Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Entity Unchained

by ViliX64 - Compo Entry

Please read FAQ before rating/hating this game :)

Take on the role of mysterious entity which has to escape from it's evil master's facility. Fight hostile entities and spend collected points on upgrades on your way out! Not everything is as it seems (to get the story + theme connectioun, you MUST FINISH THE GAME). Each floor's is randomly generated by my super algorithm.

Although it should work in every browser (except for IE - read in FAQ), I recommend you to play it in Google Chrome.

I am working on a post-compo version. If people will like this 48 hour 'game', I'm planning to make some bigger game out of this.

******************************

FAQ:

How do I play it? The mouse isn't working!

You don't use mouse, silly :) Use WS/AD to navigate throught the menu and ENTER/SPACE to confirm.


Where is my health? I can't see my health!

Bottom left corner.


Pressing SPACE to confirm is so irritating as it moves the whole screen!

You can use ENTER instead.


So.. what should I actually do?

The goal was supposed to be obvious. ESCAPE! To do that, you need to find and use a staircase on every floor/map. You'll know when you've found one. It's flashing.


Wait a second, there is no connection to the theme!

Have you finished the game? I didn't want to use the same mechanics as everyone else, so I've used the theme in the story.


Come on dude, isn't this just a Binding of Isaac clone?

Thinking about it yes, there are some aspects in common (dungeon generation). But if this game reminds you of the Binding of Isaac, it wasn't intended. If you haven't tried the Binding of Isaac yet, I recommend you to do so. It's a very neat game.


Have you played Dwarf Fortress?

Yes, I have played Dwarf Fortress and no, this is not a DF clone.


Pff.. only two types of enemies? Don't you think your game suck?

There are more enemies in upper floors.


I'm using Internet Explorer and the sound doesn't work. What should I do?

I don't know what happened there. Latest versions of IE are pretty solid, but some nasty magic is happening here. Please try another browser.


******************************

Thanks for playing my game.

You are awesome!


******************************

Nerdy stuff:

Language: Dart
Framework: VilTAGE (ViliX's Text/ASCII Game Engine - although it's a framework) Check it out at github.com/ViliX64/VilTAGE.
Graphics: Well.. letters, I guess.
Sound: FL Studio

******************************

If you'd like to contact me, find me on Twitter: @ViliX64

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#419Graphics3.31
#422Audio2.93
#429Mood3.07
#459Overall3.28
#491Humor2.57
#521Fun3.11
#679Innovation2.96
#1114Theme2.83

Comments

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16am

Hey, it's another text-based roguelike. Me gusta. Too bad about the snowman.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:31am

Not a fan of having to sit through an ad to play this. I like concept. Almost Thomas was alone (story) meets Binding of Isaac. Wasn't a fan of the controls. Moving felt ... odd. Can't quite put the finger on it why.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32am

Sometimes confusing, but overall I like it.

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

Like the ASCII style, but the intro text is a tad hard to read....

Just Tom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:47am

I legitimately dig this game, it came in with an idea and stuck to it. I was a little irked at first but after failing the second time, realised I was in.

Sometimes a little hard to read and upgrades do a lot of telling rather than showing, but I'm nitpicking. I bloody love the ASCII engine, it's genuinely brilliant. 10 points.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:47am

ASCII Roguelike? Heck YES!
Haha love it man!

nexyon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16am

For me it is really hard to see the shots of the enemies and tell what's going on and when you really get hit.

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:36am

I'm a sucker for ASCII stuff.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:57am

Love the animated text walls and the binding of isaac feel. The music works too. Fun game, it's like a mash-up of good stuff into something new.

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04am

Pretty fun! I liked how you worked the snowman in :)

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38am

Top-tier game and a lovely in-depth game page. I really like the aesthetic you used and it stays consistent enough to prove its own artistic merit. I don't know. 'Good game sick graphics bro' there we are.

karol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:54am

As a person, who spent countless hours playing nethack I appreciate a good text-graphical game when I see one.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:27am

I love the graphics, I love the combat and I love the nod to the old classic. Dungeon crawling never felt so right!

