Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BushCraft

by lintfordpickle - Compo Entry

A game made using Java and AWT. Images were done in Paint.NET and audio using Bfxr.net.

The goal is try survival against the elements as long as possible. Kill animals for food, chop wood and stone to create tools.

Click the '?' for help.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#386Graphics3.36
#685Mood2.80
#743Fun2.89
#769Theme3.44
#799Overall2.96
#847Innovation2.70
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

rsergiu2003 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:53am

mac please ?

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:03am

nice game!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:06am

Remind me of "Don't Starve" :)
Nice shot, even if it was a bit difficult (food & water decrease quickly !).

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:55am

I will upload a mac version tonight after work (assuming just the jar file will do) ...

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Nice graphics! Good game.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Graphics are great!

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:13pm

I found stamina to be VERY frustrating. I have no patience to wait this long for it to recover. At first I thought I had some environment collision problems for moving this slow. Also I accidentally chop the wood with my fist, but coul not chop it with an axe, no matter how hard I tried.

Threef says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:14pm

It feels nice, but I couldn't craft any item. I fell lost.

Smiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Nice graphics! but the UI was a bit difficult to work with.

myachin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:02am

game crashes at start on my win7:(

lekochen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Nice game, but stamina runs out too fast.

cardanai says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Stamina is a problem, as is the movement speed of animals and the aim of the attacks. looked pretty cool though.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Stamina drains a bit too quick for my liking but other than that good job.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:07pm

This is certainly an idea you could work from, and there is quite a lot of content for the time. I think the game could of benefitted from more audio and some music, and I think game play would be less tedious if the player moved faster.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:08am

Nice work for 24 hours! This type of game isn't really my thing, but it's cool seeing how much you added in the time you had. I have to add my voice to the people saying that stamina ran out too quickly though, there didn't seem to be anything I could do to make it last longer.

billrizer says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Cute GFX - took a while to get in to though.

Would have loved to see an upfront tutorial

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]