Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Corsair Bay

by Ekilibr - Jam Entry

JAM OR COMPO ?

I made this game alone in 48h, except for the music I got from a free ressources website.
Sounds & Graphics have been made within the 48 hours. But something was missing to the overall of the game : the music. As I wasn't able to produce it myself, I decided to submit in Jam :)


NOTE

When I woke up for the first day of LD#31, I red very bad news on internet. The Pirate Bay is going to be forbidden in France (the country I currently live in). The excuse was the majors saying too much money was lost each year (sounds familiar?).
I immediatly thought about doing a game approaching this kind of repression about free share.

So, in The Corsair Bay, you play the role of a Hadopi Agent (Hadopi is the company working with french governement against web piracy).
You have to get all the hackers you can but...you’ll quickly understand that it’s impossible to get them all (is there a message here?...ahem).


GAMEPLAY

Controls

- Move with arrows (right & left)
- Jump with Shift

Get the hackers, but be careful!

- Touch a Hacker in his back capture him
- Fall on a Hacker capture him
- A hacker touching you will release half of the hackers you captured
- Hackers arrive in waves. The number of ennemies depend on your score when you get the last hacker of the previous wave (score +1). If you’re running out of time, you should better have a big score, getting enough hackers in the next wave to keep playing ;)

Timer

When the game start, you have 30 seconds to make the best score possible.
Each time you get a Hacker, you win two seconds (the timer increase).


You'll find the complete Note with the game in the .rar file :)

Hope you'll enjoy the run!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#392Humor(Jam)2.79
#540Graphics(Jam)3.18
#576Mood(Jam)2.94
#730Fun(Jam)2.74
#746Overall(Jam)2.92
#773Innovation(Jam)2.59
#799Theme(Jam)3.18

Comments

The Jahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Ugh, I don't live in France but that news still pisses me off. Censorship sucks.

You chose an interesting medium/context to spread the word with though - props for that.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Thanks ! :)

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Well this is an interesting way to spread the word. I didn't know. Thanks for doing this, censorship sucks!

About the game: It's endless if you're fast enough! It contains quite a few bugs(floating hackers, head stuck in platform...), so it could use some polishing.
And it's pretty fun. Great submission!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Cool game dude ! The graphics are cool and the gameplay is really fun !

With a few balance on the gameplay and less bugs it could be a very great game !

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Thanks Meta-link !

@joppiesaus, I had in mind to give less time per hacker over a certain score, but had no time for this... :(
It also explain the few bugs, unfortunately. But will polish it asap!

Thanks again, and yeah, censorship sucks :)

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Nice game little concept, but I think the platforming it's a bit bugged (the player get stuck on platforms)

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Loved the message, made me giggle. A bit glitchy on the collisions, Great graphics!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05pm

@dsoft 20 & davient, yeah, I'm awared about the collisions bug. As my knowledge in coding is limited, that's the kind of stuff I wasn't able to get over in 48h, unfortunately :(

Sorry for that, hope it still was a good experience, though!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28pm

It's cool how you're trying to spread a message with the game, great to see how such a thing can affect what people create! It would of course be better if it didn't happen. Censorship is awful, good job!

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Topical stuff. As someone who makes games, I'd really like people to pay for it rather than torrent it illegally. But I understand there are different ways to make money on your product these days.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24pm

@asobitech sure, but imho censorship isnt' a solution to illegal download. There are other ways to make people pay for something, and illegal download can be seen as part of marketing (HBO thanks the illegal download for making Game of Thrones one of the most viewed show in US).

Well, debate on torrent and stuff has no end, but still censorship is NOT why the internet was intended for, though :)

Did you like the game, anyway ?

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32pm

@PlasterPhantom thanks a lot!
Glad you liked it :)

Finlal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:07am

It's sad there's no audio nomination. I really dig the music.

Mixer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:07am

Interesting game! I like games that promote things... good game. Only issue was that somtimes I couldn't see the full window, but that was fine :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:12am

Finlal, there's no audio 'cause I made the sounds but not the music (that's why I'm in the Jam category, and not in the compo on).
So, as I didn't do it myself, I decided to remove that category :)

Joris says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:22am

Very solid. The music is a nice addition.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:38am

Thanks a lot :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Nice effort on context and cling on system in game. The game's resolution was way bigger than my screen though :(

AMS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:12am

Really cool game, well done!

Marcellus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:22am

Respect : http://prntscr.com/5fghoc

Dommage pour la musique.
Sinon le jeu a l'air sympa mais je n'ai pas pu jouer longtemps car l'écran est vraaaaaiment trop grand pour mon protable. Donc je ne le notterai pas. Mais j'aime le message.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:58am

Haha nice !
Oui, le problème de résolution s'est posé malheureusement...J'ai voulu travailler un peu trop en HQ, et choisir le 1920x1080 n'était pas forcément une très bonne idée.
Une erreur que je ne referai pas :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:22am

Good game especially on the graphics. Didn't even know that landing on the heads of hackers or poking them (as seen on the animation) do arrest them. I found it funny though.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:28am

Thanks Roan! :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Neat game, feels pretty good to play, though the collision with platforms felt a bit off (I got stuck a couple of times too). Nice pixel art. I like how you portrayed a message with gameplay, as well, that's pretty clever.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Well done

srakowski says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:04am

I like the illegal download count, classic!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:47am

Haha, glad you noticed Srakowski!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:51am

And thanks Arcturus for the nice words!

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:35am

Love the note included in the game to give it context, and I really like the theme of the game. The only frustrating I ran into was losing my score when something spawned ontop of me.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:32am

Thank you for giving us the news! The mood for this jam is really good, and I liked the character designs. It was pretty fun, too, though I think your collision detection needs a little work. I would often tag a hacker, get the "+1 hacker" notification, and then immediately lose 3--or I would bump into someone, lose 3, and then lose 2. I wanted to keep playing, but I felt like being double-penalized for my little mistakes--and even for my successes--was a little bit too much! Really great choice in music, by the way. It really set the mood well.

Thank you for the game!

Valeour says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:26pm

I liked the motivation to make the game but didn't really think it delivered through the gameplay. Wasn't really anything wrong with the gameplay (apart from getting stuck in a wall) but I don't think it followed up on what you were trying to say with your game.

Tifu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I wasn't able to get anywhere, the game window takes up my whole screen, and there still seems to be platforms off screen/can't see the ground. Some hackers spawned off screen so I couldn't see them to reach them :( I'm playing on 1600x900 resolution.

wilbefast says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice little game :)

I reccomend binding 'jump' to a bunch of buttons (enter, shift, space, etc) so dumb people like me don't struggle to find it :P

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Haha will, noticed for the next jams! ;)

Valeour, could you explain a bit more ? I'd like to hear your point of view :)

@Tifu, known issue,and truely sorry for that...I made the mistake to make the game in a High rez, but had no time to add lower rez...
Have no clue if I can upload a fix for it, though ?

hbocao says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Kinda buggy (collisions, hacker walking on air hehe), but pretty fun. Beautiful art too. I loved the mechanics (although sometimes was hard to hit the hackers at the right position). Great job!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Thanks for the kind words, hbocao ! Glad you liked it despite the bugs :)

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:40am

Nice work! Really fun game, But my head often gets stuck in platforms and that's not good when time is running out. I really liked the music.
Don't forget to make a Linux build next time!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]