Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Panorama

by Lyje - Compo Entry

PANORAMA is a minimal, omnivisual Proteus-em-up.

The entire island is always in view of your 360 degree vision. Calming, contemplative, mind-bending.

TIP: For extra trippyness, walk backwards :)

Known issues:
Poor optimisation.
360 camera only works properly on 16:9 and 16:10 aspect ratios.
Pressing escape the first time may hang for a few seconds - if in doubt, quit using ALT-F4, CMD-Q or similar.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Graphics4.31
#112Mood3.56
#116Audio3.50
#123Theme4.06
#142Innovation3.81
#182Overall3.63
#2356Coolness0%

Comments

aureliusnoble says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:31am

This is a really awesome concept and really well executed, not sure if I'd cool it a game, but your art work is amazing.

aureliusnoble says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:32am

*call - I've been up way too long :p

ljdp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

:)

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Aw man this is lovely, found myself wandering wandering around forever

Lyje says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Thanks all :)

mahalis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:29am

Nifty. Took me a while to get the hang of the 360-degree view, but I did at least restore my faith in democracy.

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:17am

I'm always a fan of low poly work, looks awesome.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:27am

Nice! Love the interpretation of the theme. Would love to see it used alongside some gameplay.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:56am

I really liked the graphics and the sound! Gameplay is missing a bit though

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:56am

Hi there. Yes very trippy.. nice. Go Democracy! Good job on the world creation. Like the music.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Camera was cool. Like the low-poly graphics, weather particle effect were pleasant. Liked the horizon

Dokthar says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:49am

I enjoyed your game it's really remind my playing experiences with proteus. Im happy to downloaded your game I'll probably play it again. The 360 view is a really nice concept and impressive. Excellent low-poly graphics, except the flowers and the snowman .. in my opinion theres are too different from the environment. Good job

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:12pm

cool visuals, not so much gameplay, a great experience though, trippy

anokta says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:59pm

absolutely lovely, and fairly trippy indeed! :) secretly wished there were more interactions though. great job overall!

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:42am

It feels very dizzy because of the 360 degree camera. Maybe it will be like the way we perceive the world if we have eyes on our back...?
Nevertheless, it is an awesome concept!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:10am

That panorama rendering could use a few more slices, but I guess it fits quite nicely with the low-poly art this way.
Reminds me a bit of a more complicated concept I have, which would actually bend the geometry before rendering... Nice to see something similar working quite well!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]