Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Frenzy Snowman Smasher

by runvs - Jam Entry

The satanic evil snowmen are attacking. You are doomed. Your end is nigh. The only thing you can do - make it hard for them. Try to beat your local Highscore!


Controls:
Move by WASD or the arrow keys.
Point your gun towards the enemy using your mouse.
Shoot with the left mouse button.
Reload with the right mouse button.

Unfortunately the flash version tends to slow down very fast, so please consider using the native builds.

For those who like it a bit harder: http://j.mp/LD31_FSS_Web_hard

A short GIF of the game in action:
http://i.imgur.com/33eOfTg.gif

Those are the tools we used:
* Haxe/OpenFL/HaxeFlixel
* FlashDevelop as our IDE
* Google Docs for our game design document
* Teamspeak and Hangouts for communication
* Aseprite for pixel work
* Cubase 5 and SFXR for music and sounds
* git/Bitbucket for version control
* Pizza

Here's a timelapse of the game being created (from Laguna's point of view):
http://youtu.be/CEbTo_Fw5TA

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#438Audio(Jam)2.87
#505Humor(Jam)2.59
#555Fun(Jam)2.98
#606Theme(Jam)3.44
#632Mood(Jam)2.87
#671Graphics(Jam)2.90
#679Overall(Jam)3.00
#980Innovation(Jam)1.89

Comments

Mossy Frog says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Really fun game! I love thee kind of survival shoot outs. The only thing I would say is that it was a bit too easy to go on forever, the only reason I died is because i got greedy and tried to grab loads of upgrades from the middle of a massive mob :P I think you should have limited ammo, and one of the upgrades could be to refill it. The music was really good as well! Very nice entry :)

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Really easy for this kind of game.

Also, as one of the 600 top down shooters submitted, you should really try to make it stand out.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Entertaining. I played it until my computer slowed to a crawl with all the snowmen on the screen.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:31pm

I played this for far longer than I expected. Really fun game. Nice work!

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01am

Nice top down shooter. Quite polished, so nothing to complaint, I had fun playing it and I enjoyed the music and overall gameplay. Congrats!
BTW, can snowmen actually bleed? :)

runvs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47am

Only the evil satanic snowmen do. :)

Thanks for playing and rating!

Lolwned says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Nicely done! Wish it was a bit harder though. Had fun nonetheless.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:17am

Overall this was a well polished entry into TDS genre. Everything was smooth and game play was pretty solid. My only major gripe is that combat started out sooo slow paced as I had only the pea shooter until around 500+ score. I was ready to quit early (with a much more negative view) and then some weapon power ups began to drop and the fun level started to rise a bit. Regardless, well done!

runvs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:45pm

We've created a harder version. You can find it in the description above.

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:38pm

The concept is not new, but I like the style

Aske says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Neat game! But i would like to see some sense of progression. But the shooting feels really tight, though!

pcmaster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Playable! Shots often dot hit targets and fly through...

Belvar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Fun and smooth gameplay ! The lack of increasing difficulty makes it a bit boring after a while though.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Was really fun to play, liked the art style! Movement and weapons controls felt good.
It got stuck two times in the reloading state, I think it happend when I got a powerup while reloading, but not always.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:05am

Hi there. Liked the slow chasing snowmen, did not seem much of a threat early on, but got tricky. Only one shot was a pain, presumably there's a powerup but didn't get that far. Good job!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:52am

Well made overall. Nice powerups but the shotgun seemed to only hit 1 regardless of hitting with all 3 bullets. Pretty nice art. My high score was around 3700, those snowmen ganged up on me eventually :P

blackmagic says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:07am

Excellent shooter with enough power ups to keep wanting to play further. The web version didn't slow for a single second on my machine. Very good job ! :)

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:52am

Fun little survival game, with good movement and sound. Powerups were a nice mechanic, but I would've like to see a different kind of enemy. Well done!

runvs says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:07am

Thank you for all the comments!

Performance (at least on my machine) was undoubtedly better with native build versions (at least for large enemy/bullet numbers. There was not much time for optimization and I expect a bottlenec especially at list and collision handling.

cabezotta says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Pretty fun game! not so innovative, but good, i played like half an hour without noticing :D

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Great little game :D

Floriaen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:40am

All the links are dead... in fact http://j.mp/ is not found

runvs says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Hi @Floriaen
Those are just bitly links so we get a little bit statistic about how often the links are clicked. It can be that they go down sometimes, but are working (as i checked them right now).
Pleas try again and sorry for the trouble. Best, runvs!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:14am

Cool :] another one brain damaged by evil snowman

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:17pm

3275! :)

Very fun. But I really dislike how I can't see myself. The color-scheme ist neat, but it makes it hard to distinguish the player from the blood...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]