Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Gratification Crisis

by zorfmorf - Compo Entry

Gratification crisis means that you are not able to balance work and personal time ... at least that's what they tell me.

DISCLAIMER: Needs a 1024x800 resolution to work properly. Sorry about that...

LINUX USERS need love v9.1 installed (it's probably included in your distro's repositories, otherwise check love2d.org), then run "love gratification_crisis.love"

Q: How to keep the boss happy?
A: Switch to the editor application (brown one) and type something on your keyboard (your actual keyboard)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#15Theme4.50
#64Overall3.84
#70Humor3.63
#86Mood3.65
#111Graphics3.94
#142Innovation3.81
#166Audio3.41
#223Fun3.48

Comments

Gwilym says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:56am

Great use of the theme :P

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Very enjoyable; curiosity kept me going till the end.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Wow, really nicely done! It took the first play through to realize how to keep the boss happy but I thought this was unique and pretty fun game

Dohxis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Nice done!

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:20pm

I couldn't figure out how to keep him happy. I tried clicking on all the monitors but I couldn't get any form of indication that I could write.

lekochen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:30pm

LOL well done.

edve98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Very nice game, this one is one of my favorites :)

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:38pm

@Tinimations: Damn I feared that it would not be obvious enough. You need to click on the brown application (supposed to be a text editor) and type something on your keyboard (your actual one, not the ingame one)

JNyknn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:36pm

I first thought this game is just another boring point-'n'-click game, but it turned out the game is much more! I love the way you used the theme! Great job!

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Really fun and great art :) Five stars!

Havi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Very unique and cool game! Great use of the theme. I liked the ending music :)

pjchardt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:00am

Great idea. use of theme and mood! I must say I just typed a string of insults at my boss :) Very cool, definitely enjoyed this game.

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:00am

Indeed, nice use of the theme. Well done all around. No clue what the widgety things you build actually do but it was fun building them while randomly hitting keys in the manager console. Building an antenna then suddenly ended the game :)

lapskaus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:22am

Kinda hard to know what you're supposed to do, but fun to explore for five minutes. I love that you have to do something completely pointless to keep your boss happy. Just like real life :P

headchant says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:00am

Love the concept! Had to die once until I found the editor, but that's not a problem :) Great idea

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Well done! My kids laughed about my typing. :-)
Graphics style is also cool.

vrld says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Work is good for me!

Audio is good, graphics are beautiful and surprisingly detailed and the use of the theme is pretty clever. However, a short tutorial would have been helpful.

yosh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:16am

Breaking the 4th wall! Loved it :)

nuno says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:40pm

ahah loved the LD website ;) greetings from another Löver ;)

hexagore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:47am

I wouldn't let your boss see this game :P Lovely idea though, great twist on the theme.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:53am

I won! Built a space colony *and* was complemented by my boss for writing a page full of profanities.

Liked:
- Interpretation of theme
- Unique idea
- Nice art, lots of little touches (the sun, the mouse moving, the LD webpage...)

Disliked:
- Length of gameplay. Even though it was short, it felt long because it was very easy to "win" once you knew what to do

Overall, I like the creativity of this entry, though the gameplay felt lacking.

Jed T. says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:29am

Work is good for you 10/10

Acuity says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:41am

Interesting, but a little repetitive.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:42am

Yessss, the moment where you zoomed out to the monitor and saw the mouse moving, that was brilliant. That made the game, seriously. Nice touches on the graphics details, yes, the LD website...yes.

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:59am

@BoxedMeatRevolution Thank you for the detailed feedback! I totally agree with the repetitiveness, got really annoying on Sunday night when I playtested it for an hour :D

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:03pm

This was lovely, nice job.

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Well done! I'll just agree with everyone and say that your use of theme was great. On top of that though, the visual were very pleasant and the audio was nice, especially that ending music. All in all: Good job!

mechabit says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:03pm

hah, brilliant

rjhunter says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:07am

Superb interpretation of the "one screen" theme.

The game itself wasn't *super* fun but the idea and the graphics were great. I would have liked a *little* bit more differentiation in audio between the two screens.

I spent some time trying to figure out how to reply to the boss, and thinking the command prompt window was just a nice piece of interaction detail.

Wonderful work.

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Great use of theme!
I'm not really much dig in gamplay. :(

StackAttack says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Nice use of the theme. I kept the boss happy but was in a bad mood

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]