Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Collect the Crystals

by Wiering - Jam Entry

This is a simple platformer game, collect all the crystals.

I didn't have enough time to implement the ladders and the health system, so I added infinite jumping, so you can get to all the crystals and complete the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#49Theme(Jam)4.22
#191Graphics(Jam)3.90
#197Innovation(Jam)3.59
#414Overall(Jam)3.31
#674Mood(Jam)2.81
#814Fun(Jam)2.63

Comments

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:19am

Pretty little game and good use of theme, but I found it a bit too restrictive as the only thing that I would lend my attention to was the zoomed part of the screen. Found it difficult to use the zoomed out part for obstacle avoidance, but it excels when trying to locate gems. Interesting design.

Shigor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20am

Nice idea with zooming :)

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:21am

innovative and interesting, well done!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:21am

Clever use of the theme! I like the magnification effect, though it ends up getting in your way and making it so you can't see where you're going. Maybe that's by design, but I felt very claustrophobic only being able to see a handful of pixels in front of me. =)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:50am

Nice touch with the zooming. Makes it interesting.
-Steffen

friken says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:41pm

zooming does make it interesting, but is always over the part of the minimap you need to see

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Very interesting concept, I really enjoyed walking around collecting the gems and discovering the landscape. Nicely done !

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Well, that's interresting. Cool idea!

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:30am

I love how well you adjusted to the theme using a smart mechanic, this is fantastic! Well done!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:31am

I really like the zoom feature and the gameplay surrounding it, but infinite jumps really invalidated a lot of the challenge and I didn't have an interest in collecting more than a quarter of the gems. Fantastic visuals.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:32am

Innovation 5/5: The game's really innovative, congratulations!!!

Fun 3/5: It starts being boring after playing a while.

Theme 5/5: Great use of the theme!!

Graphics 5/5: They remember me to the classic Sonic graphics, and the light effect is amazing!!!

Mood 3/5: I don't really know what ctegory means... Can someone explain it to me? :P

Overall 4/5: Pretty innovative, but so difficult.

TheExGenesis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Hey man, the game was really pretty aesthetically, but I hope you don't mind I mention some things that could make it a lot better. You probably know this and ran out of time but: you can jump inifinitely, the game would benefit from a health/lives system, to penalize falling on spikes. Also, the ball in the center is in my opinion too small to make experiencing your lovely scenario as great as it should be!

Night says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Very beautiful graphics, and very interesting interpretation of the ludum's theme) The only thing i dislike, that control is rather 'inert' and it's hard to get into desired place sometimes.

Detocroix says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Really cool! Is there a reason why you can infinitely jump though? It feels like a bug

ilokimo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Good use of the theme, I also love the tileset. A little tedious and didn't have the patience to go around for very long. Hope I didn't miss anything special.

Kimau says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Really love the zooming idea. Some distortion might have been nice the difference between close and far zoom was so big that without a partial zoom between it felt very disconnected.

Great use of theme.

lase says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:41am

This is a great entry, but it feels lacking. The zoom is so tight that you can't even see the platforms next to you. It would be cool if you could toggle the zoom on or off. Also, you the spikes don't seem to penalize you, and you can jump infintely. Still, I think this entry shows a lot of promise.

tomhunt says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:06am

i like the concept of using the minimap as a background and shrinking the view to a portion of the screen. this did make it hard to see the areas immediately adjacent to where i was, which was a little frustrating. a lens-type graphic effect might fix this, but i can imagine that taking a little more time than one has during ludum dare :)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:11am

i really like how you adapted to the theme, i found it difficult to navigate around and know exactly where i was, since the zoomed in portion of the screen blocked where i actually was.

The jump mechanic being open and free made the game a little less enjoyable to me since i could just abuse it to get round the screen.

Namide says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:07am

Interesting idea and beautiful background!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:47pm

nice looking game, but zoom is a little too zoomed. hopefully you'll keep working on this and add the things you originally wanted to add!

scias says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Interesting zoom mechanic but I'm not sure it works, I feel very restricted when playing. If you were to continue working on the game I'd recommend looking over that aspect. And also take a look at what motivates to player to play the game. I love the graphics though, feels very sonic-esque.All in all I'd say that this game is in the top 1/3 of all entries, good job!

Kimau says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Worth checking out a similar idea but done with a distortion shader. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=3479

Dunric says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:11pm

The concept is very brilliant, and the graphics are really nice! Nice touch adding the snowman. The only think I can think of to make it better would be to add a shadow around the unexplored parts, so there would be a sense of adventuring when you explore the world! Very good.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:45am

Really freaking awesome way to fit the theme. I really liked it. Good work.

DiggityDare says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:08am

I don't understand what people seem to think is so innovative. The only thing that separates this from a ghostless pacman clone is the fact that you can't see where you're going.

You can't exactly call it a game yet. I don't mean to sound too harsh, understanding the time constraints. And it's hardly in any state to criticize. But it certainly isn't innovative. Let's give credit where credit is due and not just have a big circle jerk, aye?

Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:50pm

That's a very interesting and awesome use of the theme. The game itself is solid and probably the most lacking element is audio feedback, so if you make a post-compo version, you should add these. :)

Knighty says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:04am

It looks like you spent too much time on the graphics and not enough on the rest of the game. :p
The zoomed-in circle around the player actually makes it more difficult to see what's around you, I feel like it would be better without it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]