Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Madeline's Daughters

by oh_cripes - Compo Entry

You are Madeline, trapped on a desert island. You have to keep your self alive by eating fruit, going to the toilet in the open and getting *ahem* friendly with the natives.

Instructions are included in the game. There is no way to win, sort of like life, what is the point eh?

Note: The game contains depictions of sex, birth, defecation and death. There is also a small amount of bad language. It is intended for a mature audience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#58Humor3.70
#117Innovation3.89
#130Theme4.05
#208Audio3.31
#212Overall3.58
#237Fun3.46
#250Mood3.30
#345Graphics3.41

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07am

Haha! I love simple mechanick of eat-shit-f**k, but I have no idea how to jump to 3rd platform... Not enought jump power. I can only navegate at the bottom.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:12am

Best game I've played so far! Nice idea!

BluMist says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:52am

It's like the sims except way better, haha. No seriously it was fun, but I too struggled to jump high enough.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:48am

Love it. I managed to get to 3rd generation and jump up to the top, but not sure if there is any advantage in that?

igoramendola says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07am

hahaha very creative and funny! and I loved the generations concept. I reached the 3rd generation, so far. But I still need more "eat, shit and babies" xD

rabbeni says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:30am

Haha loved the game and concept :D

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:15pm

NOOOOOOOOOO! After reading the description I really wanted to play this, but it won't load :( Just stuck on "Loading".

PeerPlay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Very funny creative game. Could see this work better with more detailed art though

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Interesting idea, liked thee graphics!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Nice graphics and music! Cool concept, and it works in a really basic way.
I couldn't jump on the second platform, and I could not make babies in the second generation :(

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Nice game, the mechanics are simple, but efficient, and the execution is great. Nice graphics too.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Nice! Relaxing music and cute ideas, fun to look at and fun to play. It also has some of the most sizzingly erotic love scenes ever put on screen.

For those wondering how to get up on the platforms: Keep playing :P

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Thanks for the comments guys. For those who want a hint - babies take after their fathers. (Also there isn't anything special at the top, except more room to plant trees, sorry I ran out of time :)

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Great concept/ nice job

Zolkren says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54pm

I always like pixelated games.
Cool game.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:32pm

well done, that's life in a nutshell

Webravenz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Simple and repetitive but very nice interaction ;)

TKF15H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56pm

The first time I played it, I didn't really get it. On the second time it was more fun... and I had this growing urge to punch a giraffe.

Pete_H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Depressing in the most charming way. I died of hunger whilst having sex at the age of 74. Also Got swarmed byy giraffes.

uvwar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Took me a while to figure out what I was supposed to be doing, and I think I got it, but I could only get to generation 3, ultimately. Very cool though!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:16pm

This was done really well, loved it.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Wow, this was hard! But after generation 5, you don't need to rely on trees anymore, cause you'd be string enough to spring to other platforms, and find a mate, and also have enough hearts so even when your hunger runs out, only one life goes. I quit on generation 8.

What could have increased it though, was if trees we to grow more apples, or at least disappear to give room for other trees, when dead.

That said, the music is nice, not even annoying one bit, and I liked the graphics, and it was based on the theme! :D
I've made my game much easier, and a file for less lag, and also will make a video on how to beat it! :D

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:13pm

@danidre14 - Yeah, someone found that 'loophole' on the Monday and told me :) I was going to have hyenas which would chase you and cause you to lose lives, but they didn't make the cut. Also, if you have 3 strength you can pick up the trees and build fences to keep the giraffes out :)

Glad you liked the game!

MaesK says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Hahaha, interesting idea! Having a child at 65+ looks dangerous, but these lifeforms seem to also stay as a baby until 16 years old, so whatever :D Nice game!

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:11pm

I originally put a menopause in at 45, but there was a bug and the code doesn't stop you having a baby anymore. You (and the old women) are supposed to die at age 100 too, but the same thing went wrong.

Fnkee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:13pm

What the heck. This is so addicting. I really wanna know what happens when you get to the top! I got to Generation 3. Love the creative game mechanics. Nice music as well! Those giraffes got on my nerves though!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Wow... Don't really know what to say other than there should have been SOME warning in the description at least...

Shampop says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:00pm

I don't hunderstand everything, BUT it's really cute :3
Cute and stpuid to resume life by "Eat/Shit/Make-Babies!"; but graphisms are cute, music is cute, girafes are cute and game is globaly cute. So it's cool, i like cute things.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:12am

Hi there. Got to second generation but then died. Couldn't jump to second tree. Good job has rating warning - surely people come from storks and flowers, or is that bees. Good job pixel-land!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:46am

I played this for a while! Lovely little simulation. I had a baby and planted a bunch of trees, and waved at giraffes. What more could I want?

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:43pm

I couldn't get very far - I couldn't get past the frist level until 2nd generation, and the trees didn't seem to re-grow? Also, I was saving a last apple for when health was low, and then it just disappeared - trees die? Very hard! Fun though. Cool concept. Just wish I could have done a little more than wait for a man to arrive on the first level in Gen 1.

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:08pm

@Grindstorm - The trees don't regrow, you have to plant new ones. Apples don't dissapear, but they can be eaten by giraffes and also old women.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:12am

Nice!!!Pixel art is very nice, and as it contains a gameplay based on pooping 5/5 everywhere.You can also fuck in front of your grandmother, that may deserve a 6/5. I could not reach 4th generation because i tried to give birth in water or maybe i was just starving trying to do most stupid things possible.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]