Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

PhoneSnowman

by Nnnnneeeedddd - Compo Entry

Game:
You move the mouse UP AND DOWN to tilt the iphone to move a snowman on the screen, the snowman can fire snowballs. When he fires snowballs he get's smaller... Read instructions for more info.

Blue blocks of transparent blue coming from the bottom of the screen is water and it will kill you. You press 'F' to fire snowballs. If you keep firing snowballs you will die.

About:
This game was great to make, hope you guys enjoy it. It was made as an entry for the compo.

Please comment truthfully as it helps me build better games in the future.

PS. I forgot to change the game name. But just imagine it is called "Phone Snowman" or something....

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#396Theme3.72
#508Humor2.55
#553Innovation3.13
#826Audio2.15
#894Mood2.53
#943Overall2.81
#954Graphics2.47
#994Fun2.52

Comments

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Couldn't get out of the first area. Is the link to an old build? Not really a game in this state. It's a phone simulator.

perfectclivee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Good fun. Not easy but fun.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11pm

@Absor I don't think you read the instructions. Please get back to me as to why you couldn't complete the first area!! I have checked the uploaded .jar and it seems fine to me?

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Damn that is hard! But it fits the theme well! :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Interesting idea, and good use of the theme! Great work!

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Pretty humorous. Nice game. I liked it haha and 5 stars for theme! Snowmen!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Pretty funny concept. Nice job.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Would be better if the movement was variable based rather than static. By this I mean if you tilt the phone more, the snowman will move faster.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:57pm

"Yo dawgs, I heard you like games, so i put a screen in your screen so you can play will you play". Thanks for this game. ^^

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Nice art. Good job.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:27pm

BtheDestroyer Yea! That was the original idea but i didn't have time :(

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Mouse to move the phone forward and back is clunky because its unintuitive. The phone tilting itself isn't a bad idea, its just not "easy" to do with the mouse, so it makes it less fun. You're using f and spacebar for other controls - just swap that forward and back horizontal on the mouse with two other keys (w+s for instance) and it'd be fine.

Gameplay mechanics, clever - using your own "health" as the ammunition for attack, but also as a necessary method to traverse the map.

Level design, good puzzles, but as you can see, most people have trouble clearing the first area because the idea of "I need to shrink to find down this hole" is still a foreign idea to introduce so suddenly. And as with most platformers, usually the first hole in the ground a "Can you do a simple jump over this gap" test. So everyone thinks they're supposed to clear it because there is no instruction. Then they hit the wall further over and think the game is bugged.

Put the wall closer to the gap and have players start there, so players know there's no where else to go right off the bat, and then start to experiment. Or - if not that, put some kind of hint that going down that hole isn't insta-death, as we've been trained by other games to think that it is.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:53pm

@monkeedude1212 The mouse thing was kindof the idea of the game i was trying to be indie :/... Everything else you said was true and thankyou for your feedback :D:D

harley77 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:27am

Interesting idea, couldn't get out of the first area though..

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:50pm

@harley77 A few people have said that... If you could tell me why you couldn't get out of the first area that would be great!!

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:32pm

So awesome use of theme!

billrizer says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 8:05pm

innovative gameplay - would have loved to see keyboard tilt controls

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]