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:51pm

A lot of fun. The graphics a very stylish, although a bit hard to make out what's going on sometimes. Difficulty was almost perfect and there was enough variation to keep me interested.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Thanks for your tips. I am considering post-compo version and I am writing everything down to my TODO list :)

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Pretty cool and fun. However, it felt like it took forever to clear each floor. Ascii graphics ftw tho

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Nice. I dig the text visuals and the Smash TV gameplay.

Phyyl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25am

Controls were a bit weird, but the game is fun.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:36am

Not my cup of tea, but well done, nonetheless! I played for a while!

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:07am

Neat little text-based game, where instead of being "you see a potion and a goblin. attack goblin." it's actually a spazzing piece of text for a monster, and you are a little snowman/spazzmonster thingymabobs.

Pretty neat, although it is a bit painful to look at sometimes.

Zi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:12am

Cool! Very charming visuals and audio. A little hard to see projectiles flying at you though.

MonoS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50am

Wooooo Vilix, really good game on every aspect
Good graphic, good sound, average gameplay [for 48 hour, it's amazing].

With a bit of polishing can become a very excellent game.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Cool old school ASCII game - felt like I'm on my MS-DOS machine again... But that's nice and I like it!

Well done!

ruerob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:00pm

I really enjoyed your game. It was really fun to think out taktiks to beat the enemies. the bosses where nice too. Good job.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:41pm

I thought that HTML was dead somewhere in time, but I was wrong. This game is totally incredible. I can't figure out how you have done this IA. One of my favorites entries during this LD31. Bravo ++

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Very polished, and very complete. It may have been nice to have a little more variety in the rooms. I love the ascii art look!

Legiion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20pm

A well made Dungeon crawler, you have my vote sir

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34pm

It was fun. It took some time to get used to the style, and your comments helped me figure out the rest. Good job.

lemmily says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Liking the aesthetics, I found the navigation a bit jarring, especially "space" just pages down the website. frustrating!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Dude! This game is great! The music at menu was getting a bit bugging, but then in-game, *o*!
The graphics are cool as well, although at times it's a bit tough to see the enemy's bullets, since he's bright red, the background is white-grey like.
I really like your unique art style, and no the graphics in this strongly differ this from the binding of Isaac.
I had fun in it, and there was a lot of humor.
One thing that was hard was the health, I could not really tell how much health I had.
I think that's since I never got hit, and then when I thought I had infinite health, I took my eyes off the screen, about 5 minutes, then I died suddenly. :3

Keep up the good work buddy! :D
5 stars for all! XD

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Graphics and sound are great!

local minimum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I like this game a lot. The minimal music along with the graphics was a perfect combo. For some reason the music and sounds went away after a while though, but the fact that I managed to make it to the second floor of a game like this. I usually die instantly means that you balanced the difficulty in a very good way. And that takes a lot of skill.

One thing what was a little odd to me was that it seemed like it was OK to collide with the plus shaped enemies. And it was really hard to read in the menu and introduction. Other than that, a really solid entry.

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Binding of Issac in ASCII, amazing combination.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Wow! Nice game! I love the graphic style and the soundtrack is perfect for the game! :D

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:32pm

It's a pretty fun game, despite the fact that all the graphics are letters. I dunno... Just not a big fan of letters XD

Mokosha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Great game! :) How come the enemies' bullets have infinity range but mine don't =(

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Nice game, I loved the style. The difficult level is well balanced. Nice sound too.

Zimennik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Intresting "Isaac" clone

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Great job, and I love the ASCII. I played for awhile. :)

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Very enjoyable! Though maybe a little rough. For me the difficulty lies in feedback: it's really difficult to know when I'm hit, when I hit something else, what I hit, and so on. The "plus" enemies were especially difficult in this regard and I never quite figured out if I could hit them on the side and I was simply one square too far away or if I had to hit them in the middle. So mostly it meant I flailed around a lot shooting and trying not to get hit. Ultimately pretty neat though! I do like the ASCII graphics; perhaps all it needs is a little bit of modern touch.

