Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Floor is Lava

by Slashee the Cow - Compo Entry

The Floor is Lava: An endless tower climbing game where sizzling death is most likely the end result.

Just jump on the magically raising dirt blocks to keep your buns from getting too warm and pick up anything shiny.

Controls:
WASD or Up/Down/Left/Right: Move
Space: Jump
Escape: Pause

Tips:
Avoid lava. That would be my first tip.
Other than that, just to try to stay out of corners, you don't want to get trapped far from any other platforms around.
The bonus items are good, but if they're a bit far away, they're probably not worth the risk, since you lose all the ones you've saved up if you hit the lava.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#148Fun3.61
#314Overall3.44
#361Audio3.03
#364Mood3.15
#436Theme3.69
#451Humor2.63
#460Innovation3.25
#629Graphics2.97

Comments

FerraWare says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:35am

One of the best I've seen so far. Congrats!

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45am

Fun little game.

volkoivan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:46am

Reached 9m.
Like the concept, also fun to play and challenging!
But the height of the blocks is not so understandable, would be cool if it had nore sharp edges
But 5/5, thanks for fun :)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49am

That was pretty fun! Cute idea. It would be nice to be able to see how tall the platforms are at a glance.

erik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49am

Solid entry with some nice polish. The Perspective makes it hard to read the height of the platforms. An animated character would be nice, though that's hard to pull off in 3d.

stjahns says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:52am

I find it really tricky to gauge exactly where I'm going to land, or how high I am, with the perspective, but I'm also really tired. Maybe if you exaggerated the shadows or centred the view a little more? Otherwise, really good!

xerohuang says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57am

good gameplay :) I reached 29m :P

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:10am

Love the take on the theme. Great camera angle!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:10am

Cool concept! Nice work!

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11am

Nice

jepster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11am

I really like how polished the game feels! It was fun, challenging and nice to look at.
Like the others, I found it a bit difficult to figure out the height of the other platforms.

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11am

Good game, Solid game play.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:12am

Great Entry, Had lots of fun. Can get hectic. Good work

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:34am

Really cool!

The problem as said above is understanding the height of the blocks :P Maybe some guides on the wall and or the blocks could help, some visual feedback to fill the lack of stereo, but otherwise great!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Thanks for the kind words everyone!

I didn't realise the lack of height information was a problem - I must have just gotten used to it testing it every few minutes for two days.

I've thought of some things that could help but unfortunately I don't think it's the kind of thing I'm allowed to fix after the 48 hours are up.

yongcamu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Simple and fun, mate. And thank you for the kind boost after getting into lava. :P Way way better than torturing us with ticking damage. Really like that bit. I can imagine it being fun in a grid too! Ie: tap left x2 to move left 2 blocks, then you can ramp up the speed and difficulty. OH BOY!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:42am

I like the concept. Gameplay is reasonably fun also, though the controls feel a bit floaty, and the camera angle makes it very hard to tell which blocks are higher.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:53am

Hi there. Found the instant death a bit frustrating... Was very bad at it ;) Liked the music. Got a spring!

nesis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:33am

Nice game! I loved the music, and the idea was very unique, and played well with the theme, not needing to make it too abstract to create a fun game.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:54am

The perspective was a bit unforgiving, but I really liked the idea of this game. Decent controls as well. Good job!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:30am

Love the concept and gameplay! Title got me right in the childhood feels!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]