Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

There is just nothing on

by taaboo - Compo Entry

Well Well.

THis is my lovely dovely game. Its a game about you zapping on your one telly and finding absolutely no good shows to watch. You have to switch between the channels to move forward. Try to get to the highest channel you can get to. (there is a funny suprise in the end).

Download the .zip file and unzip to wherever you want and just run the .exe file. The screen rez is fixed to 16:10 aspect ratio so pick the biggest one for those glorious pixels to come alive.

---- the low quality settings realy break the game. So set it to good or higher! ----


Tools used to create the game:

Art: Photoshop, SPArtAN,
code: Unity c#,
Music: by Robert del Naja - G.
Sound ffx: bfxr.com

I am realy pleased with the feel of the whole game as I tried to go for that old school rounded telly look.

If you have feedback please share it as I would like to improve upon alot of things.

I know that the game might show a few bugs aswel wich I might remove in a future examination.

EDIT:

After some sleep and checking the page I found out that the game was built rather poorly. Im going to upload new builds to my webpage to give it full glory.

Hold your horses!

EDIT 2:

Web build is still shabby (Doesnt render the UI overlay)

But the new windows build is stable and fancy. Also upped a OS/X build (just so my brother can play it on his macbookeruproh!)

Enjoy!

EDIT 3:

- Removed the web player (it just looked to shitty. Didn't do the game justice).
- Upped the Gamma so that you can actualy see the screen.
- Increased death time. You are now dead in place for 1 second instead of .1second.
- fixed the Channel not resetting bug. (switched 2 lines of code around :P)
- typo: Added the anny button to my keyboard so I can finaly play the game.
- turned the .RAR into .ZIP online so mac users can play it to. And everyone here hates rars I supose :P

Hope these fixes above don't interfere with my rating as a COMPO contestant. it took me 10 mins tops to change a few vars during my bustrip home(now that I can finaly look at things with a clear mind).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#133Innovation3.85
#136Theme4.04
#205Graphics3.70
#220Mood3.33
#350Overall3.41
#389Humor2.74
#610Fun3.04
#1659Coolness41%

Comments

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:11am

I like the tv idea and the change of the channels, Good Work

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:18pm

This is a really excellent concept. The only problem i had - everything is too dark, i cant even see the gaps, or any other reason im dying.

bigbazwa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Cool idea. I got to channel 7, but I kept dying, and didn't know why.

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Nice concept with the theme. Controlled pretty well. I might second the "dark" comment by CustomPhase.

Small (but ultimately unimportant) bug: Seemed like the channel didn't reset to 00 after death.

acerunox says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Nice game! The change of channels is really fun! Also the art is cool. :)

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:35pm

I really really like the channel mechanic. It's really cool and a lot could be done with this idea! My only issue was that the spikes don't stand out so I kept hitting them even though I knew spikes killed me. Also, I think restarting from the last channel might make it a little more enjoyable than just restarting the whole game. Overall, I really enjoyed this and I think it's a really well done interpretation of the theme.

taaboo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Yeah there are 3 known issues. THe gamma on my machine is way up in the sky wich makes it to dark for other PCS(got this from friend feedback), The spikes were lightning before but I flipped something around so they arnt visible. So those are 2 things I cant fix quite fast. The channel not resetting is a bug that I will fix once I get home again. and some typos. Anny feedback is welcome though. It makes this game better at what it is ;).

taaboo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:48pm

THinking of adding a small light on the player itself so that you have a feint glow around you so you can see the world. this takes 2 seconds of work and might improve it alitle bit.

yodamaster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Good idea, nice music. Too dark. I don't like dying and not knowing why.

Jadernak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:58pm

With a few tweaks this would amazing game. First, as was mentioned, it's too dark. Second it would really help if you could see longer the level you died. Right the interval is so short that instead of relying on puzzle solving it feels more like trial and error. Apart from these, good job.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Very interesting concept. I like the whole channel changing mechanic for getting to different unaccessable areas. Great work!

mortus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Quite fun and very challenging! I'll try to get to the last channel later, no luck so far. Physics are a bit glitchy, you stuck in walls and such stuff, but it's not gamebreaking.

The only thing I didn't understand is if the fact that you don't die sometimes when you switch inside the wall is a bug or a feature.

taaboo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:44pm

You arn't suposed to switch into a wall. Wich means that you will die (Had no solution for the problem being as dead tired as I was. And the hitbox of your character sometimes floats in limbo as it gets stuck on the top side of the tilemap. It should loop you back down (like the left and right looping does) but the colider gets stuck between the top and bottom most solid patch. This requires some extra work but I cant do that for this compo no more. I had quite some feedback so Im going to develop this game abit more to see what I can make of it.

davesoft says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Great concept, well executed :D
I need a brighter monitor!

kalugny says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Very good!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:29pm

I couldn't unzip the .rar file. 7zip tells me it isn't a valid archive. :(

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Dammit, I meant the .zip file of course.
(Sry for double post, but LD website won't let me edit my posts, which is really sad. Hope PoV is fixing that soon.)

taaboo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:46pm

I can unzip it fine. Must be something with your machine :< Try winrar (works for me)

davient says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:22am

Really enjoyed the concept. Gets very frustrating having to repeat the last 8 or 9 Channels when you are trying to get to the end. BUT I made it - thanks in part to finding some safe regions that shouldn't have been safe... The collision detection needs to be a little more forgiving, maybe just reduce the hit box sizes a little, especially on the barbed wire. Great game!

taaboo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:48am

Yeah you are right davient. The coliders of the barbs are 32x32 px width aswel. I bet I could half that and it would function alot better. sometimes you try to edge towards it and still it it whilst there is stil a gap in between. Something I'm going to adjust for sure. Thanks for the feedback everyone. I've been adjusting the game acording to alot of feedback given to see if I can make it better. I also need to work on the physics alot more to make it super responsive. right now I hackjobbed alot of it to make it "resonably playable" for the compo ;).

harley77 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:22am

Great game all around. Love the channel switching mechanic... and holy crap the artwork is good.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Nice concept, well done!

taaboo says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Thanks guys. I'm taking my time now to spark this into a good game. And thanks for calling the artwork good. Because in no way am I an artist :p so thats apreciated.

rjhunter says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:27pm

I look forward to playing this game... but the Mac zip is busted :-(

I can't unzip it with any of the tools I have to hand. Seems like it's been cut off at the end. It's 11,199,324 bytes, is that what you uploaded?

taaboo says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Phoo Have to check. I don't think there was anything wrong with the proces. Don't have a mac myself so I ask my bro to check it for me and he hasn't had the time thus far. I'm checking it tonight for you.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:37am

Great concept, and good art/mood. I couldn't beat it, but oh well.

StackAttack says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Cool idea. The graphics were a bit too dark which made it very hard to see where to move

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]