Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ludum Traders

by ZXeno - Jam Entry

Minimum resolution: 1216x960
Windows w/ .Net 4 framework
(Linux builds coming when I figure out how to buid it, but you may be able to run through Wine w/ DX libs, if you have how-tos on building for other platforms, please send to me!)
Mouse(or touchpad)/Keyboard
Speakers/Headphones/etc for Artuir's awesome music!

You have just set out running your own star trading company in a small, unimportant part of the galaxy. Run your company successfully, and you will never fail! But run out of money, and you're done.

Ludum Traders is a simple trade game built on a 60x60 tile map.
Stars are labled which are buying (B) and which are selling (S) goods.
New ships can be purchased for $5000.
Ships use 1 fuel for every tile the traverse. Each ship has 100 fuel.
Ships carry a maximum of 4 cargo.
Each star has its own price for cargo, be sure to look! Cargo prices change based on availability.

Your money is shown in the top-right hand corner of the screen.
You can buy ships by clicking on the icon in the lower right.

Left-click to select a ship. Right-click to give it a move command.
Shift-Right click to queue a destination. You can queue as many as you like.

Additional controls:

Up arrow key adjusts volume UP.
Down arrow key adjusts volume DOWN.
Right arrow key plays next song.
Numpad 0 toggles volume to either max or off.

Tools used:
Paint.NET for art/UI.
Visual Studio 2013 Community for IDE.
Monogame 3.2 Framework.
A PriorityQueue class from Gustavo Franco, location unknown (will post later)

Team: Jonathan "ZXeno" Cain & Aaron "Artuir" Leibrick
(ZXeno) http://www.signalreceived.com
(Artuir) https://soundcloud.com/artuir/

Art: Jonathan "ZXeno" Cain
Code: Jonathan "ZXeno" Cain
Design: Aaron "Artuir" Leibrick, Jonathan "ZXeno" Cain
Music: Aaron"Artuir" Leibrick
Sound FX: AS3SFXR (http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/)

I also did the vast majority of coding while sick, and it is quite the mess.

Source included in download (without project files).
(More info on this entry if you're interested: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/09/ludum-traders/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#453Theme(Jam)3.60
#611Innovation(Jam)2.87
#644Fun(Jam)2.87
#771Overall(Jam)2.88
#850Graphics(Jam)2.47
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:24am

Hey, I think both of your links are to the source code

ZXeno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:46am

Source is included in the release. I'll make a separate download for it though. :)

ZXeno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50am

Done.

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51am

There is the skeleton of a decent trading game there, but that is the problem. This game is bare bones. I didn't see any random events or even much in the way of changing prices. There was no reason not to just find the closest buy/sell planets and pinball between them. Owning a fleet of trade ships is a nice start, but there is no incentive to do so. Also, queuing destinations doesn't seem to be working as intended. (queuing multiple planets only leads you to visiting the last selected planet after the ship stops moving.)

srakowski says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:50am

I can't seem to get to this one... get 500 error when trying to download from dropbox.

Divitos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:56am

There needs to be some more random aspects to it.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:21am

I added an alternate download source for the game. Feel free to use it if Dropbox is giving you problems.

Wampus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:37am

Couldn't play. Kept crashing when I open LD31. I have Win7 64 bit. Compatibility modes didn't seem to help. Won't score it but I really like the look of this! Trading games are awesome. Seems like this might be a bit like Space Trader (ancient game). Here is error report

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: ld31.exe
Problem Signature 02: 1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 03: 54864183
Problem Signature 04: SharpDX
Problem Signature 05: 2.5.1.0
Problem Signature 06: 5353c4a6
Problem Signature 07: a49
Problem Signature 08: 14
Problem Signature 09: SharpDX.SharpDXException
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 4105
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48am

It's a bit simple and easy to just move between a selling and buying planet that are close together. Ultimately not enough of a mechanic to be fun

ZXeno says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:33am

@Wampus try reinstalling .Net4 / 4.5. That seems to be the most common source of SharpDX exceptions, and I can't duplicate it on any of my machines here.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:34am

I really wanted more to go into it, but ran out of time. Lots of lessons learned, though. Thank you everyone for your honest input. I'm already putting more work into it for a future re-release!

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:42pm

I can't play the game because of screen size. All of the buttons do not appear so I cannot play the game.

danielilett says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:31pm

I feel like a lot more could have been done, but there's definitely the beginnings of a trading game here. If you ever want to release another version of this in the future, then definitely have some random events here, and make it a little harder, because it seemed very easy to generate free money and never lose any. I'd also recommend having more than one screen resolution, and perhaps a full-screen mode, because part of the bottom was cut off on my screen. Good job with what's here so far, it just needs a little more work and it could grow into something pretty cool.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]