Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

CRUSH

by AlexVsCoding - Jam Entry

----------------<CRUSH>----------------

No adventurer is ever to be without his hat...

2 controllable explorers
A constantly changing labyrinth
4 walls of death
A hoard of treasure for the taking
And two hats…


----------------<CONTROLS>----------------

Explorer 1
Movement = Arrow Keys
Drop/Pick up Hat = Enter

Explorer 2
Movement = WASD
Drop/Pick up Hat = Space

Want a larger version of the game to play? Here's a larger version of CRUSH! http://goo.gl/SskWzY

OR

Right click on the regular game and press "Show All".


----------------<GAMEPLAY>----------------

Steal treasure and halt giant walls of spikes with your trusty headwear.
But watch out! It may stop traps, but it won't last forever!
Make sure to plonk it back on your head so it stays in good nick.

Wait! What was that? Seems you're not alone.

Outrun your opponent as the labyrinth closes around you and outlive them

or

Work together with your rival to build up your riches then stab them in the back.

To the victor, the spoils!


----------------<INSPIRATION>----------------

In the Indiana Jones films, his hat is always the object that seems to survive against the ridiculously impossible odds. We took the durability of the hat to it's extremes by making it an object that could be used to protect our adventurer against the dangers of the tomb. In these films, the hat always ends up back on the head of the hero, so for the mechanics we made it regenerate health as long as it returned to it's owner's head.


----------------<BUILT BY IN 12 HOURS>----------------

Art
Rafal Bryks
Christophe Canarapen

Programming/Design
Alex Johansson

Music Production
Ryan Woodlands-Mooney

Sounds and & Death Song
Will Bedford

Enjoy and any feedback or suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#52Audio(Jam)3.93
#125Humor(Jam)3.50
#141Overall(Jam)3.71
#141Mood(Jam)3.63
#157Graphics(Jam)4.02
#182Innovation(Jam)3.62
#213Fun(Jam)3.44
#264Theme(Jam)3.81
#1818Coolness36%

Comments

Snuux says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Nice pixel art!

Broivula says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Really hard to play by myself! Got nothing bad to say about this, really. Nice score, fun, simple graphics and the possibility for two players! Really gj!

maddogawl says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Site looks like its down now

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Hey Mate, sorry for the interruption - it's back up now!

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:04pm

The web link doesn't work right now.

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Should be working now. Failing that, here's the link to the game jolt build! http://gamejolt.com/games/arcade/crush/41025/

efux says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Played this today with my flatmate. Makes a lot of fun. Impressive for only 12 hours. Love the pixel art.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Love the pixel art very much!!!

laxeot says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Oh wow I love this!

Search says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:32am

Took me some time to learn how to play, but then it was fun, nice game.

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:08am

Sometimes frustrating when the death walls crush in what should be a tie, but one person "wins"

egos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10am

nice graphics and ambiance good job

MrSun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10am

Great graphics! Really clever game mechanic, I like how it works with the Indiana Jones theme.

Elrobo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:11am

Very clever, nice art and great sound.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:12am

great work! I'm going to try to get my wife to play with me since it's tough to play alone =p

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24am

Very cool. I tried to play both characters at the same time, which was pretty tricky. Nice style!

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

Unfortunately I didn't have a second person on hand with which to play this, but I could tell it would have been pretty fun. Sound and music were really great, and the concept was funny as well. Graphics were also nice, and the whole thing was just really well made. My main gripe with it is that it was so tiny, but there's an alternate version for that. Overall, just a really good job.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:36am

Hi!
Pretty solid game! Awesome art and sound!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:42am

clever. I love the idea of hats being your most useful tool. Very true to the source material.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00am

12h! Nice! The sound effects a bit harsh maybe :P But really cool graphics!

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21am

It's better to play with a friend I think.
The ambient music is so epic.

nassi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:14am

Like I already mentioned @ GJ, it's a nifty game, although a bit hard to play alone :P.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:17am

I didn't realize it was a two player game at first so I was trying to do it all myself, which I would really enjoy but as a single player it's too hard. Those walls would need to start off slower. I don't have anyone to play with but I bet it would be really good fun with two players. Music and sounds were excellent. Graphics were very good. And I thought it was very original. It would be nice if it had a stop button so I didn't have to mute the sound to hear myself think enough to give you feedback. : )

Overall 4
Innovation 4
Fun 4 (i'm guessing what it would be like with two players)
Theme 3
Graphics 4
Audio 5
Humor 2
Mood 4

gre says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Interesting concept. Cool art.

ehtd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

Really cool graphics and gameplay

ruerob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17am

I like the graphics and. sadly I have had no second player by my side but it was also fun trying to play both players at the same time.

Fnkee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Amazing concept!! Such a genius party game. Artstyle looks really cool and the music speaks for itself. It truly is a unique game, and gives me that Indiana Jones thrill.
I have only one thing to say; You did very well!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:17am

really nice artwork and sounds - it was very hard to play - nice job.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:58am

Hi there. Loved the sounds, especially voice - very Gauntlet..., nice visuals. Could not find a way to survive more than about 5 seconds, and that was down to luck. Good job on the presentation, needs to be easier for non-hardcore players I think.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:16am

Great looking game and fun to play.

farwyler says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Great game and awesome sounds. I didn´t find a hat, but I had great fun without it!

Dokthar says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:33am

Love the sounds FX ! so much :D nice graphics and nice gameplay. Very fun !

Javabot says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:20am

Cool game, love the concept, sadly could not play alone.

dunin says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:20pm

cool mood. To try with a friend.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]