Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Human Experiment Show

by Robber - Jam Entry

The Human Experiment Show

a post apocaliptic platform/puzzle/gameshow crossover game
with a kinda sick vibe..

code/graphics/animation/music: all created in jam time

let me know what you think..enjoy!

controls:
left - right: move
up : jump
down : push switch

Yes, post compo release changlog v1.1
(please play it and let me know what you think, but only rate the regular version)
- much better controls, jumping, ledge grab & climb
- full intro animation

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#45Mood(Jam)3.94
#47Theme(Jam)4.23
#65Innovation(Jam)3.93
#80Overall(Jam)3.85
#117Humor(Jam)3.53
#134Audio(Jam)3.63
#206Fun(Jam)3.45
#223Graphics(Jam)3.83

Comments

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

Really enjoyed playing the game. Onlything I would change is so that you can see the platforms a little better. Great job

Interface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:50am

Great job. Good mood, fun puzzle to play. I like it, I'll have to come back to try and play through!

indigofiz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:51am

It's a great game. I love how the sounds are creating a great atmosphere for the game, especially those little laugh when you're playing.

Great entry!

Robber says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

sharp911: thanks for pointing this out, the shadows were not working on the export, fixed this

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:03am

I really enjoyed playing that - clever idea to have mutable platforms, really went with the theme. And I liked the entrance of the subject - nice emoting for such a little person! Good job.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06am

Wow, stunning gave me the chills at first glance at the room. Gave me a aperture science experiment room vibe which i loved. I loved the puzzle mechanics!

nuno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Made me smile at the start, great mood with the audience audio :D Nice concept!

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Loved the mood of the game ! The atmosphere is great. Maybe some "freak show"-esque music would've been great.

But still, I enjoyed it :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02pm

The game has some really good elements, but in the end I just found it boring. The game itself has potential to be a 5 stars, but right now it is not there yet. I would consider making the jumping and falling a little bit faster and creating a more engaging music. You create this whole humorous tone and then completely destroy it with that dreary music.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11pm

I spent about five minutes running left and right and thought the game was broken. Then (and thanks to everyone who commented about platforms) I understood how to activate platforms!
Very good idea. Great sound fx. Will definitely try to finish the game later.

Spilim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:14pm

They audience audio was very funny and great haha Great atmosphere, graphics, idea and game.
Would have made the colliders of the switch larger because sometimes it's a little annoying to try to press them a little to its side and it doesn

icedvariables says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:14pm

The animation is amazing. Overall, a very fun game

Spilim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17pm

They audience audio was very funny and great haha Great atmosphere, graphics, idea and game =)
Would have made the colliders of the switch larger because sometimes it's a little annoying to try to press them a little to its side and not work. Couldn't beat the game though, haha, I felt like I almost made it a lot of times but I ended giving up =\ I feel like the game could run a little faster, maybe it's the shadow and that processing power, I might try it on the build version later, probably will run more smoothly.

KeeperofBee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Great job, fun puzzle fits and I loved the laughters making me feel like I was part in a sick tv show.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I loved the audience sounds.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Great idea, I really liked the mood of the game. Should make more use of the switches, the level can be completed without pushing any of them.
Thank you for the Linux build!

Robber says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31pm

eemmbbeer : i don't quite follow ? how did you complete the level ?

Robber says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40pm

eemmbeer : i think i see your hint, i will remove debugging mode :)

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Quite the tough game! The mood reminded me a bit of Portal. The controls feel a bit sluggish, especially the jumping mechanic. Quite frustrating sometimes.
But other than that, great game.

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:10pm

This game was pretty fun and innovative! I liked how there were sounds of the audience speaking/laughing in the background. The graphics look pretty great! Overall, it's a fun game and I suggest you continue working on it to further improve it; it would turn into an amazing game!

renatopp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Great game, very innovative and impressive. The most interesting game so far. Good job.

twick says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Really enjoyed this. Fun Puzzle

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:38am

The applause made me laugh. I love dark games like this. Nice atmosphere!

rnlf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I really enjoy the on TV feeling of this entry. I think the audience is pretty cool, especially when they cheer at me for finding the way to the first switch on the second height-level.

I had to quit though, I couldn't figure it out after 20 minutes :-(

Sound and visuals are very strong!

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:25pm

I like the idea of the game. Main gripe is with the jumping, which is majorly bugged. I like the game, really enjoyed how the platforms kind of rolled out of the wall, added a lot of extra depth to the game.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Loved your game, a huge atmosphere similar of Portal and The Truman Show!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Nice puzzle game, and even nicer animations but terrible player phyciscs. Not only movement and jumping are clumsy but sometimes it jumps again after landing by himself. Aside that, very nice executed.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Loved it! Got a total Portal vibe from it. music was eerie and totally added to the experience. Thank god I got out alive, that room was giving me the creeps! :) Job well done.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:57pm

fucking brilliant!!!
loved the background chit-chatter, laughter, coughing etc etc.

