Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Popao

by christopf - Compo Entry

Winter is coming and you sitting all day in front of a electrobox creating games. Your immunesystem could use a boost! What about the eaziest way?

Xboy and Ouya controllers should work (didn't check the Ouya, if someone uses one let me know if its working!).

For the linux build you need to have neko installed:
sudo apt-get install neko


CONTROLS

Move......................................Left-Stick............WASD / Arrows
Reset level.............................Y.........................Backspace
Fullscreen.........................................................F1
Mute (not working yet).....................................F3
Menu forward.........................A / O..................Any key



Game is made with Haxe && Haxepunk.

All feedback is very welcomed, even on the level design.
Have hopefully fun playing it.



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#14Humor4.03
#184Mood3.41
#210Graphics3.69
#233Overall3.54
#361Audio3.03
#387Fun3.26
#460Innovation3.25
#690Theme3.50

Comments

Louisload says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19am

oh my god... literally god against buggers. very funny and weird! in a good way :D

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Good game! It wasn't long before the levels got trixy and I had to think hard to break them.

tomdeal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Nice game. One minor complaint: with the 3D books, it is hard too see if the block is pushable when its overlap

christopf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Yea, you right tomdeal. I had the same issue, its quite tricky to get the book into the notch. Maybe i can masquerade it as advanced difficulty :P

Thank you all 3 of you!

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Hilarious and beautiful ... !!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Very fun! I liked it!

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Pushblock puzzles are arguably the worst kinds of puzzles. :I Its also needlessly slow.

Cool visuals though.

sollinxp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I don't see something as bizarre and fun since biding of isaac, good game

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:45pm

A very... interesting concept. But funny nonetheless! Keep it up!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Hahaha what a nasty little game ^^ wasn't very motivating after two levels though. Maybe you could grow bigger on your way down...or at least be faster with the movements. High rating for Innovation, Humor and Fun :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59pm

I really like this game, despite my dislike of block puzzles.

The theme was really fun and creative (focusing so closely on the face was a nice touch), and both graphics and audio were good (though I think you could have looped that opening tune for the main game.

Making the snot move and push blocks faster could be a nice change though, it sometimes felt painful to be pushing so slowly when I know I'm on the clock.

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Very funny! The puzzles were a bit hard though, I got stuck on the third level.

lekochen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02pm

LOL, how could you come up with idea like that?

christopf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Thank you all, i'm glad you mostly like it. Make me feel worth sitting there like 48hours tipping on a bunch of metal.

On the movement speed: That's right. I also felt like it's a little too slow. But i thought at some points you can move a book just a pixel too far so easy. So with a little slower movement you won't accidently push a block too far.
But on the otherside i implement a little break for this case and the movement speed change would contact this. I give it for the itch.io version!

@lekochen for the case you questions was out of real interest^^ i'm eating boogers since i'm born and some time ago i found an article about a canadian bio-chemical scientist who was arguing that eating your own boogers is the best thing you can do with it. It gave it a more than my intuition explanation which i found interesting. I think it's an interesting point how social conventions, which should help us, are obviously damaging us.

BubbleChien says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17pm

This game is special, in a good way haha.

Not a fan of block pushers but I did it for the buggers. It was sometimes a bit hard to put the blocks in the right position vertically.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:51pm

That ending tho'
My only complaint would be the movement speed, I'd have liked to move a little faster.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:06pm

The puzzles are good, but movement is annoyingly slow and it's a bit hard to see where exactly you can and can't exit. And overall: ewwww...

I had to do "sudo apt-get install neko" on my Ubuntu system, but after that the Linux build worked.

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:56pm

This is hilarious and awesome and I love it. :D

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:45pm

This is gross! But i like the idea! :D
A solid little puzzle game done very well!
Strange setting, but hey, i`m ok with it!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Classic game mechanics with a fresh coat of...well, snot I guess. Ew.

Anyway, interesting and unique style with a nice intro. Gameplay is functional, tricky and fun as you'd expect. Music during gameplay would be nice though (maybe you can get away with looping the...uh, "music" from the intro? It's very interesting and low-key enough to not get annoying during long levels.) Not a big fan of block-pushing puzzles (I tend to suck at them) but I liked this one!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Sometime balancing gameplay and speed is difficult, I agree that it's a bit slow but can understand that it was sacrificed for precision. Overall it was a pretty fun game and the idea is just fantastic!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:41pm

A simple block-moving game. Not too original, but decent.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:16am

Woot another Haxe user! Really fun and weird game. I really liked it. It reminded me of the old Pokemon strength puzzles. Nice work.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:01pm

That's... disturbing ^^

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Great sound and mood!

Backterria says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:44am

Very funny concept! simple but fun :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Well that was one really strange entry. It was actually pretty funny playing as a pile of snot. Mind you, the concept was good and the level design was nice.

phi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:47pm

This game is glorious. The concept actually makes kind of sense and I think there's some deep meaning in moving bibles out of your way to reach your goal of making yourself a healthier and happier person. And the sounds totally cracked me up. No second felt wasted. This is a masterpiece, you deserve an award. The only sad thing about this is that the bible quote isn't real.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]