, why it was gameover. Took me several tries to realize I had died because of the fires, I was too busy putting those flags back up.

broknecho says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:32pm

That was a lot of fun. Well done! Some awesome mid air sword swipe kills!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Nice game and cool pixel art :)

SneManden says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Really fun! The game is quite hectic without being overwhelming or too hard. Nice graphics.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:35pm

This was good! I sometimes felt like I died out of nowhere. When the enemies hit you, and when you take damage, there is no feedback besides the hearts going down. Normally the player might flash, or be knocked back, or better yet... the screen might shake!

Anyway: very nice entry all in all!

Check this out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJdEqssNZ-U

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Very nice game, i liked the graphic and sound. It is very fun well done!
Why the enemies appear in the doors of the castle? :P
A very complet game!

Frump says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Fun entry. When the player is getting hit and losing hp isn't well communicated enough. I kept dying without realizing it.

bushmango says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Cool game! My controls got really laggy for some reason after a while. I love the art direction.

Night says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Very nice oldschool game. Good way to relax.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:56pm

This game is very cool! Nice controls and splatter effects!
Well done!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Nice game! Really fun to play, cool music, nice graphics. Top entry.

redoxkun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I like it, but the controls makes quite dificult to play

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:16pm

The high tones of the audio were annoying, imo.
Nice pixelart.

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:37am

Cool multi-goal game design! Very slick graphics, too. There were a lot of high tones in the audio - the music reached some high pitches and the jump sound was quite long. Personal taste of course but that wasn't my favorite aspect.

Very strong entry with good ideas and execution!

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Neat little game !

Shimone says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:45am

Great entry. I loved the graphics and the gameplay. Audio volume was a bit too high in my opinion.

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Fun, simple game, nice art and sound. Very well put together - good job!

Shivur says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

Fun game!

rojo says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

Really nice retro feel! Graphics and audio were pretty solid. I think the next step would be to add some purpose - high scores and the like. It might be interesting if you had to tap a series of buttons to raise flags as well, rather than just standing next to them. Good job, though!

Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Very nice entry, my only suggestion is to give some feedback when the player gets hit, and show when a goblin is about to shoot.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]