InHelli says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Really enjoyed playing the game.
I like the audience that reacts to my actions!
Mb more control of my person.

GFM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:16pm

That's some cool effects for making platforms appear/disappear. =D

Mikel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Very good, I could't left till I finished and didn't understood why, it left me wanting more levels

karol says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:49pm

An awesome game. A very innovative idea, great graphics and audio. However it was a bit laggy for me, and the controls, especially jumping, didn't feel as responsive as I'd like.

The graphics are top notch, and I really loved the audio. The music theme reminded me of Ridiculous Fishing, while the audience sounds were a bit like in Device 6.

Skipi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:33am

Really neat graphics there. Only real issue I see is sometimes it's hard to make jumps and you get caught on edges.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:02am

well done, wish i was better at puzzles ...

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:23am

The graphics in this were great. Only criticism is that the jumping and running didn't very super great.

K.Chplr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:31am

Could use more polished controls (faster character and some kind of input buffering for the jumps), but otherwise it's a good game with a lot of potential.

JNyknn says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:11am

Wonderful puzzle game!

Robber says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:13am

thanks for playing and commenting peoples!! very very much appreciated, and highly motivated by your advice i'm working on better controls which will even incorporate grabbing of the platforms, i hope to post a first post-game update soon!

skiddings says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Very cool! Nice effects with the platforms. Its tricky to work out. also I was able to get it into a configuration that caused me to get stuck. Manged to finish the second time though. Music suits it very well.

spotco says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:45am

Great atmosphere that the animations really bolster. Love the ambient audience sounds. when I finally found the correct path I felt great!

But aside from being thrown into the room on his face in the beginning, I didn't feel that the "human experiment" theme was fleshed out enough. I think the game's mood would benefit from having more elements that dehumanize the character as an experiment.
Portal is a good example of making an "experiment" out of the player character. This game reminded me of that.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Nice game, very hard. Amazing ambient sounds (voices and noise from moving platforms) creating a dark atmosphere. Somehow makes me remember the submachine game series.

sputnik says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Interesting puzzle plateformer. The audience is a plus!

sorlok says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:26am

Great use of theme, lots of fun, but a little touchy on the mechanics. Glad to see the post-compo release! (I'll be playing it after the review.) Overall great job!

Sestren says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:41am

The animation on the ledges opening and closes is very nice, and the sound and mood are both excellent.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:52am

Definitely great game and atmosphere!
But the original version's control is killing me.
Love that wall animation!
New version control is better.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:57am

Innovation 5/5: Pretty innovative!!!

Fun 3/5: Fun at the start, but boring after playing a while.

Theme 3/5: The game runs in a single screen.

Graphics 5/5: Great graphics!!!

Audio 4/5: Great audio, but sadly it doesn't fit with the tv show atmosphere.

Humor 5/5: Great humor!!!

Mood 4/5: Great tv show atmosphere, sadly the music doesn't fit.

Overall 4/5: Great game, it needs some control issues thought.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:11am

I loved the atmosphere. The eerie music along with the applause from the crowd was really offsetting! (In a good way)

I will say that the controls felt a little floaty at times, and I wish there was some indication of which platforms were created with the switches?

But it was very clever how the platforms came to be, really an interesting way of going about the theme of this LD! Good job. :)

Lythom says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:52am

Very nice entry ! Fully playble, great 3D (model + animation), people clapping :D (nice use of the theme btw). Got stuck on my first attempt (a combination that prevented me from doing further moves) but started again and got it. Well balanced. Good work :)
Tips for going even further : improve the mood / art style by giving more personality to the game (edit: the post jam version is a very good start in that way !).
Thanks for the game :)

Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:30am

good job man.. reminds me of impossible mission on the amiga :)

Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Great puzzling here, only criticism is that theres often a lot of back and forth and experimentation to find out what is the correct sequence of button presses, but I admit its hard to get rid of that without making it too easy.

Excellent game and idea regardless.

zompi says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Atmoshpere is great and creepy. I love that effect with platform switching. Good challenge with the switches riddle. All of this makes a really good game, can't wait for more levels (if you plan to make some) ;)

Alter says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:47am

Cool game. Well done!

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Switch flipping isn't my cup of tea, but I believe there are people who like it a lot. Great fun animations. Excellent how player was put on the stage.

I would tweak controls to make sure you don't fall easily: I think the main idea is to find the correct switches, not to be superior platformer player.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]