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:16pm

A bit confusing, but I love old school roguelikes :)

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:08am

Interesting art style, really enjoyed it!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:18pm

interesting, very nice use of ASCII, well done

orion_black says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:21pm

The Binding of ASCII perhaps, I don't know why people keep bringing it up. Plenty of games with similar (even better I should say)combat mechanics and plenty of games with procedurally generated levels. Anyways, good job

TheExGenesis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Love the ASCII art! the player's range in the beginning could use a little buff though

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Love the tinny animation everywhere and the graphics style.
Well done!

5* for theme :-)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:34am

Though the gameplay is kind of traditional, but the art style is very unique and it make the game stand out from other games with similar theme. And the story also works. Nice job!

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:25am

Great!I'll play some seeds in the near future again!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:02am

Hi there. Liked the approach, could not play it for toffee though, too many controls - not easy, better in own page probably annoying space thing - yes I know Enter from FAQ but space is what my thumb does, partly on its own... Liked the sounds.

Yarek says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:12pm

It's a really cool concept but sometimes it gets a bit confusing :)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Love the acii art! Nice game ;)

Trite Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:34am

ASCII and roguelike, nice. Well done :)

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:37am

I would have liked to have the arrow keys for shooting. Using the ASDW and IJKL made me feel like my wrists were in the wrong position. There was a little too much animation for my liking. The things on the screen ended up looking like blinking Xmas lights rather than anything specific. I wonder if white on black background would be better? I think it's a good basis of a solid roguelike engine.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:17pm

good visual..

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:51am

An ASCII game! Love it! Similar to The Binding of Isaac, I think. In a good way of course :)
Congrats, I like the mood and the style!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Simple but effective gameplay. My attacks sometimes felt kinda weak though, didn't seem like the damage upgrades did much.
Also the text is spaced far apart, making it hard to read.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Woah! This is cool! It's refreshing to see a great presentation that isn't just well executed pixel art (nothing wrong with that though!). Great work!

Ossi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:35am

Nice and simple. Really cool graphical choice, very striking. My only issue was the bits of narration were a bit hard to read. Having the large spacing between the letters kind of gave me a headache :P Otherwise, great job!

Warboys says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Didn't think I'd be into the ASCII but in the end it was great! Nice job with the style and feeling of the combat, it was cool. I wish there was a little more variety to the enemies that spawned though. Perhaps I was unlucky but it appears that every room in the same level has the same enemy config.

crazyrems says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:08pm

I liked the ASCII style. Finished the game in one srtoke.
More people should do games like this.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Ineresting art style, smooth gameplay, nice game overall. I can definitely see quality put into this game. Well done.

kalugny says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Very nice, loved the Unicode art!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I like how you made the visuals it looks pretty good :P. Good Job. Also i like the audio

rjhunter says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:03am

As someone who has sunk many hours NetHack (not to mention editors like vi), I found using the jkl keys for firing direction a very confusing experience. The stuff on the screen is all characters and my fingers are where I'd have them for NetHack, but the bindings are all off (except for l, which is right as expected).

I managed to make it through the whole game almost exclusively firing right :-)

becker929 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:50am

Very fun text-based game reminiscent of Binding of Isaac and the like :) It crashed on me once but other than that I'd say flawless execution. Could have used maybe one more enemy type. Liked to see bosses for each level but I thought the final boss could have been a touch harder. Also I don't think powerups held from level to level? That would have been good to have that feeling of progression. I did like that there was a powerup system at all though.

Ending was a clever way to resolve the theme. Good job!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:26am

Love me some ASCII style art. Good work.

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:39pm

A text zelda ^^
Nice game, I like the concept :D

Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Cool story! I Included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Wy_mvMH2L7Q

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]