Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Carrot Chaos

by GoudaGames - Compo Entry

You are out stocking food for the winter, and the snowmen have really tasty noses...

In Carrot Chaos, you have to run around, kill snowmen and pick up their carrot noses. There are AWESOME EXPLOSIONS, and MOAR POWERUPS THAN YOU CAN EVER IMAG... Ok, not really.

The game is kind of simple, kill snowmen, pick up carrots, and keep moving, or you freeze to death. Oh, and avoid crashing into any snowmen, they're really cold, and will lower your temperature. You can also pick up red scarves, because they make you run faster, for some magical reason. I hope you'll enjoy it!

Ooh, and please post the highest amount of carrots you are able to collect, you know, just for funsies :P

CONTROLS
(if the game's instructions aren't clear enough)

Movement: WASD
Fire snowballs: Arrow keys
Pause: ESC

Post mortem can be read here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/14/carrot-chaos-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#290Humor2.93
#405Fun3.24
#488Graphics3.19
#646Mood2.84
#698Audio2.44
#711Overall3.05
#794Theme3.41
#856Innovation2.69

Comments

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:47pm

All I get is a black screen, Windows 8.1

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:48pm

I see, can you try running the jar using command prompt, using the command:

java -jar carrot_chaos.jar

This will hopefully print an error message.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Snowman! Looks good! Thanks for the game and Merry Christmas!

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Remember me a old mobile game! Great game:)

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:59pm

On windows 8 it vanishes as soon as it opens. I'll try again later

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Osx 10.9.5:
java -jar .....

Error in texture program linking.
Succesfully loaded texture: textures/tileset.png
Succesfully loaded texture: textures/entities.png
Succesfully loaded texture: textures/gui.png
Succesfully loaded texture: textures/font.png
Loaded sound: ambient
Loaded sound: throw
Loaded sound: carrot_pickup
Loaded sound: hurt
Loaded sound: footstep
Loaded sound: hit
Loaded sound: scarf_pickup
1

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I like the health/heat system!

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Really good art! It was a little difficult using my keyboard, because each hand has different arrow keys. :( Also, I think that there's a bug when you get pinned by a snowman you get instakilled.

qleonetti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Black screen on osx :(

AndresGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:58pm

All I get is the black screen aswell. (Windows 8.1) after running the java thing I got same as @vekjeft.
Error in texture program linking.
Succesfully loaded texture: textures/tileset.png
Succesfully loaded texture: textures/entities.png
Succesfully loaded texture: textures/gui.png
Succesfully loaded texture: textures/font.png
Loaded sound: ambient
Loaded sound: throw
Loaded sound: carrot_pickup
Loaded sound: hurt
Loaded sound: footstep
Loaded sound: hit
Loaded sound: scarf_pickup

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03pm

@vekjeft Try to download the new version and try again, I didn't fix any thing, just added more debug info printed.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03pm

19 carrots and 2 scarves :p
It was pretty fun, I liked the graphics. Thought it was weird to have separate controls for moving and shooting, expected to just shoot in the same direction you were facing, but it actually made it way easier.

-10 for using snowmen though :P

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08am

Love the snowman. :) I Included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/QrqYJieiXWs

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:16am

Lol, snowman! XD

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:11pm

I love the half submerged snowmen!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Nice!

geckojsc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Hey, I got an exception when launching (using java 1.7)
Maybe it's a problem on my end, graphics drivers or something?

D:\Games\LD31>java -jar carrot_chaos.jar
org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Could not create context (WGL_ARB_create_context)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsContextImplementation.nCreate(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsContextImplementation.create(WindowsContextImplementation.java:50)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.ContextGL.<init>(ContextGL.java:132)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:850)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:797)
at com.goudagames.ld31.base.Launch.main(Launch.java:24)
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.RuntimeException: No OpenGL context found in the current thread.
at org.lwjgl.opengl.GLContext.getCapabilities(GLContext.java:124)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.GL11.glViewport(GL11.java:3261)
at com.goudagames.ld31.render.RenderEngine.<init>(RenderEngine.java:238)

at com.goudagames.ld31.render.RenderEngine.init(RenderEngine.java:186)
at com.goudagames.ld31.base.Launch.main(Launch.java:33)

Odefus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I think I got 28 carrots on my best run before I got surrounded by snowmen who then proceeded to play pong with my character. Could use pathfinding for the snowmen. Enjoyable game anyway.

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:35pm

@geckojsc It looks like a driver problem, check what OpenGL version your drivers are compatible with, they need to have support for OpenGL 3.3

magnontobi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Really enjoyed this one, except for the occasional lag spike or two. ;)

cxsquared says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:07pm

It crashes on launch for me. I'm on osx. I get a here's a link to the error http://pastebin.com/m5EFRfc7

grid96 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Great job. Looks awesome and makes fun playing it.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Simple but catchy. I got to 25 carrots.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Not a bad effort, I feel like you could've given a bit more feedback on hitting things, if only a bit slower speed or something. It was pretty hard, and not really obvious how you get the scarfs (i guess they were rare drops?)
Graphics looked good, the game was a pretty fun arcade entry.
You could've done a bit more with the theme, but other than that, good effort!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Nice animation in falling carrots :) Controls feel nice. Good job.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:31pm

NICE GAME..

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Doesn't run on OS X

Lasty says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Very cool.. One of the more polished entries :D (Think my high score was 35 carrots before I got swarmed and cornered)

I like the ingenious way of introducing the controls via the help screens at the start (blocking until you press W and up)

Would have been nice to see all scarved snowmen drop scarves. I either got really unlucky dice rolls or they have a bit too low droprate.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Couldn't get it to work in OS/X 10.9.5 :( Just a black screen that disappears.

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:39pm

If everyone running on OS/X could start it using this command:
java -jar carrot_chaos.jar
From the command prompt, you should get an error message. It would help me a lot if you could post that here :)

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:40pm

The above only applies to those who crashes on OS/X, of course.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:52am

Ok, we had very similar ideas here. check out our game also:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=47053
btw i got 23 carrots in the first attempt :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:35pm

I can't run the entry... it crashes at start :/
(i'm using w7)

redoxkun says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Got 15 carrots after a couple of tries. Nice and funny game :)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Interesting concept! Well done! I like the graphics and the gameplay!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]