Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Red & Iron

by Zambini - Compo Entry

Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Ludum Dare 31 Entry

Ryan Andonian - http://randonia.com - @zambini845

Links

Android APK: http://randonia.com/ld31/redniron.apk
Web Player: http://randonia.com/ld31/web_release.html
GitHub Source https://github.com/randonia/ld31
How to Play

Android:

Movement: Joystick controls. Single finger
Desktop:

Movement: WASD
Sprint: Shift
Objective

You are a medic trapped behind enemy lines on an unsuccessful mission. Travel from level to level
reviving your fallen soldiers. Approach a fallen soldier and you will start healing them. It takes about a
second to fully heal someone, so don't get spotted! Enemies will shoot you on sight.
Once you've secured all your comrades on the level, head to the lit up door to progress.

Tools

Unity 4.6.0f3
NGUI 3.7.7 (Not included in repository for legal reasons)
Pickle Editor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#553Innovation3.13
#607Graphics3.00
#636Fun3.00
#696Overall3.07
#1151Theme2.60
#2217Coolness17%

Comments

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45am

Overall I found it enjoyable. If there's one thing I could complain about its that I think the difficulty ramps up too quickly. Good work though!

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17am

Nice little game! I would add some speed though, as it feels quite frustrating walking so slowly :P Some walking animations would be nice

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Nice game! A game where you need to think! It's hard thought. Nice work.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:44am

Hi there. Bit too sudden death, but like the healer as player - generally heal on MMOs so it's nice to see this... Nice atmosphere. Good job!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Nice idea! I liked being doctor and to rescue a soldiers lives.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Challenging since you die so easily, but fun.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:08am

Nice twist on the common shooter. I couldn't get past the third screen. The guard really does shoot on sight.

Sharky says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:00am

Nice game, it'd be nice if you could see the enemies range as they move, and if you had either more HP or you could restart on the last lv you made it to

daviosmash says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Very difficult! A little too much so, but the various options while playing was fun, nice job.

rmc says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Nice thinking! Healing was a nice Idea to make a nice game and add a stealth effect! Pretty nice!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Overall, I liked it. Some small polish suggestions: allow me to press spacebar to restart just so I can keep my fingers on the keys. I would've played farther into it if I restarted that level instead of all the way back to the beginning (died on L3 3 times). Changing "rooms" slightly breaks the theme for me, but in general it's really good for a couple of days!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]